We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shut up Whingers”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Shut up Whingers”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We booked this hotel around 12 months ago on the strength of some great reviews, I rechecked the reviews just before we left and I was quite alarmed due to some of the recent reviews. However upon arrival we quickly realised the bad reviews had come from whingers who want 5 star service for a 3 star price. We went 2 wks B&B only which cost us around £1000 flying Thompsons out of Doncaster. The Hotel was Excellently situated right on the bay front with it's own small shingle beach which we spent a lot of time on, the sea is clean and excellent for chilling and cooling off, you can get drinks, ice cream and snacks from the hotel restaurant The Blue Sea which has fantastic food and service, There is also The Melissos Restaurant next door which to our shame we fell in love with the staff and the food they also had a small beach and with the same facilities but nicer smiles and service. Our room was great newly refurbished bright and clean with a massive balcony, the towels were changed and the room made up every day. Aircon is a must in the hot season and is €6 a day but well worth it. The Roof Pool was excellent with great views and a drinks and snack service. Breakfast included bacon, scrambled, fried or boiled eggs, french toast, beans plus a variety of continental options as well as tea and coffee. My only minor complaint is it could be a tad cold at times including my water for my tea whinge over. I would go back any time as all in all it was an excellent location, hotel and service. Favourite Eating Places in order: Vritomartes(Harbour), Melissos, Blue Sea, Katafigio, Taverna Paradissio, Olounda, Taverna over the causeway bridge. Favourite Bars: Online Internet Cafe and Bar, Mediterranean Bar, Sky Bar(Hotel Roof)

Room Tip: The Best Rooms seemed to be in the Rear Block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GarryDSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    211
    64
    20
    14
See reviews for
71
382
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned from the Akti Olous hotel in Elounda. Initially we were very disappointed as we had a balcony overlooking a concrete wall. Next morning we asked to change rooms and were moved with no problems at all, to a room with a better view. We had a lovely 2 weeks at this hotel, the staff are lovely and really helpful and our room was kept impeccably clean. Yes, the shower curtain did not reach the floor but we just took a bit of care when we showered... the floor did get wet but we just put towels round the base of shower so floor didn't flood! The roof top pool is lovely as is the sky bar.our biggest grumble was the main evening meal, just 2 choices and it seemed everything was served with rice and chips! However, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, and really didnt want to come home.The weather was excellent every day and Elounda is lovely. There is a regular bus service in to the next resort of Agi Nicholaos which is stunning and worth a visit! Just remember to take enough suncream and toiletries with you as they are VERY expensive in Crete! We saw suncream at 15 euros a bottle!!! Yes we would definitely go to the Akti Olous again!!!

.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoolooKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a fabulous two weeks in the Akti Olous hotel in Elounda Crete.The staff were very helpful from day one and nothing was too much trouble.
The maid tidied our rooms every day and sheets and towels were changed every two days.
The room had a small balcony which overlooked the bay. The shower was compact but suited our needs.
If you are expecting a typical English breakfast you will be disappointed,but what they do provide is adequate.There is fresh fruit,cereal,and some hot food.
If you eat in the restaurant in the evening you will certainly not be disappointed with the meals.They were prepared and cooked to a very high standard and tasted delicious.
If you want a quiet holiday where you can unwind and soak up the Cretan hospitality then the Akti Olous in Crete will not let you down.
If you eat in the restaurant in the evening

Room Tip: For the best views try to get a room on the right side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smag53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Akti Olous was a great place to stay, the location was very good, the room was small but nice & kept very clean, we had a nice side sea view. We were on half board & the dinners were very good we didn`t stay in for breakfast as it was streaky bacon & hotdog sausage. We found a great place that did a proper English breaky called Ellis place oppasite the beach, after saying that it would not put us off going to the Akti Olous again it was good value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts, england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 10 nights in June, HB and feel we have an optimistic but realistic approach to holidays.
We knew that this wasn't going to be a luxury hotel and kept using the overused 'it's Greece so it will be basic' theory. The hotel is not awful and there are positives but for us they did not outweigh the negatives.
Positives:
Fantastic location 5 minutes walk to a wealth of restaurants and bars. We also enjoyed the short walk over to the lovely Kanali bar just over on the peninsula.
Nice to have free sunbeds, parasols and the pool on the roof is nice.
Fantastic bar two doors down towards the town with a really relaxed atmosphere and full of locals most nights

Negatives/ improvement areas:
The website states it has been re-decorated throughout which i struggle to believe. The bedrooms are fine in size but are definitely not new, the bathrooms are disappointing. The shower was unusable to rinse shampoo for the first 5 or 6 days and it took me twice as long to shower as at home. There was no water one night which eventually resulted in the pump being changed which improved the power a lot but it is still a basic bathroom with a shower tray which floods the floor every time.
The air conditioning is something we knew about before but still feel needs comment. 6 euros a day is a lot of money on top of your holiday and it took three trips to reception to get it working! Often you find there is a fan which can do the job when it is not quite high summer but there is nothing like that here.
We struggled with the staff and felt it was family run in the negative sense of 'this is what we do and this is how we do it' way. The Romanian couple in the restaurant worked very hard while the brothers and sister (assumed) sat smoking at the bar.
HB- just don't bother, it is certainly edible though the choice is limited to meat or fish and there was defiantly some recycling of leftovers.We agreed after the first night to alternate eating out in the town and found some great restaurants. We would have eaten out every night if we could have afforded to.
Elounda is lovely but not cheap, we averaged €40 a night for shared starter, mains, carafe of wine and coffee. It was great food, especially Mams at the top of the slope past the nightclub, but just make sure you budget for it!
We recommend a trip to Agios Nikalous and Plaka on the bus for a change of scenery and make sure you walk up to the old town one day and have a drink with Maria at her tiny bar.
We did have a nice holiday and would certainly recommend Elounda for a quality resort (see very few football shirts!) and may well go back but would pay a lot less and stay in one of the lovely looking apartments in the town and use the spare money to eat out every night

Room Tip: Do not take a room starting with a 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday to Elounda. This was our 3rd visit to the area, including our wedding in 2009. Between us and our wedding party we have previously stayed at the The Blue Palace, The Blue Bay and Tasmania apartments, a real mixture of star ratings. This year we decided we wanted to be a bit closer to town and in a hotel which wasn't located up a steep hill.

We chose the Aktis Olous off the back of some excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and the hotels' website itself (the creator of which deserves a gold medal). We booked our trip with Low Cost Holidays. We are very open minded people and believe in getting what you pay for. Therefore due to the low price of this holiday we weren't expecting a luxury resort, however we were very disappointed with our stay overall.

To begin with we were in room 111. The room itself was a decent enough size with a very small balcony with a view of the buildings next door, which wasn't too much of an issue as we appreciated we weren't paying for a sea view. The window in the bathroom didn't open, and if it had of done it was blocked in with concrete anyway. There was no extraction fan either, therefore the ventiliation in the room was pretty much non existent. This meant that if we used a towel and went out for the day, we'd come back to a very damp smelling room. Because of the ventilarion issue, the bed sheets, pillow cases etc were constantly clammy. Even with the air conditioning on, this made for extremely difficult nights sleep.

The pillows provided were like large lumps of blue tac in cases and on arrival we had 1 each. We had to ask about 3 times to get extra pillows and ended up getting them ourselves from the cleaner when we bumped into her.

The drainage was very poor. When we took a shower, which was built into the bath, the water didn't run away. Therefore we ended up showering in a bath full of dirty water. We did ask for this to be fixed, which it was that afternoon and again that night, at about 11.30pm, right outside our room, with a drill and hammer!

Also with regard to the bathroom, the cleaner didn't appear to do a thorough clean. Although the bin was emptied and it appeared we had fresh towels each day, the sink, toothbrush holder and glass shelf provided were not cleaned at all. We had to rinse the resedue from the toothbrush glass ourselves. The drinking glasses provided were never cleaned or changed. We both used our glasses for juice one day and found the left overs in the same glasses 2 days later.

After a few days in this room we asked if we could move. We explained the ventilation was the main reason and the man on reception simply asked us to leave our balcony door open. Although room 111 is on the 1st floor, it is actually right next to a public path. We explained the security risk in leaving the door open and also that we didn't want to let the mosquitos in. We were told that there are no security issues in Elounda and the hotel had cameras everywhere. We weren't happy with this, and explained as I am 5 months pregnant we obviously wouldn't feel safe leaving the balcony door open at any point.

Reluctantly we were moved to room 215. This room was slightly better but was right next to the lift and cleaning cupboard so we were constantly disturbed by banging doors etc. In this room we had a shower cubicle rather than a bath, but the curtain didn't go around the shower itself, it's runner was attached to a different wall. Therefore everything in the bathroom including all toilet rolls and the floor became absolutely saturated and we found ourselves mopping up the floor with towels ourselves.

The private beach is indeed private, but extremely small.

The outside dining area is across a small road, which really isn't an issue, but in the mornings while you're having breakfast the sewage trucks and bin men do the rounds (although the bins outside the main entrance didn't seem to be emptied at all and smelt).

The rooftop pool is a good place to relax with good views over Elounda. During our stay renovation works were taking place to the roof bar / restaurant which was closed for such refurbishments. Most days there was a drill going off and then spray paint fumes flooding the area.

Breakfast was extremely average. The milk for ceareal and tea was like gone off cream. We ended up buying our own and bringing it with us each morning. We managed to find at least one helpful member of staff who very kindly made us some toast each morning, at our request. Once when he wasn't there we asked another lady for some toast and she simply said 'No. You have bread there'. And that was it. The bread was hard, the croissants even harder. The juice was watered down with what tasted like bleach. There was nothing fresh about breakfast at all. Everything seemed to be processed, out of a tin or potentially left over from the day before.

We ended up checking out of the Aktis Olous early. The receptionist acknowledged the fact we were paid up for another week but to begin with didn't ask us why we were leaving and then tried to charge us 2 weeks worth of air conditioning for 2 rooms! When we finally got the opportunity to explain why we were leaving she just shrugged. There was no apology, no concern, nothing.

We found the majority of the staff in this hotel to be very miserable, extremely unhelpful and generally quite rude.

We would definitely not stay at this hotel again and wouldn't recommend it at all, especially to younger couples.

Having got all that off my chest, Elounda is such a lovely place to stay. I would go back there again and again. The views are amazing, the people are so friendly, the weather is stunning and it's generally a fabulous place to relax with some really excellent day trips to be had.

We will be back, just not ever to the Akti Olous!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2011

hotel basic not a 3 star,people constantly changing rooms. dont go half board, out of the 70 rooms there are 20 good ones.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadows15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
178 reviews
59.6 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
114 reviews
5.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Property: Akti Olous Hotel
Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#15 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing