We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Akti Olous Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Olous Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in Akti Olous for a week in May. We stayed for 3 days last year and enjoyed it just as much this time. Great value 3 star hotel in Elounda with fantastic location 5 mins walk from main square. Small private beach with sun-loungers(free of charge) as well as roof-top pool. Lovely seaview from small balcony. Room cleaned well daily. All staff were friendly, incredibly helpful and went out of their way to assist us. Hope to have the opportunity to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romavisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 686 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was our 2nd visit and we weren't disappointed. We decided to go for a larger suite room which was great and had fantastic views of Elounda Bay! The staff, service and food was fabulous as always. One of the staff who really stands out is Vivi, she is lovely and a real star! We'll definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arderns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stay here on the third of may for two weeks.we had been here in august 1980 and always wanted to return now the sons take care of this lovely hoteland they really do a good job along with their excellent staff.Going back was magicial this part of elounda is so tranquil.and to walk around the bay was lovely,our room was 202 and very clean and lovely views from our small balcony .it is a little way out of the village so if you are disabled it can be a little difficult it did'nt bother us even though my husband is in a wheelchair.we are looking forward to returning next may

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The hotel was right on the sea front with its own beach just across a very quiet [usually] road. Just the place for a dip and a free sunbed and parasol. The outside dinning area was a perfect place to enjoy a delicious breakfast, looking across the bay to the island of Spinalonga. Also a lovely place to enjoy dinner - food good. The spacious rooms were spotless and cleaned every day, beds comfortable and a good size well equiped bathroom. The staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous.
There were some lovely walks from the hotel into the nearby mountains, we also caught a bus to Plaka [10 mins] and explored that headland. We did get to the summit of Oxa mountain but it was a slog - but on good paths.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 'garden rooms' very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We found this hotel quite by accident ten years ago and have stayed here throuhout May and September ever since.Family run if one is not happy one only has to ask the staff and its done.
Clean and professionally run ,cheerful helpful staff from the cleaners six days a week nothing to much trouble through the receptionist a little star helpful and a wealth of information.
Book it direct and create your own type of holiday be it just bed and breakfast or full board.
Eat in eat out the restaurant named the BLUE SEA Is a wonderful relaxing place to dine with everything from snacks to full alacarte if you so desire.
Fully stocked bar late into the evening ,television in every room.they maybe small but they are clean air con available.

This hotel may not be five star but then again you wont be paying five star prices either
You wiill get exactly what in on the tin.
Small private beach close to the village and all other amenities people who complain about this place are to my mind just sad and expecting far more than their pockets can extend too.
Never a problem in ten years made lovely friends in an hotel run by lovely people.

JON WALTON (PRISON OFFICER RETIRED) DavidJonWalton @hotmail.co.uk

Room Tip: book early state what you want clearly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JonWalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We spent 6 nights at Akti Olous, Elounda last July. Elounda in general is a perfect place to spend holiday, beautiful beaches, nice bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is typical 3 star hotel: small rooms, tiny bathrooms and micro balcony, but all very clean. We had a small fridge with little freezer in our room, two glases and ashtray. What we really liked about that hotel was a swimming pool situated on a roof of it. Amazing view plus You could play table tennis and darts. Staff was very helpful and nice. We stayed at half board basis, breakfasts were really good and a lot of choice for everyone (swedish table). For dinner You could choose between 2 different dishes. Big negative for me: I ended up eating only salad for dinner as Im vegetarian and they couldn't have offered me any non- meat alternative:-( Plus a waitress didn't speak good english so there was nothing I could have done about it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamia_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Our first visit to Greece let alone Crete so we didn't know quite what to expect. In fact the people are friendly (not a grumpy response in the 10 days we were there) and the town or village of Elounda extremely relaxing. The Hotel has an unrivalled location - alongside the water but within easy - and relatively level - walking distance to the square and harbour. To the right of the hotel there's a pleasant walk across the causeway with a taverna waiting at the other side.
The Akti Olous is a three star hotel that's been extensively renovated and has a modern feel to it. The staff are friendly and helpful, our room was cleaned daily and the food in the waterside restaurant was excellent value for money. We tried several other restaurants recommended on Trip Advisor but in the end we decided that the Blue Sea restaurant at the hotel offered a wide menu choice, beautifully cooked food at a very reasonable price which compared favourably with others we tried out.
The hotel's facilities are fairly limited. The roof top pool is small with only a few sunloungers available but some people chose the loungers on the hotel's small shingle beach. There is also a rooftop lounge area for relaxation. Rooms at the front of the hotel have excellent views across the bay but some of the side rooms have lost their view because of other adjacent development.
It takes about 10 minutes to walk into town which has a host of bars and restaurants and where you find the ferry to Spinalonga (the former leper colony which is a must to visit) and the Happy Train! We were a bit apprehensive about this but the trip turned out to be a highlight of our visit. A road train (complete with mock engine and carriages) that goes along the coast road to Plaka and then up the mountain road to villages where a typical Cretian lunch is available at a local taverna. The views on this trip are spectacular!
We met many people during our stay who returned to Elounda year after year - some for up to 20 years - and many of them stayed at the Akti Olous. It's that sort of place: it tends to grow on you! We have booked for next year already!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merseychris050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Olous Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Olous Hotel

Address: Akti Oloundos Beach Road, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#10 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $62 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akti Olous Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akti Olous is recently renovated, a family-run hotel ideal for those of all ages, looking for comfortable accommodation in a cosy environment. The hotel is located directly on the thick sandy beach in the bay of Elounda, only 300 m from the village of Elounda, its small harbour and shopping area. The location of the hotel provides a relaxed holiday, with stunning panoramic view from the roof top pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Olous Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Olous Elounda
Elounda Akti Olous
Akti Olous Hotel Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing