We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Nearby Hotels
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$367
$356
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$514
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$411
$327
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elounda Bay Palace(Elounda)
$232
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$354
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$445
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveler rating
1,132
397
154
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
397
154
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue doorspinalonga islandprivate poolflame restaurantasia bluearsenali bargreek tavernasuperior bungalowbeach levelisland suitelarge pebblesour honeymoonlounge chairsplaka villagelarge resortpebble beachguest services
Filter
Updating list...
1,406 - 1,411 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This is the only question. If one does not take into account the price of the stay/food/spa, than the hotel is very good. However it is a pricey hotel with over 200 rooms, where guests are not given any particular (ie personnalised) attention. If price does not matter to you then you will be fine there and in the restaurants but probably you could just as easily find a nice litttle hotel where you will be looked for as if you were the only one. Here, it is "mass luxury tourism": It is funny to see the old Russian guys with gold watches accompanied by young Russian girls (with golden watches as well), but still there is just too many people there to have any sensation of luxury. We spent two weeks there and no complaints to make, but the hotel's web site is a bit misleading (it drives excpectations too high). We did not found the elevator to be a big issue although if you missed it you had to wait a couple of minutes. Isola grill is ok, Asian Blue is pretty nice. However, for food the best bets are Pouklia's restaurants even if they are like carbon copies of each others. Try Oysteria which is a bit further down the road, but the best of the 5 or 6 restaurant in Pouklia. If you have a Car, Agious Nikolaos is also a good alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank 5Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a two week stay in Greece, and this was our favorite hotel of the trip!!! Excellent experience overall.

Positives: Beautiful/modern room, excellent (though pricey) food, amazing views, friendly and helpful staff, nice library, excellent location, beautiful beach, several nice pools

Negatives: Bad experience with on-site water sports company (rude!), large resort that occasionally felt crowded

I have traveled to many wonderful vacation destinations, and stayed at many luxury hotels, and this was one of my favorites. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank DavidNYC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

when i was looking to book my summer holiday for me and my girlfriend, the brochure pictures took my breath away from the minute i saw them.. i booked a 7 night stay from 22nd-29th July 2007..
we booked a superior bungalow with a sea view, and when we got shown to our room it was absolutely what we were expecting. on the first evening, my girlfriend left a glass of sprite next to the bed and in the morning managed to attract a whole load of ants to our bedside table.. we called the room manager, who was extremely apologetic and moved us the next morning to a room with a private pool! the rest of the holiday was absolutely amazing, weather was great, food was incredible and an all around relaxing stay.
upon reading all the reviews about pricing in the hotel restaurants, i believe that if you book a hotel of this quality and class, you should go there in preparation to these prices, that way when you're there you aren't thinking about how much everything costs.
me and my girlfriend had lunch on our balcony nearly everyday, as we found more choice, better quality and all round more comfortable that the isola grill lunch restaurant or the snack bar by the pool. lunch each day averaged around 40-50euros and dinner for the two of us was around 100euros a night. i believe you truly get what you pay for, and the service and quality was absolutely flawless.

all in all, from ordering drinks lazily by our sun loungers, to getting driven to our room everyday in the clubcars, it was a fantastic holiday that neither of us are going to forget.
i would definitely recommend this hotel, an experience not to be missed..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dazs87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2007

Have you ever had to switch rooms during your stay in a hotel because they were not what you had expected? I am sure you had, but how about 4 rooms in 10 days?? Well let me explain. We booked a standard bungalow with panoramic sea views and upon arrival we were upgraded to a bungalow with a private pool which we were very happy about. We were shown the room which was nice and spacious (with rose petals spread over the bed - a nice touch - we were celebrating our wedding anniversary). We went outside to the patio and pool area and then I understood a catch with the "upgrade". The room was right next to the funicular and was completely overlooked by the people going up and down every two minutes and also by the people waiting for a funicular above. There was no way we were going to stay in that room. We called reception straight away and asked to move us away from funicular where we could enjoy more privacy.

We were told that there was another room available with a pool on the 5th level away from the funicular. We were really exited about it as we thought that it would have great views being on a top level. When we got to the room and went outside we were shocked to see that the room was facing a wall of a building underneath. There was not much of promised "panoramic views' but at that point we were tired and it was getting late and we decided to take this room hoping that with the sun shining and a new day the next morning we would not feel as bad.

However when we got up the next morning and looked outside I thought that a nice relaxing view for me was more important than a private pool and later that day we asked to be moved to a room with a view even if it didn't have a pool.

We moved to our third room without a pool but with a reasonable view. We decided to put the whole saga behind us and started to unwind and enjoy our holiday.

Three days later we were contacted by reception offering us a room upgrade with a pool. We went to see the room and the view was spectacular! Of course we took it, even though it meant having to move for the fourth time but it was absolutely worth it.

Overall we were pleased with the way the hotel handled our situation and that even when we were "officially happy" with our accommodation they still did not forget about us and offered an upgrade on their own initiative.

The Orangerie Restaurant is expensive but good value - go for the Lobster Evening! Forget about the beach bar: conveniently located, but tasteless juices and milkshakes and disappointing club sandwich (small portions and more bread than spread).

Best choice of restaurants: Agios Nikolaos, especially the Migomis piano restaurant on top of the lake, overlooking the two connected ports. Expensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tatushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

We just returned from Crete after spending 8 nights at Blue Palace. The whole experience exceeded our expectations.

*The hotel is actually as beautiful as it appears on the website.
*Staff is very friendly and courteous.
* We arrived at the hotel at 8am and our room was ready and we were able to check in right away.
* We stayed at a sea view bungalow which had a lot of privacy and a great view. The rooms are well appointed and very clean.
* Breakfast buffet has a wide variety and the breads are delicious.
* We ate in the hotel 3 nights only, all at the Blue Door. The setting is great and the food is simple but good.
* The sea is crystal clear, the cleanest water we have been to in the Mediterranean (including various beaches in Turkey). It can get really windy though at times. Also the beach is rocky which we did not mind but sand lovers might not like this beach.
* The evenings are very quiet. There is no live music or dancing.
* Like the previous reader we were disappointed in Elounda and preferred spending our evenings in Agios Nikolaus which is beautiful and livelier. We highly recommend dinner at Barko. We liked it so much we went there twice.

I travel a lot on business and for pleasure and this hotel is one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Luxury47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews