We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best vacations Ever..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #7 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of our best vacations Ever..”
Reviewed July 1, 2006

My wife and I recently returned from an 8 day trip to Greece to celebrate our 5th year anniversary. We went the last week in May and stayed 5 days at the Blue Palace (Crete) and 3 days at the Grand Bretagne (Athens). Contrary to the last post, overall we had one of the best vacations we have ever experienced, specifically BECAUSE of the Blue Palace. I read through just about every review posted for the Blue Palace. MOST reviews were very positive with some of the negative comments centered around the cost of drinks (it’s a 5 star hotel), service from the beach bar (it is slow but the bar is not that far away), the slow furnicular ride to the beach (again, it is a short walk from the rooms) and from individuals who were in rooms which close to the service road or the furnicular. We took note of this from the reviews and requested room 323 (recommended from a fellow Trip Advisor post). It was a perfect room.

The Hotel is situated in a semi secluded area just past the town of Elounda. It is a beautiful resort with incredible views and amenities. The service was very good. The staff was very friendly and always willing to accommodate anything that you asked for. We did not have any service issues at all.

We stayed in room 323 as it was a corner room but I would also recommend room 330 (better view of the beach). The room had a private pool which was a little chilly in late May but I am sure would warm up nicely in a few weeks.

We ate at just about all of the restaurants in the hotel for lunch or dinner. There were positives and negatives written about all of them but we found them all to be quite good. The drinks at the hotel are quite expensive, even more expensive than we are used to coming from the Northeast part of the US. The best value is the wine.

The was spa is an exceptional experience. With staff members remembering you name from days before with out a thought and willingness to customize your experience to preference, requests.

We also ventured out of the hotel and had dinner in Plaka (5 minute walk) at the Paleria Taverna (try the lobster pasta). There are many little restaurants to sample or just hang out and have some drinks and experience Greek life.

We took several short cab rides (5 minutes and 6 euros) to Elounda and Agios Nikoloas (15 minute cab ride and 17 euros) – both great towns close by. In Elounda there are several places to shop and more restaurants than you could possible patron. Among the several “must do’s” - Make sure you go to Friends bar. We also ate at The Ferryman and had a very good meal. Agios Nikoloas is a bit more touristy but a very nice town with lots of shopping and restaurants, worth an evenings visit.

For some things to do, take a short boat trip to the island of Spinalonga. There is a lot of history and it is a nice early morning visit (opens at 9am).

Overall, we had one of the most enjoyable vacations we have ever taken and can’t wait to go back to Crete (and the Blue Palalce) and visit some of the other islands.

Just as a side note – if you plan to visit Athens to see the sites, we highly recommend doing the in 2 or 3 days (at the most) prior to your visit to the Blue Palace. The days at the Blue Palace were very relaxing and serene, Athens was an entirely different pace.

If you are interested in the Grand Bretagne in Athens, please read our review of that as well.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank CK_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    364
    145
    59
    45
See reviews for
332
1,010
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2006

The Blue Palace is a gorgeous hotel; wonderful views, great location, beautiful rooms. We stayed in room 534, a deluxe suite with its own large salt water plunge pool. We thought it was the best room at the resort. The only complaints we had were the stiff and hard beds and the unpredictable temperature control in the shower (hot one minute, cold the next, and back and forth). The daily maid service did a really good job cleaning the room every day and always mopped the floors. We really liked the small touches of chocolates and a fresh cut rose on the bed when they turned it down each evening. Renting a car was super easy since a Hertz agent had a desk in the reception area.

The breakfast buffet has a very good selection of things to eat although it is the same every day. The Asia Blue and Blue door restaurants were delicious. Don't bother going to L'Orangerie though unless you like the uptight atmosphere. We came to relax not feel stuffy in a restaurant. The only way to get down to the restaurants and beach was to use the gondola type elevator, which was slow and a little annoying to wait on all the time.

As for the weather, it's pretty windy there so be prepared for that but it's wonderfully sunny and clear. We were there in May and the water in the pools and sea were a little too cold for us. If we went back it would be during a hotter summer month so we could take more advantage of the pools and water sports.

The little town of Plaka a 5 minutes walk distance from the hotel is not worth going to. There are only a few restaurant and tavernas there and it's a dismal looking town. Elouda which is a 10 minute drive away has some shops and more restaurants but most of the restaurants offer the same menu items and even use the same menus and the shops are over priced. If you can make the trip to Heraklion (about 45 minutes), there's much better gift and souvenier shopping there and it's cheaper than Elounda and Agio Nikolaos. If you need to buy necessities or toiletries, there's small grocery store on the main street of Elounda.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Having booked the Blue Palace following a recomendation, I was a little concerned by the "mixed" comments. We had nothing to worry about, we had a fantastic week and the hotel is excellent. It simply amazes me what people can find to whinge about. The reviewer who thought the funicular was slow..............chill out you're on holiday, enjoy the views and relax. You can always walk to the beach, as we did!!!!!!!!!!

We arrived at 9.45pm, were escorted to our room, where a lovely fresh supper had been laid out on our coffee table (we were on half board), including a bottle of wine. After a great nights sleep, we pulled back our curtains to the most fantastic sea view and Spinalonga Island. The room, the superior, was light, bright, well furnished and comfortable. Lots of TV channels though only 2 in English, didn't bother us as not a priority to watch TV.

Breakfast is served until 1030, which was very handy as we struggled to get up each morning after sleeping so well. Fairly standard buffet, though plently of choice and fresh displays.

Now the staff attitude/manner seems to feature a lot in previous reviews. We found, without exception, ALL the staff to be polite, courteous and friendly.For reviewers who found this not to be the case, remember, behaviour breeds behaviour !!

The beach was pebbly, and yes on most days it was quite windy. As it was only May the water was CHILLY, and only the brave ventured into the sea.

We eat most evenings in the main restaurant. There was a different table d'hote menu each night and of a very good quality, this was complimented by an excellent buffet. Drinks were a tad expensive, however, we stuck to a more than acceptable local sauvignon blanc at 17 Euro. You can have lunch instead of dinner if you wish. The Isola Grill, poolside, had an extensive and sufficient menu for lunch..The local village of Plaka is pleasant and we ate out one evening, there is also a fab local bar, as well as a small store for supplies. You can also jump on a small boat over to Spinalonga Island, which is ideal for a few hours. We also went to Agios Nicoloas for an evening, where we spent a pleasant time on the harbour front watching the world go by.

Overall, an excellent holiday in a first class hotel

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DavidWestSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esslingen am Neckar, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Hi!

We stayed at the Blue Palace for one week at the end of September 2005 and had booked a room with a private pool, even though we had read that it was not worth it, as there was supposed to be no sun ever shining there.

The reviews were right. Unfortunately the sun never comes to the pool, so the water is very cold. The pool is not really private, your neighbours can see you as soon as you take one step in the water. Just don't book the private pool :-)

Apart from that:
The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. The hotel itself is nice if you're looking for a very relaxing holiday! There is not much to do in the area, a small village with 5-7 restaurants in walking distance.

The staff is friendly and if you enjoy watching different people from all over the world, this is certainly something you can do here. The breakfast buffet is good, there were quite a few couples with children and babies in the hotel and pregnant women :-)

We found it a little boring - but I guess that depends on what you want to do in our vacation...

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank ChristianeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

My husband and I spent a week at the Blue Palace for our honeymoon in August. I just cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It was perfect in every way. The location offers amazing views and the seclusion we were looking for. When booking the trip, we had looked at the pictures on the hotel's website and hoped that the hotel looked at least a bit like what was picutured (I say this because I have been disappointed many, many times by hotels that look nothing like the pictures). The Blue Palace looks EXACTLY like the pictures - the water is just as blue, the views are just as spectacular, and the hotel is as beautiful as the pictures.

The staff is great - when they found out on the second day of our stay that we were on our honeymoon, they had a cake and champagne waiting for us when we returned to the room later that day. It was a small but very kind gesture. The people of Elounda are wonderful - warm, inviting, and very romantic.

Other pros about the Blue Palace - a very helpful concierge who planned a very smooth day trip to Santorini for us and excellent restaurants at the resort (especially the Blue Door Tavern).

Elounda is also close to a large town, Aghios Nikolaus, that offers more restaurants and nightlife. We went to Aghios one evening and had a great time having dinner, sipping cocktails at an outdoor cafe, and dancing. For a quieter evening, you can also walk 5 minutes to the nearby village - there is a cafe there called Paleria that has some of the best mussels I have ever had.

There are other reviews that mention noise and poor rooms - we didn't find any of this during our stay. At night, the hotel is very quiet.

If you are looking for a honeymoon destination or just a romantic spot to visit with the special person in your life, you cannot find a better location than this.

My husband and I will always remember this hotel fondly - our stay here was very special, as romantic as one would hope for a honeymoon, and very memorable. We are looking forward to returning to the Blue Palace in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank NYCAnita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, MI
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2005

I find it hard to believe that people actually had such a miserable time at this resort. I will admit, it was pricey, but it is a 5* resort!!! My husband and I went during peak tourist season for our honeymoon and had a glorious and relaxing time.
The room was simple and modern with a fabulous bathroom and infinity pool...and yes there were other pools next to us...but hardly anyone ever used them...so it seemed very private.
The service was excellent. I find that when I give out a positive attitude, I get a positive attitude back. The lower pool wasn't as well attended by servers...but there was a restaurant 20 ft away and a bar close by as well so, getting beverages or anything else wasn't really an issue.
The food was delicious every where we went. We ate at each of the restaurants at least once. One morning we orderd breakfast in our room and tried to eat outside...watch out for the bees...there were tons of them!!!
Overall, this was by far the most beautiful resort I have ever stayed at. I would totally recommend it if you have the money to splurge!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank MotorCityDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
2.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.7 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
19.3 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing