We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Nearby Hotels
$553
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$592
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$124
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Bay Palace(Elounda)
$198
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$388
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$439
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveler rating
1,132
397
154
62
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,132
397
154
62
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue doorspinalonga islandprivate poolflame restaurantasia bluearsenali bargreek tavernasuperior bungalowbeach levelisland suitelarge pebblesour honeymoonlounge chairsplaka villagelarge resortpebble beachguest services
Filter
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

These are little things and to not sound Negative Its easier to say the things that weren't quite right with the place than list how bloody Great it actually is. (Fyi The staff at Blue Palace are AMAZING!)

1st. i order room service A LOT and One major factor for me though was the AWFUL coffee. And There is No facility in room to make a coffee and i was in a junior suit (nesspreso machine would be perfect blue palace) i ordered it a couple of times from standard cappuccino to some mediterranean coffee styles i know thinking that it may make a difference and what i got was awful. so if you are a coffee lover sat on your terrace watching the sun come up or go down then go for english tea.

2nd. The blue door food was a little bland. stunning setting, great staff, the lamb chops were great! but the humus to the sea bass and everything els was a little bland, not enough flavour or spice (and I'm an English white boy not some exotic guy, so me saying this has some merit i think haha) the price was also quite UP there... 130 Euro thats 2 people with no bottle of wine just 2 glasses and sharing a starter. Its not stupid but for that i expect full cosmopolitan England/Europe style and sadly it was not.

Other than that its a Great Hotel! its Decor is the perfect amount of chic/ modern but in keeping with the island! i loved the way you were able to wonder round freely in to the gym at midnight if wanted to. and the Staff again were Amazing and could not help you more! will go back for sure but i will take my travel nesspreso machine.

Room Tip: get a room with a pool, it adds a nice aspect to your room and don't worry about paying extra for a heated one like iv heard others moan about on here because it was 34 degrees in june the last thing you want to be jumping in to is a heated pool in the summer months. iv also heard people say "stay on the south wing" (where i did) but with that you don't get the best views and you don't see the sun rise over the water so i wouldn't worry to much what wing you are on they al have sea views...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheDannykelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

You cant not love this hotel....stunning views, great facilities and very attentive service. Lets be honest though it isn't cheap so you do expect very high standards! We had a superior room and the view was stunning. To start with I was a little bit jealous of the mini private pools however on closer inspection am glad we didn't pay the significant price hike. They are very public and we could literally look right in to our neighbours pool so you would feel very overlooked. In our time there we only ever saw one person in a pool and the rest of the time they were totally deserted so I would think twice about it. The service was exceptionally attentive and the staff were always professional and slick. Breakfast is excellent and there is every type of food you could want! My main gripe about the resort was the one cable car style lift that serviced the whole resort. At busy times you could wait 10 minutes and it did become a little annoying. They should have installed 2 when building the resort but they didn't so in fairness there is little they can do now! You of course have to expect 5 star rip off prices. 2 beers at the pool bar cost 14 euros and if you make it a shandy they increase that price to a staggering 18 euros! That i did find very cheeky and felt like asking for the beer that we had missed out on to make room for the lemonade! Needless to say we didn't order any more drinks at the hotel and ate/drank in nearby Plaka which is great value and very pretty. Overall a fab hotel and I would definitely stay again but there was just a little something missing...I cant quite put my finger on it but for that reason I couldn't give it full marks!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank woney1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

One week at the Elounda Blue Palace in Crete 27/6 to 4/7. Hotel very neat and staff exceptionally polite and considerate from the moment you arrive to you depart. The hotel is at the end of the coach drop offs from the airport and naturally at the beginning of the return journey, so depending on the number of drop offs and pick ups you will be on board for about 2 hours.
All rooms face the sea (East) and overlook Spinolonga Island, so an early rise will see some spectacular sunrises. Rooms with individual pools sit below rooms without and are therefore overlooked, in fact the pools for each room are separated by a small wall for minimal privacy, however the villas to the right of the main hotel hub all have much more private pool and patio areas. There are 5 restaurants, a main buffet area in the hub of the hotel; an Asian theme; a flame meat grill; an Italian and a Greek taverna. Al very good food, large portions (even the starters), so you will be well fed on the half board. Breakfast is in the Buffett restaurent and serves cooked, through continental, Greek and plenty of fruit. A beer is about €7 and the wine starts with the local bottles at about €24 with imported wines costing as would be expected in some cases a lot more, but the local wines are pretty good notably the Crete Chardonney. Half board gets you most on each restaurant menu, but you can have other dishes at increments of 4; 6; and 8, €'s.
Reception and concierge staff are extremely efficient and polite, a common vein that runs through the hotel. Rooms are tiered above and below the reception area on the hill down towards the sea and main pool. This can be a test for elderly or if disabled and is therefore served by a funicular rail from the reception down to the main pool and spa area before the pebbled beach. Rooms are spacious, with walk in showers within a decent size bathroom. Rooms have small safes and a mini bar, in which 2 small bottles,of complimentary water are added each day. On arrival there will be a few pieces of fruit and a nice touch with a bottle of Riki. Beds are large and very comfy. There is no iron or ironing board, but these can be acquired through reception. Wifi is available throughout the hotel and pool areas but at a cost of around €50 a week, unless you hang around the reception area to catch up on e-mails with many others as it is free in that area. Each evening thre is a turn down service and card to tell you how warm the sun will be in the morning.
During the week it averaged in the late 20's/ early 30's during the day and a nice 20 degrees in the evening. We were not aware of a challenge of the wind during the day with gusts up to 35 kph, which makes for towel blowing and book page ruffling interesting at pool and sea edge, but this seems a regular occurrence from what the staff say. A breeze would be nice but the strong winds we had was 'interesting' at times. The pools are warm and well maintained. The sea, is best entered via the pontoon to take you across the large pebbled beach (there is no sand). If you need shade then the umbrella coverings to each set of beds is fixed with cane cover, so you will need to shuffle beds as the sun moves, but as they are robust they stay up in the winds.
The resort has a great spa, massages treatments are about €80 for 50 mins or €100 for 80 mins.
There is a small shop that sells sun creams through to touristy pieces and Daily newspapers.
The local village of Plaka is a short 5 min walk and quite pleasant. Nice and quiet, several small restaurants and a harbour that serves trips to the island for around €35. Have a torch or light on your phone for part of the walk requires road walking and is not lit.
Elounda is about 4-5 km from the hotel and whilst it says it can be walked, is not the best of treks with indifferent foot paths, but if you have chosen the quiet style hotel then Elounda harbour is just a hub of small restaurants and bucket and spade shops (not that inspiring). Cars can be hired at the hotel with a Hertz desk staffed each morning. A hire car (Fiat 500 size) for 2 days will be about €160 with excess etc but is well worth a trip out, if nothing more to go to the small harbour of Mohlas it has great fresh sea food and a lovely bar called the Rocks, where you can sit on double deck chairs sipping cocktails overlooking the sea watching the sun disappear with great colour changes on the mountains, about 45 minute drive. Agios market on Wednesdays - not great just fruit and veg, with cheap fake tee-shirts, nothing spectacular.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel sits on a hillside and offers beautiful views of the cove and nearby spinalonga island. You can opt for a room with a tiny pool or without. Rooms are quite spread out from the main hotel but they will come and get you in a golfcart to go to the spa etc. the amenities are terraced down the hillside to the water. Nice restaurant and spa . Interesting trip to the island for tour of former leper colony. Easy walk to plaka , small village with several nice restaurants and shops. On the down side The business center is 2 computers that are so slow it took me an hour to check in and print boarding passes. They also charge an outrageous fee for the privilege. There is free wifi in the lobby but the printers in the exec Center won't let you print on them from your iPad. The fununcular to the beach spa etc is only slightly faster than the internet speed and the ac is minimal inside the glass box. Ps don't drink the tap water. Per the local travel agent no one drinks the tap on the islands, you don't know where it's come from.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afrdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this place. It is luxurious for European standards, modern, spacious, clean, etc. I loved our room with the private pool, this was definitely the highlight of the hotel, our 4 y.o. loved it and we did too. If you are considering this hotel, the private pool is a must, otherwise the regular room is not worth it. The food is very good, but extremely expensive, for dinner we opted to dine out (Plaka or Elounda) mostly, although we ordered room service/went to the hotel's restaurants a few times. Observing the hotel's guests, they seemed to be on the wealthy side, so I think that the high price did not matter. The service is very good too! The hotel is clean and well kept. Although we never return to the same place twice, we will probably come back to this hotel next year.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews