We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel Stay Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Hotel Stay Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have long wanted to stay at this hotel and finally was able to get there. We spent 7 days here at the end of September and it was the best hotel experience I have ever had. The service was over the top from the moment drove up to the door and were greeted by Penny. We had traveled a long way to get there and she made us feel so welcome and took care of our every need. Our room was beautiful and we made full use of our private pool each and every day. There are so many wonderful restaurants right on the resort and we tried all of them and the food, service and atmosphere of all of them were fantastic. I have traveled alot and Luxury Collection Hotels are my favorite and this lived up to all of my expectations and more. I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaf5529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel, following your most recent stay. I am delighted that on your visit, your arrival to our resort was nothing short of seamless, and that we were able to efficiently attend your every need. Particularly after a long flight, I am so pleased that our team made you feel so welcome.
It is also great to know that your dining experience was up to your expectations and you thoroughly enjoyed all our venues. It is very reassuring to receive such nice words and it motivates us to work even harder to maintain our high standards and level of service provided to our guests.
Thank you for recommending us to others and I look forward to your next visit which I am certain will be as unforgettable as this one.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    336
    140
    57
    41
See reviews for
312
946
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

If one has to spend a cold, windy and occasional rainy time on the beautiful island of Crete, there's no better place than the Blue Palace Resort and Spa to be. It exceeded everyone of our expectations. We had a truly beautiful suite with a heated pool. Unfortunately it was too cold for us to use the pool. Even during the best of circumstances the pool would not be very warm.
The view of the island of Spinalonga was exceptional. The service for the most part was great, especially when one considers what a large hotel it is - with numerous levels, restaurants and activities. We especially appreciated the assistance of Leftaris the manager.
Driving on the island was fairly easy. We would highly recommend the sensational scenic route to Sitea and of course a visit to the ruins of Knossos is a must. One could easily spend a week at this resort. One day we will be back to tour more of the island.

Room Tip: If you are able, splurge with the island suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Blue Palace for your recent visit to Crete and for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our team aims to fulfill and exceed guest expectations at all times and I am delighted that we achieved just that for you.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to our beautiful island.

Kind regards
Sotiris Kremastiotis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon and had a good experience with a few bumps along the way. We arrived from the airport and received a warm welcome upon our arrival. We had to wait about 30 minutes to check in because there were a bunch of arrivals but not a big deal. We got checked in and taken to our room, which was a private bungalow with heated pool. The room was beautiful and the view great. The bathroom was spacious and very modern. The room wasn't too close to the main hotel building but that ended up being a good thing for privacy. We were really comfortable in our room but had a few issues. First, the 'heated' pool was definitely not working and was quite cold. Once we complained and they 'turned the heater up' the pool became swimable and we enjoyed it numerous times per day. The two other issues were the TV in the bathroom wasn't working, and the bathtub wouldn't drain. Both of those were resolved with one phone call.

The biggest issue we had with this stay was breakfast. We stayed on points and cash and paid extra for the bungalow with heated pool. Because we used points, we were not eligible for the breakfast buffet that was included for basically everyone staying at the hotel. I tried to speak with the hotel about this and told me that there was nothing they could do. How does it make sense for a hotel to make their most valuable customers pay for breakfast because we are using points? It really makes no sense. They said if we were Starwood Platinum we would have had it but because we are Gold we didn't qualify. Either way, it was quite annoying.

The one other sticking point for us was that no one at the hotel would give us recommendations of where to go to dinner off the hotel property. I know they want to make as much money as possible and have us eat at their restaurants, but it was quite frustrating that they were unwilling to give us any guidance, it's really the least they could do.

Aside from that everything was pretty good. The property is beautiful, the food was good and we were able to do exactly what we wanted as we began our trip: sit and relax on the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your stay at the Blue Palace.
I am very glad that you had a good visit to our hotel and that you were happy with the size of your room and bathroom in addition to its quiet location. Although I am very sorry for the issues you had with the slow draining bathtub and the bathroom TV I am pleased we were able to immediately attend the problem and repair it.
Your comments regarding the recommendation you requested to dine outside the resort came as a real surprise to me, as our staff is always willing to assist all guests with their requests including their wish to dine in the area.
It is most rewarding to know that we succeeded in fulfilling you initial goal to sit and relax on the sea.
Looking forward to having you back at our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Firstly the rooms are amazing, we had a great terrace with a private infinity pool and a breathtaking sea view. The rooms are very clean (serviced twice a day), I really could not grumble there. It felt so peaceful and really romantic. We felt very relaxed.

The issue was that the food in the hotel restaurants was awful - we were so pleased we didn't go half board. The eastern fusion restaurant was basically Uncle Bens BUT not even nearly as 'nice'. For the prices you paid and for a 5 star hotel you would expect more. The Italian restaurant was below average with an incredibly moody male waiter who didn't even look at you. And their Greek restaurant, (probably the best at the hotel), was still not as good as the local places you could go to. Breakfast was great though with so much choice. Don't let the food put you off as if you turn right out of the hotel there are some amazing restaurants just 5 minutes walk away so you'll be fine for dinner.

Our other gripe was that wifi was only free in reception, for in room wifi you had to pay and it's expensive. For a 5 star hotel you'd think it would be included.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay in our resort.
It was wonderful to read that you truly enjoyed your room and the indeed spectacular view we offer. We are usually very proud of the food quality we provide our guests, and I am sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations. I have taken on board your comments regarding your dining experience and please rest assured that we are always working on all comments made as the satisfaction and enjoyment of our guests is of outmost importance to us. Regarding the Wi-Fi you mention may I kindly note that as per Starwood standards we are required to offer complimentary wireless internet access in lobby spaces which we do at the Arsenali Lounge Bar and the Votsalo Bar.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Blue Palace for another very relaxing holiday.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

First, the hotel's location is great. Right on the beach overlooking a leper colony island, ideal for watersports and hedonists alike.

Secondly, every room has its own private plunge pool.

Thirdly, breakfasts are great with all you can eat.

Fourthly, in house restaurants are exhorbitanly expensive, so eat out at the little village half a mile to the north. Cold drinks and ice creams are crazily expensive. Hire car ditto, book via Avis in the UK before you fly. Sleazy jet from LGW is painless.

Close to Ayos Nicholas, Knosos and Heraklion.

Outstanding spa, gym, hamman and pools. Water sports, skiing, banana boating etc all available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Please accept my apologies for having missed the opportunity to fulfill your expectations with regards to customer service and your dining experience. However, I am very pleased you liked our location and I thank you for your words of praise regarding the Spa.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Blue Palace on a future visit.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in one of their amazing bungalows overlooking the beach (a stone beach, though) and Spinalonga island. The staff was amazingly helpful and super friendly. Valet parking was free if charge. The room was gorgeous however the bed was really terrible. The king bed was just two twins pushed together. Also they were uncomfortable. Food was also bad and over priced. Ordered room service and ate at the Asian restaurant and both were barely edible. The breakfast was fine though and if you have a car there are options in the nearby town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay at the Blue Palace.
Whilst I was very pleased that there were certain parts of your stay that were enjoyable, particularly the room you stayed in and the service our staff offered you, I was really concerned to read that you were so disappointed with your dining experience. We appreciate that this is such an important part of a guest’s experience and to this end we work hard to offer all our guests only the best food quality. However I appreciate your comments and have made note of them for future improvement.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Blue palace.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This resort came highly recommended by Elegant Resorts and it did not disappoint. Having read other reviews we were cautious, but need not have worried; blue palace exceed all expectations.

The buildings cascade up and down the hillside, but it's tastefully done. The rooms are lovely and clean, well appointed and stylish. Almost all have stunning views towards Spinalonga. There are four good quality restaurants, plus the breakfast location. All served very fresh ingredients, well prepared and presented. Each has a different atmosphere to suit all moods. Excellent steaks in Flame, good Asian fusion and Italian, but our favourite was the water/beachside taverna, Blue Door. Across them all, staff were efficient and friendly, most wearing big smiles and with time for you.

Used the spa and gym and both were good. The beach is stony, but well provided with timber walkways and platforms, sun beds and umbrellas. The beach team will install towels and bring cold drinks on call. A perfect spot for getting lost in a book.

The main reception and adjacent bar are visually impressive and well served by eager friendly staff. Live music some evenings and perfectly acceptable wifi access in this area.

Overall, this was just what the brochure and agent promised and proved a great location for a deep recharge. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with "private pools" hardly seen to be used and pools certainly not private
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteadyTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us.
Along with the rest of our team, I was delighted to read such positive comments about your experience here with us. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the luxury of our comfortable and spacious rooms. Furthermore, your encounter with our attentive and friendly team throughout several of our services seems to have made an impression on you, which was lovely to read.
I appreciate you recommending us to others and we look forward to seeing you very soon so you can once again enjoy our hospitality and some relaxing time.

Kind regards

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
3.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
3.7 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing