We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Relaxation in Beautiful Crete” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
443 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Elegant Relaxation in Beautiful Crete”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We've stayed at the Blue Palace before and we were eager to return to this delightful resort tucked into the steep hills of Elunda. We always ask the hotel to arrange for a taxi to pick us up at the airport since we have no need to drive once we arrive at the hotel. We were greeted by staff as the cab pulled in and we found the service to be just as anticipatory and just as seamless as it was in the past. Everyone is friendly here. Our room looked out over the bay at the magical and mysterious island of Spinalonga and we encourage everyone to read The Island by Victoria Hislop before you arrive since it gives an intimate portrait of Spinalonga and the fishing village at the foot of the hill called Plaka.

We come here to unwind and the charming beach, pools, spa and beautiful location all contribute to that sense of relaxation. You must spend an afternoon wandering around the nearby town of Elunda where you can stop for a light lunch at any of the many waterfront taverns where the food is always good and the prices range from cheap to reasonable. The very best tip we can share is to wander down the hill (a ten minute walk) to Plaka in the evening for dinner at one of the restaurants – our favorites being Giorgios and Captain Nikolas. The food is wonderful, the service casual and the prices more than reasonable. The breeze blows in from the bay and do not be surprised when the occasional town cat wanders in for a snack. If you return to the same restaurant the next night you will be greeted like family. By the end of the night you will know the staff by name and you will likely be involved in conversations with neighboring diners from around the world. It is the way things are done in Plaka.

Without fail we would end our evenings in the stunningly beautiful cocktail lounge off the main lobby of the Blue Palace which overlooks the entire property. From the comfy overstuffed chairs and sofas you sip your drink as you look over the dancing lights below and the brilliant stars twinkling in the clear skies above.

The Blue Palace is a combination of great design, great service and great location. Thank you management and staff for yet another wonderful visit and we will be back again in another two years or so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous support and for taking the time to leave us your feedback.
It was a pleasure to learn that you chose to stay with us with your return to Crete. I would like to thank you for highlighting the service that our staff provided during your stay. I have communicated your feedback to the teams and they are all very happy to know that they made your stay even more special. I am certain that this will serve us as a source of inspiration to achieve even higher standards of excellence in the future.
Once again thank you for honoring us with your visit and we certainly look forward to having you back for another relaxing getaway.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    338
    140
    57
    41
See reviews for
312
952
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Amazing !!! Where do I start , This was the most relaxing blissfully sublime holiday experience..The hotel itself is situated on the most stunning bay with mountains rising to the side and behind photographs will not do it justice..The staff,rooms,restaurants,beach,etc etc were without fault..We rented a car to explore Crete but were so taken with the hotel we were loath to leave..We had a bungalow room with pool which we used to have a refreshing "donk" in the morning and watching the sun rise over the island just made you glad and gratefful to be alive..Again I would love to thank the staff who made us feel special every day..We will be returning every 2 years from now on..5 Stars all round ..

Room Tip: Room with a pool is a must.Even if it is just to dip your feet into in the evening before dinner..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Along with the rest of our team, I was delighted to read such positive comments about your experience here with us. It is our pleasure to ensure our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay, and I am very pleased that we were able to assist in creating a memorable holiday for you.
Once again, your review is much appreciated and we look forward to your return.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights in this beautiful resort in May, 2013. Since we arrived by the overnight ferry, they had our room ready at 9:00 am itself without any additional charge. The rooms are spacious, clean with a balcony overlooking the beach. Service was excellent and always delivered with a smile. The staff were helpful in organising tours/rentals, etc.. The staff helped us book a quadbike and we had a fun day out discovering the island. The beach is not natural, made up of smooth pebbles and is narrow. But the setting is beautiful, with loungers arranged neatly. The ride to the beach in the funnicular was a nice touch.
Our only crib is the lack of free wifi in the rooms and a tea/coffee maker would be handy too. Highly recommended for couples with/without young kids. Excellent if a bit pricey!

Room Tip: We were in the north wing of the resort, which I suspect offers better views from rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddymishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.
Along with the rest of our team, I was delighted to read such positive comments about your experience here with us. It is our pleasure to ensure our guests thoroughly enjoy their stay, and I am very pleased that we were able to assist in creating a memorable stay for you.
I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Blue Palace in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a superb week at the Blue Palace. Our bungalow was perfect with a view of Spinalonga island across the bay. We were lucky to be upgraded from B&B to half board with a dine around option which meant that we could dine in any one of the 4 restaurants (each with a different cuisine) - all excellent. The buffet breakfast was fantastic with a brilliant selection with something for all tastes. We couldn't fault the very attentive but discrete service we received from staff in every part of the hotel. Extras (mainly drinks) are quite pricey but worth every penny - a truly 5-star experience.
Plaka village which is within easy walking distance is totally unspoilt and has a number of tavernas for a good value lunchtime snack. The local bus service (air conditioned) has a stop near the hotel providing cheap and easy access to Elounda and Aghios Nicolaos (the latter is much better).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor following your stay at the Blue Palace.
I was delighted to read your review and it gives me great pleasure to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am also very appreciative of your comment regarding our staff and the standard of services my colleagues provided.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back for another brilliant holiday.


Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent a week at The Blue Palace Hotel from 3rd June 2013.

I would recommend taking a private transfer which costs €85 one way.The coach would take over 2 hours given they drop off at other hotels which is no fun. The private transfer takes less than one hour.

The hotel has a lovely hill side setting and the rooms are widely spaced out with no high rise blocks. We had a junior suite with heated pool. The room was lovely,clean and well appointed. The pool and decking area nice but sadly offer little privacy from adjacent rooms as the walls are only a meter high--poor design here. I would recommend the rooms rather than stay without a pool or near the lift are where there is less privacy.The media available on the TV was distinctly 1 star. No proper video facilities,choice of film hopeless. No free WIFI was also poor for this price.Rooms would get 4stars,in room facilities (TV/Video-/WIFI 0 stars)
The service is probably the best I have ever come across. Room service was in minutes literally.The staff were all welcoming and very friendly--5 star.
There is a choice of four restaurants which were all ok offering a good selection.I would rate the food good but not outstanding. Not 5 star food but good for Greece! The Asian restaurant was a mixture of Thai,Chinese,Japanese. I think they would be better to stick to one format as the food was average at best. Flame was the best with a nice view--good steaks but with a supplement over half board (only small though €50.
The spa is excellent with some great treatments albeit expensive. I find this sad as they would do many more if they lowered their prices. Given labour must be cheaper it is odd they do not explore this simple option.
Breakfast for us in one dining room was a bit large and very impersonal but the selection is good.
The gym and tennis courts are good and well equipped.

Overall a good hotel and by Greek standards very good. This is not especially cheap but the facilities,location,and rooms are good and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: Room with pool away from centre of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and for recommending the Blue Palace. Whilst I was pleased that certain parts of your stay were enjoyable, particularly your room, the service and the Spa, I was very disappointed to learn about your dissatisfaction regarding the in room media facilities. I have received your comments under strong consideration to make sure we get improved in the future and of course amend our services to better.
Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the areas where we have fallen short of your expectations and I do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

just back from a half term break at the Blue Palace. worth paying for the heated pool if you have kids, its heated to 28 degrees. however check who your neighbours are before unpacking as they put us a family with young kids in the middle of two romantic couples who didn't look very happy when we all jumped into our pool! The restaurants are all excellent, great children's menu, recommend the grilled octopus at blue door and the crispy duck and mango beef at asia blue, and the cheesecake at flame was amazing! all very child friendly, again if you want a quiet meal book your table after 8pm!
Sea very warm as were the pools. If you take inflatables the man at the towel kiosk has an inflation machine. Never been anywhere where there are so many towels, in the room and as many as you want at the beach/pool - excellent service.
We enjoyed the funicular and never found it crowded even though the hotel was full over half term. The beach was lovely, nice not to have sand everywhere, take water shoes as the sea is full of urchins!
overall a wonderful family holiday, easy to get around with a pushchair, excellent friendly staff, hope to return one day!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cabbage1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Blue Palace.
I am extremely happy and proud to read that you found our staff excellent; as it is such a reward in their continuous strive to ensure we deliver exceptional services and enriching experiences to all our guests. Rest assured that your compliments have also been passed on to the relevant departments. It is also very satisfying to know that your children had a good time with us too.
May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Blue Palace and I sincerely hope to have you and your family with us again for another unforgettable holiday.


I truly thank you for your excellent feedback as I can tell we have achieved our aim in satisfying all of your expectations in terms of high level of service and cuisine.

Kind Regards
Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Airport pickup organized by hotel was seamless and quick...checkin was speedy...breakfast which I assume is always included in room rate is great.huge selection of Greek and other breakfast items..you won't go hungry...only issue is breakfast buffet closes at 1030am which forced us to get out of bed earlier than would have wanted..they should extend it to 11...beach and pool have many chairs and setup staff and bar staff were pleasant and efficient..never waited more than a minute to get setup with a chair and never more than 5 mins for waitress to bring drink. Fanicular elevator system was a little slow but golf cart option was good alternative. Walking around grounds was a little tiring as grounds are big windey and on incline. Room service was quick and prices superrrr reasonable. Front desk was accommodating but seemed that every time we called with a question they had to call us back. Every time we had issue w room (ex mattress was a little stiff) they were st our door with a quick fix(mattress pad which made bed soo much better). Overall good/great stay. Beach was windy but cant blame hotel for that. Conceirge restaurant recos were good. Note wifi sucks so be prepared to have other option. Also bunaglow villa with private pool is nice but pools are hardly private.neighboring pools can see hear everything as can passer buyers. Overall would recommend this hotel as value is good/great. (still have two night here but this is review for now)

Room Tip: Nothing that Fanicular goes past if you want any privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharoni345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, General Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor after your recent visit to the Blue Palace.
I am delighted you had an overall positive experience on your first stay at our hotel and thank you for your recommendation. Feedback such as yours is a great motivator to our staff and we are most appreciative that you have taken the time to let us know. I very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming back on many more occasions.

Kind regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
2.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
10.2 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing