We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The beach here is beautiful and you can snorkel right off the dock. Spinalonga Island is a quick boat ride away and is a fascinating architechtural ruin. The Palace of Knossos, a surviving Minoan ruin is an hour away and it is easy to rent a car or book a tour. The resort is lovely and we could easily havd spent more than 4 days there. We were celebrating our 20th anniverary the the management made it a very special stay. We had a beautiful suite in the main building with a private pool and was the lap of luxury. Many thanks to Claire.

Room Tip: stay in the main building. Otherwise, you may need to call for a golf cart to take you to certain p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachDena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 20th anniversary at Blue Palace Resort & Spa and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We aim to provide the best possible service, going above and beyond our guest’s expectations.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,005
    355
    142
    59
    42
See reviews for
323
984
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Myslef and my boyfriend visited the Blue Palace for 10 days from the 27th September to the 7th October.The hotel was fantastic and the rooms luxurious and spacious. We were met on arrival and our bags were taken straight to our room while we were offered a glass of chilled water with lemon while we checked in. As Gold starwood preferred guests we were offered a choice of 'gifts' - free wifi connection for the duration of our stay, a welcome drink from the bar, or starwood points. We opted for the wifi connection which meant we could access the internet anywhere within the hotel however, all guests are able to access the internet for free from reception and the reception poolside bar.
We were also upgraded to a room with a private pool as the hotel was quiet. However lovely the private pool was, we didn't really use it as we spent most of our time at the communal pool either at the reception or down at the beach. The pool was very cold but in the height of summer i imagine this would be quite refreshing. The word 'private' is also misleading, the 'private' pools are definately not private and each is overlooked by its neighbours. Each evening our room was cleaned and tidied and complementary bottles of water were left in the mini bar. The bed linen isn't changed daily but you can request this by leaving a note for the maids.
The hotel is a large complex but is far from being an eyesore. It has clearly been carefully designed to blend into its natural surroundings. Because it is a large hotel, the use of the furnicular railway is a must to get to the beach area - it is quite slow and is annoying when you've just missed it but overall we didn't find it to be an issue... afterall, whats the rush, you're on holiday!
We found the beach bar nice for a drink after sunbathing all day but felt the food let it down considerably. The food is obviously prepared in the main hotel and shipped down to the bar where it is kept in the fridge all day meaning the bread on the sandwhiches became soggy. The reception bar is also lovely but very expensive, from memory it was about 19 euros for a club sandwhich (far better quality than the beach bar but still an extreme price for a sandwhich). I would recommend having the breakfast which kept us going until dinner time or walking in to Plaka and getting some bread and cheese which you can store in the fridge in your room - this way you can nip back to your room at lunch time for a quick snack and minimal cost!
The staff at the hotel were very attentive and friendly. The welcome drinks evening is also recommended, its not the usual thing where you get bullied into going on arranged trips, its simply some free drinks and nibbles round the pool with a pianist playing in the background.
Plaka is a lovely little village about 5 minutes walk away. The prices here are better although the restaurants are obviously aware of the 5* hotel next door and the prices reflect this. There are plenty of restaurants (mostly seafood) on the sea front around here and a couple of tavernas if you just want a snack or a drink.
You can get a taxi to Elounda from the hotels reception for 7 euros each way. Elounda is quite a pretty little square with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants which caters for varying clientele and their wallets.
We enjoyed our stay so much we Skyped my parents half way through our holiday and persuaded them to get a last minute flight and join us. They came for 7days and spent their forst 3 with us. My parents are well travelled and have stayed in some of the most superior hotels in the world, even they were impressed and said they would return! I would definatley visit the Blue Palace again but next time I would be prepared and take some extra cash along!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the furnicular or you will be overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review on your stay at the Blue Palace.
Feedback is very important to us in order to improve and we gratefully take all comments on board.
It is great to learn from each of our guest’s experiences and your review highlights in a very effective way the areas you truly enjoyed, as well as those we need to focus on improving. Your rewarding comments regarding the service of our staff are much appreciated and have been passed on to all our teams.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Blue Palace. It is great to know that you would consider visiting us again and I look forward to welcoming you and your parents back to our resort.


Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Right on the arrivel to the resort we ware overwhelmed from the resort, one of the most stylish, clean and beautiful resorts. The glass lift that brings you to the beach, the staff that is willing to do anything to please you. The variety of the restaurants, even the shopping... Everything was nothing but perfect. Recommended with all the worm words. Super

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drporat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

I truly thank you for your excellent feedback as I can tell that we have achieved our aim in satisfying all of your expectations in terms of high level of service and views.
I then look forward to welcoming you back soon at Blue Palace Resort & Spa.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a week in mid October. After a challenging year we just wanted wanted to get away for week, do absolutely nothing and relax in beautiful surroundings - Blue Palace was the perfect choice. We chose a room with a private pool and stunnings views of Spinalonga Island opposite. The bay where Blue Palace is located is beautiful and quiet - just what we needed. The hotel, facilities, customer service and food were all great and the staff were fantastic. We ventured into Elounda one night and also found the people there to be very warm and hospitable.

In many of the reviews, Blue Palace is described and "almost perfect" and I would be inclined to agree. The only negatives from our perspective were that; as we went slightly out of season; the water in the swimming pools was freezing cold. The one nearest the beach was OK but the other 2 are supposed to be heated - and they weren't. This did put a lot of people off from going in them. Also the viewing entertainment package in the rooms could be improved to provide more universal appeal in terms of the movies and programme "bundles" available.

I would also definately recommend a private transfer from the airport. We spoke to people who had got a coach and took them over 2 hours to get to Elounda after all the other hotel drop offs. A private transfer takes approximately 50 minutes and is money well spent.

Overall - we would definately go back. We feel like we have found a little bolt hole to escape to that is within 4 hours flight of the UK.

Room Tip: If you travelling out of season and want a private pool, I would select a room with a heated pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarmerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is fantastic to read that you had such a lovely week with us and thank you for your glowing remarks regarding the hotel and location.
Your kind comments about our team are very much appreciated and they were delighted to have contributed to the positive impression of you Blue Palace visit.
I look forward to having you back in our resort on your next escape to Crete.


Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this palace for 2 days with my boyfriend..if we could we would like to stay about 1 month there!it was just perfect!!!First,the room... with the private pool, the comfortable bed, big bathroom and guest room.Everyday and evening the clean ladies came to our room and did a very well job! Secondly, the customer service from the receptionists and the guest relation lady was excellent with smile and helpfulness every time that we needed!After, we found flame and blue door 2 excellent restaurants with fresh, perfect cooked meals!Not at all touristic..just greek-cretan perfect food!At the restaurants the staff was very pleasant and every time available to service you!Finally ,we had a rakotherapy massage at the spa...we relaxed and of course we didn t want this dream to finish!Generaly , this hotel was a perfect choose for relaxed and romantic holidays..i suggest it to every couple that wants to get away from it all!Congratulation guys you do a perfect job!

Room Tip: choose a room with private pool and at the new building af the hotel!it worths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and fantastic comments about the Blue Palace. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was our great pleasure to look after you and I am thrilled that you enjoyed so much your time here.
I have passed your praise to the team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback and this serves as a great motivator in maintaining the high standards we pride ourselves on.
I do hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort for another relaxing and unforgettable experience.


Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel feeling we made a very good decision to stay there.
This is without doubt a luxury hotel with top quality service.

The location is perfect as far as the views from the hotel out on to the sea and the bay are concerned. The views from the room and most parts of the hotel are sensational and breathtaking, inducing a very relaxing effect.

The staff are very helpful, courteous and keen to provide you with whatever you need, from the reception people and the beach towel man to the security guard at the hotel entrance who provided a wave when we were entering or leaving.

We stayed in a Superior Bungalow which is not really a bungalow, but is nevertheless an impressive room, very well appointed, very clean with great shower and bath facilities and sumptuous towels. The bed was very comfortable(and vast). The room could probably stand a little more drawer space - just one or two would be useful. A useful balcony with a table and 2 chairs. However I felt the fantastic view, when sat down, was somewhat obscured by the trellis balcony front which would have been better in a transparent material(glass?).
This may sound nit picking but the Sat TV only offered BBC world for UK guests and the only other channel - BBC entertainment(BBC1?) was not working the whole time of our stay.
A great touch was in providing 2 free bottles of water each day for the fridge. A trouser press should really be must have in a hotel of this quality.

The hotel restaurants are scattered about. The Flame(grills) and Isola(Italian) restaurants are accessed by using the funicular which is no problem I found and a bit of a novelty(but maybe less so in the busy months). We used the Flame on the first night and had steaks which were in themselves good but not served very imaginatively. I would prefer my food served on a hot plate rather than a wooden platter. Potatoes and vegetable were not up to standard at all.
Also the glass of wine measure in this restaurant was piddling compared to the other restaurants.
The Isola Italian restaurant was the most disappointing of all. We ate there on 2 nights and concluded the food(chef?) was mediocre especially for a hotel of this standard.
The Asian restaurant (Japanese, Polynese, Chinese,Thai) was surprisingly good and there was enough variety to eat here several times we thought.

One issue with the restaurants is that a bottle of water costs over 5 Euros. This seems excessive even for a top quality hotel. 3 Euros is plenty.

Breakfasts were excellent and were to look forward to. Not just the food but the view!

Out and about there is a village(Plaka) within 10 minutes walk. One or two restaurants there but they did not look too inviting to be honest; could be wrong they may be OK.

Elounda village is much bigger and livelier(but not brash) but will take a good half an hour as a leisurely walk.
Elounda is quite vibrant with lots of bars and restaurants and we drove to it most days for a lunchtime beer.

Overall, and Isola restaurant notwithstanding, we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back again at this time of year. This is a luxury hotel that lives up to its name.

Room Tip: Probably best to make sure you are not in a room next to the funicular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel and I am pleased that our location provided a relaxing effect to your stay.
I was also very happy to read that you were taken good care of, as our teams are dedicated to providing the highest levels of customer service and go out of their way to ensure that all our guests have a truly memorable experience.
Despite I was very happy to read that you really liked the Asia Blue and the breakfast buffet, it was a shame we did not fully meet your expectations in all the other restaurants. I have taken your comments on board for future review.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Blue Palace and I look forward to your next visit to our hotel for a truly perfect experience.


Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I went for just two days. Everything was magic, the place, the view, the food, the room, the swimming pool,the spa, the people. A place where you can relax, enjoy the sun with a warm service. Next time in Crete I'll stay more days in thiw really beautiful resrt Hotel!

Room Tip: Try the apts near the main building, you will not need a transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikos29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sotikre, Manager at Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your glowing review and inspiring comments of your recent but short experience with us.
Needless to say, I have already passed on your compliments about our staff to all the teams who were very pleased to receive them and know that they took good care of you.
It is always our pleasure to have you with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Blue Palace on a longer visit.

Best regards,

Sotiris Kremastiotis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
3.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
2.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
6.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete

Property: Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Address: | P.O. Box 38, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Elounda
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the wild beauty and unrivalled island style of a bohemian luxe resort with emblematic sea views, crystal clear waters, sparkling infinity pools, world class cuisine and bespoke services. All this combined with the resort's beach experience create a unique setting , where time seems to stand still. Blue Palace, a setting of wild grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palace Resort And Spa
Blue Palace Hotel Elounda
Blue Palace Resort & Spa
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing