We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People make places, 4 star hotel - 5 star staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Breeze Resort
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Forest Row, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“People make places, 4 star hotel - 5 star staff!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a gem of a place to find. The rooms are great, the surroundings are great and the breakfasts were great, all of this you might just expect of this 4 star establishment. The real surprise was the friendliness of ALL the staff and the hospitality given. It is such a pleasure to be looked after by people who clearly enjoy their jobs and whose aim is to make your stay as pleasent as possible. Good beach swimming, good indoor pool and good outdoor pool!!

Thank you one and all at Elounda Aqua Sol for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    211
    105
    64
    19
See reviews for
177
241
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had to think about this one! Come on do you really expect to get a 4 star in Elounda for this money. Don’t kid yourself ,expect to pay up to £800 sterling, a night for a good 4 star AI.( Rant Over).

A big thank you, to Marta, Joseph, Anna and all the other very good staff who are 4star ,in making our holiday an enjoyable one. Can not complain, 2 weeks in October, all inclusive, for very little money and fantastic weather, 30 + nearly every day. What’s already been said can not be disputed; the white wine was good the beer was good but the other all inclusive drinks were based on availability and a limited menu. Food quality acceptable, not real bacon and be prepared for the shock and horror of the Latvians etiquette.

The Reception and the dining room were very nice and comfortable. Hotel bedroom on the first floor was also nice and clean. The lower pool was good with plenty of sun lounges the top pool could do with some TLC and the retractable canopy looked dangerous, especially for young children (the runners for the canopy and tiles missing). The Sea Pool FANTASTIC but rubbish beach you have to see it to believe it. Don’t forget your snorkel, more fish in this locality than the rest of the Mediterranean. The rest of the hotel and grounds are under utilised with some areas requiring restoration (especially the sea pool area dangerous in places), the chapels are really nice especially on a night .

The entertainment was limited, a Greek night and an exotic dancer’s night, but missed due to a very large brandy, thanks Marta. The walk to Elounda is about 35-45 mins but very easy going ,no hills. Elounda harbour excellent, Plaka worth a visit then walk back into Elounda, Visit to Agios Nikolaos is also well worth it on the bus for 3.5 euros.

One last thing! This is not a beach holiday resort, limited beaches with poor sand quality. Best beach probably in Agios Nickolaos. Elounda is a great destination for walking and swimming in the sea. The people of Crete are very friendly, Spinalonga is the main draw for Elounda

Room Tip: ask for a pool and sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mdfhuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first holiday in crete and we were so pleased we chose Elounda. The hotel is very good value for money,staff really freindly and helpful and the food was varied and tasty. Choice of breakfast was good , full english ( not really bacon but close) lots of fresh fruit, cereal
Try the pastry which looks like apple custard type strudel my husband loved it, hence his weight increase.
Rooms are basic , but everthing we needed, we had one in the hotel, not a bungalow it was very clean,maid service every day and a fantastic sea view. The walk to Elounda from the hotel is fine just after dinner , but seems to take forever on the way back after a few drinks,good for the figure though.
If you are thinking of renting a scooter or motorbike try Elounda bike rentals as you walk from the hotel into elounda town centre it is on the right hand side. See ( Bill ) thats his english name,we rented a 700cc Trans alp motorbike for 5 days at a vey good price,great to see the
places you wouldn,t normally get to. Bill will give you a map and if you ask he will advise on good places to see. Warning if your husband likes to frighten you the roads on the mountains are very bendy, just shout bend in his ear before you get to it.
The weather was glorious ( holiday began Tuesday 2nd October)
Try the island next to Spinalonga you can get to it over the causeway,lots of places to sunbathe,great for snorkling or just take in the beathtaking views. Take water with you though.
Definately a place to return to next year

Room Tip: Sea view on first floor overlooking pool was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I are writing this review on our final night at the Elounda Aqua Sol Resort. It has been our first trip to Greece and Crete. My wife is 6 months pregnant. We can happily say this hotel offers everything needed for a relaxing and peaceful break in the sun.

We booked a 7-night break, half board, through Co-op Travel- to spend time in the sun before the baby comes. It has been absolutely ideal.

We were lucky with the weather.October temps are usually 22 degrees, but every day has been 27 + and sometimes touching 30.

The hotel is a four star resort on the outskirts of Elounda - a small fishing village in a low lying part of Crete's North East coast close to Agios Nikolas. If you are used to Marriott/Hilton 4 star, then you may think the hotel's grading is generous. For Greek standards,the hotel is comfortable, very clean and well looked after.

The beds are firm by UK standards, however, we slept great and the rooms have fridges, baths (on the small side),showers and good air con. Plus, the balcony was a pleasant place to sit and read in the early evening.

Rooms are cleaned daily and fresh towels and sheets provided daily.The chambermaids,and all hotel staff are v.friendly.

There are two pools, and both are a good size. In early October, we didn't encounter any sunbed wars. The main pool is by the Sailor's Bar,open 10am till 5pm, but if you don't like EuroPop(read venga boys) or Greek Folk Music, then the quieter and emptier upper pool is probably more for you. That's where we relaxed.

There is also a highly reasonable mini market about 250m from the resort on the road to Elounda. Great for water and supplies.

The Food!! - on half board - we found it to be very good. Breakfast is a typical mix of continental (ham, cheese,rolls, pastries, yoghurt,cake,salads) and hot food (Cretan sausage, fried ham, eggs,potatoes etc). You can eat as much as you like. The coffee is excellent but if you like good tea - bring a few bags of your own.

Drinks are a reasonable price 3 euro for a pint of Mythos, 4 for a glass of Red, soft drinks at 2euro.

We found it worth waiting till 8-8:30 before going for dinner as the rush starts at 7.

The only drawback at the hotel is that it is favoured by Russians and Eastern European tourists (lithuanians) and we didn't find them the friendliest or most considerate people to share a hotel/pool with. We Brits seem to be in the minority when it comes to waiting our turn or being civil in a queue.

There are lots of good things to do locally. Spinalonga Island (10 euro per person boat trip)is a must, to explore the former leper colony popularised in Victoria Hislop's "The Island."

The "sunken city"of Olous is less special but worth killing an hour on,if you have a snorkel you can explore the sunken ruins off the shoreline. There is a nice little taverna there too.

In Elounda itself,seek out the traditional "Kafenio's" or cafe's,where the locals eat and drink.

They are much more interesting than the tourist bars and you meet some interesting characters. Rather than eat in the overpriced sea front restaurants, like Lotus Eaters (recommended #1 onTrip Advisor) try the small snack bars, like Fresco's - opposite the church off the main square, where the Chicken Souvlaki is 2.50 euro and to die for.

Also, the beach in Elounda is a lovely place to wile away a day. Clean, safe and cheap at 2 euro for a sunbed.If you need to catch Premier League football,Babel Bar is awesome, and you get well looked after. There are up to 4 games shown at once.

Big tip, bring plenty ofsun cream. A bottle can cost you upto 20 euro in the Greek shops and pharmacies.

On the whole, the Greek people were lovely and extremely welcoming and friendly, and spoke English very well. Prices are fair despite the country's economic difficulties, so please support the local businesses. The taxis are only 6euro from resort to Elounda.

We would certainly recommend it and would come back in future. We lazedin the sun but there is so much more to see and do in Crete.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BelmontMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We returned a few days ago from 2 weeks in Aqua Sol, from Sept 17 to Oct 1. We paid extra for sea view and had smallish but adequate and quiet room overlooking the gardens and with a view of the sea and comfortable balcony. Everything was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

We were a little apprehensive before we arrived as we are 80 and we were worried at the comments of 'unsuitable for people with walking difficulties' Also some reviewers made us feel that we should need mountain boots to get down to the jetty which is the sea bathing platform! In fact the steps to the main pool were easily avoidable as we preferred the higher quiet pool and there was an excellent paved road down to the swimming jetty, no problem at all, a short walk, although we used our commonsense and did not return up the short hill until the late afternoon when temperatures were cooler. The sea swimming was wonderful with good ladders into the sea and a round sea pool also The views of the bay and the mountains sweeping down into the water were unforgettable! The highlight of our holiday was the sea swimming and the wonderful scenery.

There are plenty of umbrellas around the 2 hotel pools but it would be nice to have more umbrellas down by the swimming jetty. Also we took our own water and snacks down to the swimming jetty as there is only a snack/drinks machine there - and indeed there was no bar working for the quiet pool which we preferred, and we had to go to the bar and restaurant by the larger pool .Not far though.

Food was varied and good, but very un-English apart from breakfast, which was superb for English palates. All staff very friendly and helpful. For elderly people such as ourselves, it was too far to walk into Elounda in the heat, but there was a bus provided by the various hotels which was about 3 euros and a taxi was only 6, and became our preferred transport. We enjoyed Spinalonghi (the leper island) so much that we went 3 times (once free!) from Elouanda in the smaller boats (rather than the big expensive excursions from Aighia Nicholas)for the refreshing sea air, the wonderful views and the history and the walks. And we bought Victoria Hislop's book 'The Island' from the excellent bookshop in Elounda! We also had fun on the Happy Train and the Blue Train for wonderful drives up into the hills and to see tiny villages and archeological sites. No Tourist Office when we were there, but the English Manager of the Travel Agency opposite the Square is a helpful and willing supplier of information..

We got to Knossos on an excellent organised excursion, and a wonderful monastery/convent and across the high plains. We would recommend hiring a car to explore the countryside: we alas are too old to be allowed to hire a car.

Aqua Sol is excellent value for money: very quiet at night too: we hope to go again! My husband says it is the best holiday he has ever had! By the way, it is next to a famous 5-star hotel: you get in essence the same scenery, view, swimming ,gardens etc and reasonable food but for half the price... or less.. .All the guests of several nationalities were very friendly. Happy Holidays to all!

Room Tip: Would recommend higher rooms with balcony in the main building with view over the gardens and sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joycepollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have just spent 10 wonderful days in the sun at the Aqua Sol Resort at Elounda on an all inclusive basis. It would be demeaning and uncalled for to dwell on what all inclusive should or does not include but it was disappointing not to have orange juice included, that said the positives were hotel location, our room on the second floor overlooking Spinalonga, the causeway and the sea. This room was well cleaned, daily change of linen and comfortable twin beds. The rooms were very quiet and a good night sleep was obtained The restaurant provided good quality and a varied menu on all days. The restaurant staff were friendly attentive and diligent in providing good service and food. The bar staff made conversation with all and worked hard to provide a location to have an enjoyable drink. This hotel hosts a number of nationalities and is not limited to just the British I am pleased to say, and the animation entertainment team encouraged all to take part it may not have been British oriented but neither should have been. The pool beside the bar was enjoyed on our first four days until we discovered the hotel beach which had marvellous views of the island and across the bay. The water was particularly clear giving views of the abundant fish within. I read with interest previous comments and would only say do not prejudge as I initially did but if you go with open mind wanting to enjoy and not wanting to find fault this hotel will only enhance your stay in a wonderful area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank acwtag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I travelled to the Elounda Aqua Sol in mid September and had a pleasant week but we concur with quite a few other reviewers about the negative points that have been raised. I particularly take issue with the brochure description which is bordering on contravening the trades description act! It says 'close to the stunning beach' but the 'beach' is a concrete pad with some sandy gravel in patches. It also says one pool is heated but the water in both pools was very cold (albeit refreshing once in). It also says that the rooms are 'recently renovated and luxuriously furnished' but we stayed on the second floor of the main hotel (rather than one of the chalet bungalows) and our room was tired, small and with an even smaller bathroom.

The room lacked even a kettle and paying E20 for a safe when all-inclusive is just a shameful rip-off. We were glad we had it as twice we returned to our room after the maid had finished to find our door just pulled to and not locked. The food was reasonable although the meat was fairly tasteless and looked like cheap cuts. The wine was definitely watered down, in fact I wondered if it contained any alcohol at all. Fruit juices etc. were all extra, again, making a mockery of 'all-inclusive'.

Unless you were French the evening entertainment was a non-event and the constant music by the pool next to the sailors bar made this a no no for us and we stayed by the other pool which was a lot quieter and more relaxing. The bar area looked just like a British Social Club and had no atmosphere. They even ran out of large beer glasses on two evenings by 9pm.

To balance the down side with some good things. The view from our balcony was lovely, there was plenty of hot water and the beds were comfortable. In the restaurant the staff were friendly and very helpful. The salads were also very good with the best tomatoes I have ever had in the Med. The Greek yoghurt and honey was also a favourite as was the lovely fresh baked bread. The hotel and the pools were very clean but its missold as a four star resort.

The holiday was relaxing and the people friendly. The walk into the village wasn't too onerous and a taxi was only E6. The island grew on us as the week progressed and felt very safe. So I would cheerfully give the actual holiday a four rating but can only give the resort two out of five as its charging four star prices for a three star establishment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fisherking59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#17 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Elounda Water Park Residence
1.3 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Breeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Breeze Resort

Property: Elounda Breeze Resort
Address: 10 km north of Ayios Nicolaos, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece (Formerly Elounda Aqua Sol Resort)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Breeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly branded hotel is located in the luxury seaside resort of Elounda, 10 km north of the cosmopolitan and impressive town of Agios Nikolaos. The marvelous views of the famous Mirabello Bay, crystal clean waters and breathtaking surrounding combined with the well-known VITA HOTELS high standard services provided with quality and smile, ensure to our guests unforgettable moments in this splendid resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elounda Breeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Aqua Sol Hotel Elounda
Aqua Sol Elounda
Elounda Aqua Sol Resort
Elounda Breeze Resort Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing