We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tasmania Village
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Selena(Agia Galini)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aristea(Elounda)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
95
50
14
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
50
14
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barself cateringaustralian accentgreek ladyair conlong balconyearly morning arrivalworth every stepgreat holidayspinalonga islandwell lit at nightstunning viewsminute walk into eloundaeverything you could possibly needpleasant walkstudio apartmentstar accommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 183 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here with my partner last week of August 1st week of September, rooms are very basic, small kitchenette and cutlery which was more than enough as we ate out most nights, we had two single beds which i didn't understand as i made it clear we were a couple! The view was very very nice and the best part was the stars at night!!! Absolutely mind blowing. the pool area was always kept clean even though there were bugs and flies which died and fell in but that was always cleared up! Anna was very lovely to us and very helpful however the real Gem of Tasmania has to be Sharon, we had our room cleaned 3 times in two weeks which was enough! she is very friendly and always has a smile on her face!! Thank you Sharon. Food and drink prices i felt were higher than in the village of Elounda, a Mythos beer is charged at 2 euros 80 however in Elounda it can be purchased for 1 euro. we visited Plaka which is a 40 minute walk and also Voullisma Beach in Agios which was fantastic. all in all a pleasant stay but i think Tasmania is more suited to older couples not anyone in their 20's early 30's unless you are visiting with a parent etc

Room Tip: we stayed in room 14, near the entrance with great viewsof the sea and Spinalonga Island and also avoiding the steep hill
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itsallgood87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Following a glowing recommendation from a friend my wife and I stayed at Tasmania Village for one week in late July/early August 2013.

The accommodation is basic but refreshingly honest, warm water, clean towels, spot less rooms, balcony with a fantastic view of the bay, etc. For the money we were more than happy.

The pool was clean, deep and cooling on a raised deck looking over the bay - what a breathtaking view and at night time the stars were amazing! But the best part of the pool/bar area were Maria and George the owners. They were both there from 9am until you decided you want to go to bed. Maria is a brilliant cook and never stops working. She is funny, genuine and bright and helpful, it is honestly a bit like having a friend in Crete.

The complete opposite to most of the holiday reps we have encountered, Maria and George really care about their guests. Maria will point you in the right direction, tell you the best bits, the bad bits, where to eat, the best beaches, recipes, stories, local history, taxi’s, etc. We must also mention Sharon and Anna who were also fantastic hosts.

Our fellow guests Cathy & John and Susan & Trevor kept us entertained - after all it the people that make a holiday special. At the end of the day when you walk up the steep driveway and hear laughter around coming from the bar it does feel a bit like you’re coming home.

Elounda is beautiful and a great base to explore northeast Crete. If you want gated five star luxury with your own helipad and infinity pool - there is an amazing place down the road called the Elounda Bay Resort where rooms can cost more than £1000 a night.

But if you want a clean, friendly and affordable place with something special we reckon you can’t do much better than Tasmania Village. It’s a real gem!

Room Tip: To save you the climb book a room at the front of the complex. They still have stunning views from the balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0B2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a week here Sept 2013 with my daughter (22). We were not expecting luxury so the accommodation was fine - we had a studio which was small with no frills - typical Greek, in fact.
The studio was spotlessly clean when we arrived after a 3 1/2 hr journey from the airport. Booked accommodation and coach transfers through Alpha Rooms, who stated that the transfer was '1 hr 50 mins depending on drop offs' - well we had dozens of drop offs in various corners of the coastline! (Luckily it only took 2 hours on the return journey).
Our studio had a long balcony which had a gorgeous side-sea view.
The kitchenette was not very well equipped, but this did not matter as we only had breakfast there and ate out the rest of the time. (Also,Tasmania does nice breakfasts and snacks at the pool bar for a reasaonable price).
The bathroom was what you normally get in Greece - corner shower, basin & loo - and also provided with a mop, bucket and broom! The reason for this became apparent when we discovered there was no cleaning or change of towels/linen at all during our stay - nor were the bins emptied. However this was the only fault we could find with the accommodation, certainly a change of towels should have been provided.
There was a safety deposit box in the room (at a charge), and also air con was available at a charge, although we managed without it.
The Tasmania is built on a steep hill and there are lots of steps. The walk into Elounda takes about 25-30 mins, but this is flat and by the sea so is very pleasant. It is fairly well lit at night, too. High heels not advisable as the paths are 'crazy paved'.
The nearest supermarket is 15 - 20 mins walk.
The pool area is clean, generally quiet and with magnificent views. The pool itself is small but lovely. There were always plenty of sunloungers when we were there.
Anna our host was very friendly and helpful. Most of the other guests seemed to be repeat visitors who knew each other and the family, but the atmosphere was always pleasant.
To get to Elounda meant turning right out of the apts. Once there, the choice of tavernas/restaurants was incredible. We had lunch at Ellie's a few times. Her gyros/pitta are the best we have ever had. In the evenings we tried a selection of restaurants - the nearest to the Apts is Espina which was very nice and gave us lush cake on the house - but the most memorable were Okeanis (lovely night-time views, very peaceful) and Olondi (more amongst the bustle of the town, very friendly staff)
There were various curious shops to browse in the town - it was neither full of touristy tat nor rediculously priced designer stuff, so was enjoyable.
There are frequent trips to Spinanlonga, which we did not do as we had already been there on a prvious holiday, also the Happy Train enables you to explore the local area.
if you turn left out of the Apts and walk for about half an hour, you will come to Plaka, a very small resort with a few tavernas and some lovely little arty shops. Definitely worth a leisurely stroll.
Overall this was a fantastic holiday - nice and relaxing.
PS after a few hours by the pool a glass of the house rose wine is delicious - a large glass, full to the brim only costs 1 Euro 50!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissypp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed hear for my 50th birthday with my 70 year old mother and 80 year old friend. We had number 23 1st apartment passed pool.one bedroom with queen bed and 2single beds in the kitchen area. That was fine however the bedroom does not have a window so got very hot and had to sleep with the door open all night which did not give any privacy. Also the only wardrobes and drawers were in the bedroom which was akward when my friend and mother were in and out of the room every 5 minutes. The apartment was self catering however there was no kettle, no toaster and no microwave, limited utilities so cooking even basic breakfast was a struggle! I can live with these issues but my main gripe was the hospitality of the proprietor Anna. She didn't introduce herself on our arrival and everything seamed too much trouble. I know many of the reviews are good all I can say is our faces obviously didn't fit. Elounda was stunning and I fell in love with the place. We ate out every night and didn't have one bad meal. In fact the only meal I could complain about was my birthday breakfast of beans on toast at Tasmania. The thick white bread was hard and unbuttered and the beans luke warm. On the last day i ordered taksiki and was brought just that, no bread or anything to dip in it, when I asked Anna if it came with anything she said "you never asked". This was true however I naturally assumed when ordering a dip it would come with something to actually dip in it, besides we were given complimentary breads in all the restaurants we had been in all week. Despite Anna knowing it was my 50th there was no special fuss made unlike the many fantastic restaurants that bent over backwards with cake and complimentary drinks to make my birthday special and memorable. The pool was clean but small with one side very shallow so was difficult to swim in as you could feel the floor before you reached the end. All in all the apartments were a good base and did the job at a reasonable price. We had a fabulous time in Elounda and will certainly be going back but not to tasmania. Be warned the hill is more like a mountain, I was glad of the exercise but my mum and friend had to have a taxi every night which some refused to go up the hill so make sure if you need a taxi they will take you to the top before you book.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Lovely pool area. The host Anna will make you very welcome indeed. Our apartment is lovely and clean and suites our needs. The views are stunning across the bay , it really does have that wow factor. It's a 20 to 25 min walk to the restaurants/ elounda square which is along a lit footpath.
Note...... some apartments are up a bit of a slope and the climb may not suit everyone but there are some rooms lower down which you can request via Anna if available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartH330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews