We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A loveley family atmosphere and a week enjoyed by all”
Review of Tasmania Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tasmania Village
Certificate of Excellence
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A loveley family atmosphere and a week enjoyed by all”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We came back to Tasmania Village after calling in during a stay in Crete at the 5 Star Peninsular All Suites resort. Maria, George, Anna and Manoli were just as we had remembered them 15 years before. The accommodation has been updated and was clean and comfortable with views that a 5 star hotel would struggle to better.
Joined by my sister in law and their children and my husband, we all had a wonderful time on the beach, sightseeing and around the clean and safe pool area. Anna cooked us some loveley lunches and the pool bar is ideal for a glass of cool beer or wine in the shade. Elounda is a 20 minute walk from Tasmania but the pavements and lighting make it very safe. We have booked to return again in October for another week!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithys__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    13
    14
    8
See reviews for
38
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Very nice apartments at the best location in elounda!!!our room was very clean.great sea views of spinalonga island and the golf of elounda.located only 20 minute walk from elounda, 5 minute in taxi.the fresh water pool was excellent,cleaned every night by george and the snack bar was also good with nice food coocked by maria.they were both very pleasant and made us feel very welcome from day one. I will definatelly go back... Till then γεια σου!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor I was quite nervous about staying at the Tasmanian Village and we were the only people dropped off from the airport there. I shouldn't have worried we had a fabulous room overlooking views that money just couldn't buy. Yes there are a lot of steps but we were warned but it was worth every step. The resort centre is about 1.5 miles away but a fabulous walk especially if you've eaten too much. The place is friendly, restaurants good, weather hot, but buses slow and late. you can't have it all. Would go back tomorrow.
We met great people everyone was so very friendly

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evosLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voddiegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

I first stayed at the "Taz" in 2008 with my teenage daughters. As a single mum, it is a perfect place to holiday, always felt included and looked after. We had such a brilliant time that we are returning very shortly. I am staying for a month this time to combine a holiday with study, and I am like a child on Christmas Eve, I cannot wait!

We made some good friends last time we were there, some holiday makers, some ex-pats and of course, Sharon and the Amariokakis family! Looking forward to seeing everyone again.

Make sure you take a trip to the open air cinema in Aghios Nikolias, snorkel at Olous, take time to understand Spinalonga, and marvel at the Minoan palaces and villas.

If Crete is heaven, then the Taz is home! xxx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voddiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Apartment basic but adequate for our needs, nice and clean. The pool area is spotless, Anna (owner) and her family very warm and welcoming, passionate that her guests enjoy their stay, also very informative. Anna cooks lovely meals at the pool side bar reasonably priced, good value. Beautiful views from the apartments and pool area. Our stay was enhanced as we met a lovely family who had stayed at Tasmania many times and kindly shared their knowledge of local area with us, they took us through nearby tiny Greek village, very pretty and then a drive up the mountains for breathtaking views. Elouda Town only 20min walk away, a most pleasant walk as lovely views right along. We would definitely recommend Tasmainia Village for a great holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshineWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Tasmania Village. This was my partner & my first time in Crete but our friends have been twice before . We thought the location was perfect as we were in a studio on the front facing the sea , the view was stunning ! The studio was quite compact but had plenty storage space for clothes , the fridge needed updating as didn't keep food very cold and air con was a necessity. The pool area was good and very clean with plenty sun beds and umbrellas, Anna did some great food and snacks , cooked food was always piping hot . The only downside was the steep hill to the pool but there was the option of taking the stairs .
The walk into Elounda was about 20 mins on the flat alongside the sea or 5 euros in a taxi . If swimming in the sea out front of Tasmania Village you need to wear croks or flip flops as there were a alot of stones and sometimes sea urchins .
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again in the future .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2010

One of the friendliest places we have visited. The number of people visiting for the umpteenth time a great advert. It was a particularly hot time and the extra charge for air con was well worth paying. Anna who runs it virtually single handed for 3 months is delightful - cheerful, friendly and informative. ( her sister in law takes over for the remaining 3 months of the season). Being Greek Australian means no language problems. Sharon who looks after the appartments, originally from Leeds and married to a Greek, is an absolute hoot. Elounda is 20 mins walk away and has plenty of excellent eating places several of which are on the harbour waterside. For a quiet relaxing break it takes some beating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McElherans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
178 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.4 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.1 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 35 in Elounda
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tasmania Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasmania Village

Property: Tasmania Village
Address: Mouzaki, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tasmania Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tasmania Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tasmania Village Elounda, Crete
Tasmania Village Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing