We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Selena Hotel - Ultimate getaway”
Review of Selena Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Selena Village
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Choosing Kreta for our summer vacation was an easy choice, but deciding on the resort we would be booking wasn’t. There is a selection of 3-4 hotels that really look stunning. I must say that I can’t imagine them being more beautiful and relaxing than Selena Hotel Elounda! We booked normal standard room which was perfect in every sense. The room was a good size with a terrace over an amazing full of flowers garden! The hotel’s customer service, gym, Bar and restaurants were excellent… This is the kind of place you go to relax, move around as little as possible and enjoy picture perfect view of Spinalonga!!! Strongly recommended! Absolutely loved the location in Elounda, the fifteen minutes walk to Elounda's village, where we had some of the most beautiful local food. The layout of the Hotel was truly amazing and the buffet variety at the restaurant. was excellent. Breakfast was also great. Staff were so accommodating & helpful in every way, from checking in to housemaids this is certainly a 4star experience and would recommend it to anyone wanting a truly nice quite vacation experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Selena Hotel during July 2013. We booked a standard room through expedia. We had a warm welcome at our really very late arrival 2am. The man in the reception help us with our luggage's. Our room was on the top of the hill, was clean and spacious with direct view of Spinalonga fortress island. Selena Hotel its a cozy resort and easy to get around. The pool and beach area is very nicely maintained and there are lots of sun beds to choose. The lady from the reception arrange a water taxi service to Spinalonga which is definitely worth visiting. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The staff at that restaurant were fabulous, so helpful and friendly and accommodating of everything we wanted. Selena is just 2km from Elounda and almost the same distance from the small village of Plaka, so it is easy to eat out if you want to. Would definitely recommend this resort for relaxing holidays, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed in Selena on July this year and i have to say that i was expecting a higher value of services for such a high cost per night! Rooms are far below what advertized, room view doesn't really exist, dirty bathroom with rotten plumping... In few words such room shouldnt cost more than 50euros/night. The interior needs desperately renovation. Also, one day i heard the cleaning lady talking on the phone with Mrs Christina (manager of the hotel) who was telling her to change only the towels only in the cases where it was really necessary because they didn't have enough!!! Last but not least, if you read the rest negative reviews in tripadvisor, you may note the totally impolite way with which Hotel Management replies. This is not what one would call "professional response".

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evans-780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena Hotel E, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Selena Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear quest,
all reviews by our guests are welcome, even those that are intended, to create the impression that the hotel, is by far below the expectations of a visitor during his booking.
You honestly know how much of your review obviously is not true.
You stayed in a two room studio with two terraces and a balcony.
The large terrace of the studio bedroom of yours, has unobstructed views of the bay of Elounda and Spinalonga, from the other terrace and balcony of your bedroom the view is also unique to the sea and the round pool.
The photos you posted show quite good the way you used the room offered to you.
You can very easily realize that the reviews of all our visitors disagrees with yours.
However we respect your opinion and review who gives us the opportunity to try even more to meet the expectations , especially of our Greek visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

the room was very dirty. there was a ball of hair and dust from the day we arrived since the day we left. we staid there for 4 days and the second day we had to call and ask for a housekeeper to come and clean the room because we find it in more dirty than we left it in the morning. the food quality was awful, the bed was very bad. and the only thing that realy worth is the amazing view of spinaloga!!!

Room Tip: dont stay in this hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena Hotel E, General Manager at Selena Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

This is a complete lie. The cleaning service is one of our best atut! Just be honest and say that you wanted a suite at the discounted price of a single standard room.

If you had asked politely you just might have gotten a free upgrade.

I suppose one could not satisfy everybody.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

In general we had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

The rooms were kept very clean. Our room was of a reasonable size with a balcony with sea view. The bathroom was also kept clean but was a little small.

The 2 pools were kept very clean but the water was FREEZING in July.

All other public areas were kept very clean and tidy.

All staff (apart from one) were always cheerful, polite and helpful.

Wifi was ok most of the week, but suddenly improved on the Wednesday. Thereafter it was excellent; I think they had a new system fitted.

An all important safe in the room. However, I have never seen a room safe operated with key, and have to wonder about the security of this. In the past I have always seem 'self select pass code' entry into room safes.

WARNING - The following are observations rather than complaints; you decide!

The hotel is approx a brisk 30 min walk to Elounda, with no nearer places to eat, apart from a couple of other hotels. The walk into Elounda is lovely. For most of it there is a safe causeway next to the sea. It is even nice when it gets dark. During our stay there was a few hundred metres of this causeway where the street lights were out.

The hotel is a brisk 45 mins walk in the other direction, to Plaka, with no nearer places to eat, apart from one or two hotels. There is no causeway here. There is some footpath but at times you walk along the road. I would not walk this in the dark. A few drivers drive along here far too fast (in my opinion) especially the Mercedes taxi's.

The bus service between hotel and elounder is very hit and miss; more miss than hit.

Taxi's - the best price for a taxi from Elounda to hotel is approx 6 euro;; about double what you would pay in UK for same distance. Most drivers will try to get 10 euros.

The hotel is laid out like a small village on a hillside. Consequently there is a Steep drive way that is approx 200 metres from road to furthest room; which ours was. It is a STEEP driveway!! The hotel reception is about 100 metres up the drive.

During our B & B stay, most of the other guests appeared to be Eastern European on 'all inclusive'. Not a problem in itself, but on this occasion we found basic manners from other guests, sadly lacking. For example - I step aside at the bottom of a stairway to allow a couple to walk down with their breakfast tray. There is no acknowledgment I am even on the same planet, let alone a thank you!

I had the feeling that we (the brits) were in a tiny minority, and appeared to be 2 f the few who were NOT on all inclusive; i don't even remember being offered it when we booked with Travel Republic

I have read reviews that said a kettle could be made available for use in your room if you asked. I DID ask and was told NO. Us Brits like our early morning cuppa !

The shower, in our room at least, was tiny. It was surrounded by a curtain. I am of average build, and I would have really struggled to have a shower if I was bigger. A larger body size would have pushed the curtain outside the tray and the rest of the bathroom would have been swimming with water. Very slippery.

The breakfast was Ok. A reasonable selection and plenty available. However, the fruit juice was very watered down; some mornings it was like cordial. Only one 2 slice toaster although I never had to wait; must be an English thing, the toast! Coffee machine delivered a variety of coffee, but very slow and frequently a queue.

We only had one other meal and that was Sunday night; a buffet dinner for 14 euro. We found this to be of a poor standard. For 14 euros you can eat much better in Elounda. We had a number of '3 course specials' priced at between 10 and 15 euro in Elounda. A WARNING - there is a small sign stating that the coffee and juice was not included in the meal price. Fair enough. However, on the Sunday we ate, the notice was tucked around the corner, and the staff who showed us the food available made no mention of this. During the meal I half filled 2 tiny glasses with juice and took them to our table; watered down juice, I may add, as it normally was. A microsecond later a waiter appeared with the bill for this - 6 euro's !! I was a little unhappy about this; not really the price, but the principle.
The outcome of this is that I settle my account on Monday night and enjoyed lovely walks and much better food away from the hotel. I NEVER purchased anything else from this hotel for the rest of our stay; not even a coffee. Maybe the act of a man with too many strict principles, but it forced us to enjoy lovely walks and lovely meals at a variety of different restaurants. From the hotels point of view, they lost a potential 200 - 300 euros we would probably have spent on other meals and drinks at the hotel

So these are the basics; you decide.

Wife's opinion as follows!

This hotel is OK. Very clean everywhere, fresh towels everyday and clean sheets during the week. We were on a B and B tariff and the breakfast was good, not wonderful but certainly adequate. The hotel is beautifully designed with all rooms having a different aspect as they are built on angles up the hill. It is very steep. Don't eat dinner at the hotel - there are much better offers in Elounda in terms of price and quality of the food (apart from breakfast) . A private beach is on the other side of the road - as they all are even if you pay the earth for the hotel - just a single row of sunbeds. Enough but no opportunities for people watching. All in all the Selena is good value but there is NOTHING to do here except laze around and the villages either side are a good 1/2 hour walk away.

Room Tip: The rooms are numbered from 100 something to 300 something. The higher the number the further up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Futuretraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Selena Village, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

SHORT BUT ENLIGHTING ANSWER

1) FREEZING POOL - 22 °C degrees (MINIMUM) in big pool 25 °C degrees in small (MINIMUM)
2) WIFI - depends on trafic
3) SAFE WITH KEY - the safest way
4) DISTANCE FROM ELOUNDA 800 m to the first Elounda house - my 80 years old mother walks there under 25 minutes
5) TAXI - no truth, 6 euros to Elounda, in London you can't even open the taxi door for this money
6) PUBLIC BUSES - truth - very bad service
7) HILL SIDE - as exactly and trully described at hotel's side
8) ALL INCLUSSIVE EASTERN EUROPEAN GUESTS - very offending - they are 50% of our guest, and some of them (as well as Brits, French, Swiss, Americans etc...) might be rude
9) SHOWER IN ROOM standard size 70x70 for standard room - some could always ask (and pay) for superior or higher room - I'm largly built and feet perfectly
10) THE BREAKFEST - this is not simple OK for 3 star hotel. I've been to many 5 stars hotels with not so reach breakfest. The finest quality of juices - NEVER watered down
11) COFFEE MACHINE 12 coffes per minute - if that is slow, then agree
12) LUNCH and DINNER - never seen buffet with free drinks - always payable - basics. 14 euro per person for full buffet (soup, appetizers, salads, main dishes, fruits and sweets) - as much as some wants to.. In Elounda you can eat at this price only fast food souvlaki (1 portion)

JUST ANOTHER POINT OF VIEW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had wonderful vacation at Selena Hotel. Amazing views from the rooms and the restaurant, great food and drinks and the staff that always go the extra mile for you. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday this is a great place. No games or loud music by the pool and this was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveller778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been there for one week vacation to go to the beaches and drive around for tourism. Really good hotel for bed&breakfast. Nice personnel at reception, ready to satisfy requests. Very nice surprise at arrival : a gift in each room (a heavy book with 365 photographs of Crete). The rooms are clean, towels changed even if not necessary. Very good breakfast with bacon, eggs, sweets, cereals, fruit, etc. We've checked the buffet restaurant only once at arrival (they were really kind to keep it open after closure to help us really late); unfortunately not all food were available at 22:30 but we think it obvious.

Room Tip: check if room dimension is dependent on price. The hotel is made of some small buildings close to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.5 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
2 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selena Village

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#17 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $65 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Selena Village 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selena Village Hotel is a family owned hideaway in the famous area of Elounda Crete. Located on a hillside, its’ 72 cozy rooms & suites offer views to the dazzling waters of the Mirabello Bay and the world famous Spinalonga island. Selena Hotel Village is the right choice for couples and families looking for a home away from home combining unique location and tranquil surroundings like being in a picturesque Cretan village. Just a few minutes away guests can also visit the typical greek tavernas or enjoy a cocktail during sunset.Elounda Hotel Selena Village is a boutique hotel that provides services to ensure a relaxing experience with comfort and quality: main restaurant, pool bar, three swimming pools, one tennis court, fitness center, sauna, church, beach, business corner, lounge corner, reception 24hrs/24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Selena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Village Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing