We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A long review but hopefully a VERY helpful one.”
Review of Selena Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Selena Village
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A long review but hopefully a VERY helpful one.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

In general we had a pleasant stay at this hotel.

The rooms were kept very clean. Our room was of a reasonable size with a balcony with sea view. The bathroom was also kept clean but was a little small.

The 2 pools were kept very clean but the water was FREEZING in July.

All other public areas were kept very clean and tidy.

All staff (apart from one) were always cheerful, polite and helpful.

Wifi was ok most of the week, but suddenly improved on the Wednesday. Thereafter it was excellent; I think they had a new system fitted.

An all important safe in the room. However, I have never seen a room safe operated with key, and have to wonder about the security of this. In the past I have always seem 'self select pass code' entry into room safes.

WARNING - The following are observations rather than complaints; you decide!

The hotel is approx a brisk 30 min walk to Elounda, with no nearer places to eat, apart from a couple of other hotels. The walk into Elounda is lovely. For most of it there is a safe causeway next to the sea. It is even nice when it gets dark. During our stay there was a few hundred metres of this causeway where the street lights were out.

The hotel is a brisk 45 mins walk in the other direction, to Plaka, with no nearer places to eat, apart from one or two hotels. There is no causeway here. There is some footpath but at times you walk along the road. I would not walk this in the dark. A few drivers drive along here far too fast (in my opinion) especially the Mercedes taxi's.

The bus service between hotel and elounder is very hit and miss; more miss than hit.

Taxi's - the best price for a taxi from Elounda to hotel is approx 6 euro;; about double what you would pay in UK for same distance. Most drivers will try to get 10 euros.

The hotel is laid out like a small village on a hillside. Consequently there is a Steep drive way that is approx 200 metres from road to furthest room; which ours was. It is a STEEP driveway!! The hotel reception is about 100 metres up the drive.

During our B & B stay, most of the other guests appeared to be Eastern European on 'all inclusive'. Not a problem in itself, but on this occasion we found basic manners from other guests, sadly lacking. For example - I step aside at the bottom of a stairway to allow a couple to walk down with their breakfast tray. There is no acknowledgment I am even on the same planet, let alone a thank you!

I had the feeling that we (the brits) were in a tiny minority, and appeared to be 2 f the few who were NOT on all inclusive; i don't even remember being offered it when we booked with Travel Republic

I have read reviews that said a kettle could be made available for use in your room if you asked. I DID ask and was told NO. Us Brits like our early morning cuppa !

The shower, in our room at least, was tiny. It was surrounded by a curtain. I am of average build, and I would have really struggled to have a shower if I was bigger. A larger body size would have pushed the curtain outside the tray and the rest of the bathroom would have been swimming with water. Very slippery.

The breakfast was Ok. A reasonable selection and plenty available. However, the fruit juice was very watered down; some mornings it was like cordial. Only one 2 slice toaster although I never had to wait; must be an English thing, the toast! Coffee machine delivered a variety of coffee, but very slow and frequently a queue.

We only had one other meal and that was Sunday night; a buffet dinner for 14 euro. We found this to be of a poor standard. For 14 euros you can eat much better in Elounda. We had a number of '3 course specials' priced at between 10 and 15 euro in Elounda. A WARNING - there is a small sign stating that the coffee and juice was not included in the meal price. Fair enough. However, on the Sunday we ate, the notice was tucked around the corner, and the staff who showed us the food available made no mention of this. During the meal I half filled 2 tiny glasses with juice and took them to our table; watered down juice, I may add, as it normally was. A microsecond later a waiter appeared with the bill for this - 6 euro's !! I was a little unhappy about this; not really the price, but the principle.
The outcome of this is that I settle my account on Monday night and enjoyed lovely walks and much better food away from the hotel. I NEVER purchased anything else from this hotel for the rest of our stay; not even a coffee. Maybe the act of a man with too many strict principles, but it forced us to enjoy lovely walks and lovely meals at a variety of different restaurants. From the hotels point of view, they lost a potential 200 - 300 euros we would probably have spent on other meals and drinks at the hotel

So these are the basics; you decide.

Wife's opinion as follows!

This hotel is OK. Very clean everywhere, fresh towels everyday and clean sheets during the week. We were on a B and B tariff and the breakfast was good, not wonderful but certainly adequate. The hotel is beautifully designed with all rooms having a different aspect as they are built on angles up the hill. It is very steep. Don't eat dinner at the hotel - there are much better offers in Elounda in terms of price and quality of the food (apart from breakfast) . A private beach is on the other side of the road - as they all are even if you pay the earth for the hotel - just a single row of sunbeds. Enough but no opportunities for people watching. All in all the Selena is good value but there is NOTHING to do here except laze around and the villages either side are a good 1/2 hour walk away.

Room Tip: The rooms are numbered from 100 something to 300 something. The higher the number the further up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Futuretraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena Hotel E, Guest Relations Manager at Selena Village, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
SHORT BUT ENLIGHTING ANSWER

1) FREEZING POOL - 22 °C degrees (MINIMUM) in big pool 25 °C degrees in small (MINIMUM)
2) WIFI - depends on trafic
3) SAFE WITH KEY - the safest way
4) DISTANCE FROM ELOUNDA 800 m to the first Elounda house - my 80 years old mother walks there under 25 minutes
5) TAXI - no truth, 6 euros to Elounda, in London you can't even open the taxi door for this money
6) PUBLIC BUSES - truth - very bad service
7) HILL SIDE - as exactly and trully described at hotel's side
8) ALL INCLUSSIVE EASTERN EUROPEAN GUESTS - very offending - they are 50% of our guest, and some of them (as well as Brits, French, Swiss, Americans etc...) might be rude
9) SHOWER IN ROOM standard size 70x70 for standard room - some could always ask (and pay) for superior or higher room - I'm largly built and feet perfectly
10) THE BREAKFEST - this is not simple OK for 3 star hotel. I've been to many 5 stars hotels with not so reach breakfest. The finest quality of juices - NEVER watered down
11) COFFEE MACHINE 12 coffes per minute - if that is slow, then agree
12) LUNCH and DINNER - never seen buffet with free drinks - always payable - basics. 14 euro per person for full buffet (soup, appetizers, salads, main dishes, fruits and sweets) - as much as some wants to.. In Elounda you can eat at this price only fast food souvlaki (1 portion)

JUST ANOTHER POINT OF VIEW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    56
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
99
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had wonderful vacation at Selena Hotel. Amazing views from the rooms and the restaurant, great food and drinks and the staff that always go the extra mile for you. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday this is a great place. No games or loud music by the pool and this was exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveller778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Lecco, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We've been there for one week vacation to go to the beaches and drive around for tourism. Really good hotel for bed&breakfast. Nice personnel at reception, ready to satisfy requests. Very nice surprise at arrival : a gift in each room (a heavy book with 365 photographs of Crete). The rooms are clean, towels changed even if not necessary. Very good breakfast with bacon, eggs, sweets, cereals, fruit, etc. We've checked the buffet restaurant only once at arrival (they were really kind to keep it open after closure to help us really late); unfortunately not all food were available at 22:30 but we think it obvious.

Room Tip: check if room dimension is dependent on price. The hotel is made of some small buildings close to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Unbelievable place--rooms, service, food, design, and I could go on and on. I am in the hotel business so am a very picky traveler. The ownership and team there are totally right on target with everything--many places claim to care about the details, this one ACTUALLY does it! The design and layout of the entire hotel does a beautiful job of maximizing the amazing views, and yes it is shades of blue everywhere. Breakfast and lunch buffets are excellent, and staff is very attentive---just an example: the first morning I was there I took my coffee back up to finish in my room. When I came back later in the day after touring, the staff had brought a coffee service up to the room--complete with water kettle, cups, coffee, tea, etc. That is paying attention, and was very much appreciated. The owner/manager has created a team of caring staff that will make your experience on Crete truly special. Don't miss this place!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and views, but the ones on the front have a few balconies, so you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robertastraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately there was an odour to do with the plumbing of our room which was otherwise good.

The buffet was very good but I felt some of the fresh fruit items at breakfast were below par.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had stayed 3 years ago and it was a bad 2 stars hotel with many problems and complains from our side but last year we visit the hotel and we are delighted about the new hotel we see, this year the suprise was perfect
The hotel has been refurbished and it is a good 4 star hotel is recommended for couples who want to feel relaxing, calm good food clean rooms overlooking the endless blue!

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking the island of spinalonga
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmariam667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

recommended to all that wish to spend comfortable holidays in a unique place.Elounda is a beutifull summer area and spinalonga is the small fortress island that you have to visit for sure. it is visible from the hotel. Accommodation is very pleasant in Selena and the staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elpiniki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
59.1 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
6.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.6 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
102.0 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#12 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selena Village

Property: Selena Village
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#17 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Selena Village 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selena Village Hotel is a family owned hideaway in the famous area of Elounda Crete. Located on a hillside, its’ 72 cozy rooms & suites offer views to the dazzling waters of the Mirabello Bay and the world famous Spinalonga island. Selena Hotel Village is the right choice for couples and families looking for a home away from home combining unique location and tranquil surroundings like being in a picturesque Cretan village. Just a few minutes away guests can also visit the typical greek tavernas or enjoy a cocktail during sunset.Elounda Hotel Selena Village is a boutique hotel that provides services to ensure a relaxing experience with comfort and quality: main restaurant, pool bar, three swimming pools, one tennis court, fitness center, sauna, church, beach, business corner, lounge corner, reception 24hrs/24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Selena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Village Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing