We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Economical and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selena Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Selena Village
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Raumati Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Economical and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed two nights and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately there was an odour to do with the plumbing of our room which was otherwise good.

The buffet was very good but I felt some of the fresh fruit items at breakfast were below par.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    55
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
52
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
athens greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had stayed 3 years ago and it was a bad 2 stars hotel with many problems and complains from our side but last year we visit the hotel and we are delighted about the new hotel we see, this year the suprise was perfect
The hotel has been refurbished and it is a good 4 star hotel is recommended for couples who want to feel relaxing, calm good food clean rooms overlooking the endless blue!

Room Tip: ask for rooms looking the island of spinalonga
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mmariam667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

recommended to all that wish to spend comfortable holidays in a unique place.Elounda is a beutifull summer area and spinalonga is the small fortress island that you have to visit for sure. it is visible from the hotel. Accommodation is very pleasant in Selena and the staff is very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: need a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elpiniki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice and very clean room. Traditional style although kind of minimal. No unnecessary stuff. Quite and piece, very friendly and decreet personnel taking very good care of everything. The location is perfect. Offers fabulous Spinalonga Island view. The beach in a front of the hotel is nice and quiet. If you look for trendy and sandy one - its definitely not your choice - otherwise is perfect. Finally the Cretan buffet offered by the hotel (for only 14 Euro per person) is a real experience. Definitely worth each euro spent. highly recommended.

Room Tip: room 317 is just gorgous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mizgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a fairly basic hotel, but pleasant and homely, everything is fresh, clean and comfortable. I liked the calm, clear colours in the room, that with the gorgeous sea and mountain views means you can really put your mind at rest. Because the hotel is at the edge of Elounda village, it's peaceful and feels like being in the countryside.

At the same time the town with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops is close by. There's a lovely tree-lined seaside promenade into it, about 15-20mins walk, or there's a good local bus and taxi service.

(The hotel has just been renovated over the past few months and I believe under new management as of this year).

The hotel is fairly small so if you don't like all those massive resorts and to be surrounded by hordes of other tourists then this is for you! Staff are genuine, friendly and helpful. All the facilities are in good condition and service works fine. (Contrary to some of the other reviews here, my room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided; air-conditioning also worked just fine, and that was in hot weather around +30C). The hotel serves a delicious home-cooked buffet dinner in the evening (at extra cost), with a variety of local foods.

The hotel has its own little beach, or there are two public beaches, with a bar, on either side.

I'm not a great budget traveller but would warmly recommend Selena hotel. Didn't feel I had a budget experience but the most relaxing holiday ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FialkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed a couple of nights during for short visit to Elounda area. Actually the hotel is more close to Plaka village, a small finding village opposite Spinalonga island. The hotel location is convenient, offering a breathless unobstructed view to Spinalonga island and the gulf of Elounda. You can go to the nearest beach (Ipanema) on foot, less that 3 mins.

However, the rooms are really old and need desperate refurnising. Windows and doors don't shut properly letting air in. Air conditioning is really poor and the unit is insufficient to properly cool down the room. The toilet is really old, with uncomfortable bath tub and the overall impression is a bit filthy.

I would suggest definitely this hotel to anyone with limited budget who wants to visit the area and cannot afford the numerous 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisLtrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
#9 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selena Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selena Village

Property: Selena Village
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Garden Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#17 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Selena Village 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selena Village Hotel is a family owned hideaway in the famous area of Elounda Crete. Located on a hillside, its’ 72 cozy rooms & suites offer views to the dazzling waters of the Mirabello Bay and the world famous Spinalonga island. Selena Hotel Village is the right choice for couples and families looking for a home away from home combining unique location and tranquil surroundings like being in a picturesque Cretan village. Just a few minutes away guests can also visit the typical greek tavernas or enjoy a cocktail during sunset.Elounda Hotel Selena Village is a boutique hotel that provides services to ensure a relaxing experience with comfort and quality: main restaurant, pool bar, three swimming pools, one tennis court, fitness center, sauna, church, beach, business corner, lounge corner, reception 24hrs/24hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Selena Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selena Village Elounda, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing