We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Cumbria
1 review
“Wonderful Days”
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We arrived after taxi transfer at 03.45hr and were swiftly taken in the hotel bus to our apartment (No.61) on the upper levels of the complex,presented with a bag of fruit and rolls and packed off to bed in a clean, bright apartment. We woke at around 7.45hrs to bright sunshine and a breath taking view of mountains and sea. So started a wonderful relaxing 2 weeks holiday. The hotel complex is built on a hill side and accessed by a steep road, this is not a hotel for people who can't or wont willing climb the stairs and always take the lift in life.
We stayed on a half board basis, breakfast being continental buffet style, so dont exspect the full English, evening meal again buffet in a traditional Greek/Cretan style and very good.
If you are staying self catering the nearest supermarket is on the main road leading into Elounda Village, the onsight shop stocks a few basics, so we recommend B&B or half board. You also need to drink bottled water as the tap water is potable but full of minerals and can upset some people.
Crete is a wonderful island to explore and Elounda is a jewel with local people who welcome you into their community. Sit back enjoy the view with a cool drink , swim in the clean warm sea, explore the island and enjoy your holiday. If you exspect UK facilities go to Blackpool. Enjoy the Elounda Residence Hotel be polite if you have a problem and the staff will respond likewise.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Moaning Brits
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timetravellerCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    252
    150
    82
    68
See reviews for
307
374
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

Arrived to be told no apartments available, but we can have villa for first night. Villa very nice and started to unpack and have a wash. Went back down to Reception to ask for shop to be opened up, as supposed to be until 9pm but only 8pm! Told manager has found apartment but can keep villa for small additional charge of 400 euros for 2 weeks. We declined. Moved to new apartment and it was adequate and clean, but not as nice as villa we had for 30 mins! Towels and sheets changed almost everyday. View great over Elounda and the bay but as other reviews tell, windy, big hill, fastened down and broken sunbeds. We only ate twice in ala carte restaurant which was o.k. The bar was usually dead and most people seemed to spend the evening (and days) out. 20 mins walk down to village (if you take top track after dark, we advise taking a torch, as no street lights). Never attempted walk back as reasonably unfit 56 year olds! Taxi 5 euros, so over 2 weeks we must have forked out over £100 fares.
Some nice bars and restaurants in village. We can recommend the following :-
Babel Bar - good lunch snacks and cocktails!
Bar Eden - friendly staff including crazy Christine.
Olondi Restaurant - on waterside and good food, not to expensive.
Dimitries Steak House - cheap and cheerful
The Tryst - on right side of road to Ag Nick on outskirts of village, some different choices on menu.
Overall Elounda lovely but quiet. Hotel -get another at sea level!

  • Liked — LEAVING
  • Disliked — LOCATION
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2008

If i had the choice to stay at this hotel again or stay in wet england, id stay at home. The staff very unhelpful not a bit polite but as the management are the worst what can you expect from the rest?

Arrived at nearly 6am to be told to then follow the girl at reception to our room, what a hike, a load of steps to a dingy dark room with a dirty bath, no air conditioning and a safe that didnt work!!!

Need i go on, we were booked for half board and after our first meal told we had to pay 50 euros as they have us down for self catering! We used the hotel to sleep in, got up and out fist thing and came back to get changed and walk into town, which made up for the hotel!

The hotel is situated half way up a very steep hill and after finding short cut into town its ok going down but very hard in the heat coming back, defo need a taxi back unless extrem ely fit!

Save your money and book any where in Elounda village itself as the people there are so friendly, lovely beach and try Demitris to eat, lovely greek food very reasonable and he is such a nice man too.

We are going back to Elounda but defo not this hotel, as this was our first holiday together and my first in 6 years i could of been more dissapointed if i never went out to the village. The only plus thing about the hotel and ive done my best to find one, was the views from our balcony (which was no bigger than a stamp) the view into elounda and the sea where fantastic, truely amazing!

  • Liked — the view from the hotel
  • Disliked — the unhelpfull staff, especially the management
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank liverpoolcjsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We booked this before reading the reviews and after reading them we were somewhat apprehensive about going. It was our first time abroad with our 15 month old daughter but have been to Greece for the last 13 years and think Greece is fantastic.

We arrived by taxi and yes all the bits about the hill are correct, it is steep (it got a lot easier after 2 weeks though and am a lot fitter now than when I went!!)

We got booked into room 1 straight away and got AC which is 7euros per night (I think the villas get it incuded, hence why some websites say it is included). This was right next to the pool etc and was convenient for us having a pram and enough luggage to sink most ships! We got a 2 bedroomed apt (which was very clean but basic - the norm for Greece). We were very pleasantly suprised, and it also have a newly fitted bathroom which was a bonus. It didn't have a cot in as requested, as the travel agent didn't advise them. A nice man brought one 30 mins later though and she went soundly to sleep.

We went SC as we didn't want to be restricted by the times of the meals...we managed quite well, although Greek salads, Tzatsiki and crisp breads and ocassional hot dogs and pasta seemed to be about all we could do as only 1 large and 1 small ring o the hob - this was fine though as there are enough bars and tavernas around to visit. (Try Thassonnisis??? - it's in the middle of 3 bars along the seafront away from main square (next to the one with swinging comfy chairs and the other side is a very swish looking place). The owner, his wife and kids were lovely and the meals were huge and very tasty! He brought a selection of toys for my daughter to play with and entertained her a lot too.

I really cannot understand why all the REALLY negative comments. The only thing I can think of is that everyone is used to Spain and the luxury that their hotels have. Not many places in Greece are luxurious but this was one of the nicest we have stayed in. A holiday is what you make it, and if you go with the expectations of luxury and having a kettle and an Aga to cook on, you most probably won't enjoy anywhere in Greece!!

  • Liked — Views and cleanliness
  • Disliked — A little bit isolated (but this was also a positive for us most of the time)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Noobs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

We arrived at 6.30 am to find the place halfway up a mountain and, instead of 2 seperate studios for the 4 of us, we were crammed in one small apartment with one bedroom and 2 beds hastily put in the living area.
The management showed a distinct lack of interest and told us to sleep on it!
In any event, the complex was looking tired and in urgent need of renovation.
The hills in the complex has to be seen to be believed, The only level ground was the swimming pool.
Apart from Felix, the staff were conspicuous by their absence and attitude of "too much trouble".
I got the distinct impression that they only wanted half board guests.

In the end, 2 of us had to move out and find new accommodation.

In summary, the property is inaccessible, dowdy and unfriendly and expensive in drinks and the mini market.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greebo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

what a farce after arriving and finding a very steep hill we booked in to be told that we would be taken to our room by bus, i can see why as the hill to our room was even steeper than the first hill what a pity that we could no have the bus all the time.we made sure that when we went to pool we did not have to go back to room until 5ish as we are not mountain climbers.(or mountain goats) we found the hotel staff to be aragant not to helpful(the waiters ans waitresses were the only staff worth talking to).it was a bit hit and miss as to if you got what room you booked as there were numerous complaints while we were there. the food left a lot to be desired as it was not appertising and not a lot of choice.(yuk). the 800 meters to the main road was at least 2kilometers and then another 15 min walk to beach.although there was a bus going down at 10 in the morning if you missed that then it was taxi ride which soon ate in to your euros.having travelled to many places all over the world and never had the need to write a review before this hotel is HORRIBLE and would nor recomend it to anyone

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robinhoodEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Unfortunately I booked this hotel without reading this site first - which I normally do!
I can fully endorse the bad reviews having lasted just 3 nights at this awful hotel this September 2008. We arrived mid afternoon and yes were very impressed with views from the pool area, but afraid that was it.
Our room was at the higher end of the "resort" and being pretty fit were initially not too bothered. However if you are not able to cope with steep pathways, which in addition to being very hilly are also very uneven do not even consider booking here.
But this was not the worst....
Room very basic - bare lightbulbs.
Walls like paper...sounds like you are sharing a bedroom with your neighbours you can hear everything (and I mean everything!)
Most sun beds broken, yes and nailed down in the shady areas
Howling winds (due to being on side of hill)
Drinks - wow expensive - they make quite a mark up compared to what is charged in all other places!

So the paper thin walls - we were in a block with we think 3 other apartments...the people in the room next to us were very loud in particular one guy who seemed to dominate all conversations with his friends. Then two other apartments decided who could "outblast" each other with music. Then we were subjected to some undescribable noises from a guy on two of the mornings...sounded like he was being murdered - and really this did sound like he was in the bed next to us. I want to laugh reading this now but at the time we could not believe it!!
So after two nights of this we asked the the guy who appeared to be the owner if we could move to another quieter room - told NO quite flatly and told us visitors had to get on with each other and would speak to the residents. They also said the hotel was full. Seemed pretty deserted most of the time we were there! So we decided to leave it at that....BIG mistake!
The noise was worse than ever and after a night of being kept awake until 2.00am and woken at 8:30 by grunting / howling man we decided to cut our loses and leave! We went to the desk explained the situation to the owner and the hotels4U rep. Another room was offered straight away but we were so exhausted and felt we it better just to find a better hotel.
I find the comments that have been made about depends on how many in party / your nationality on were you are placed interesting...certainly rang true in my experience.
Elounda is a lovely spot however and the remainder of holiday was perfect due to stopping at the lovely Alikes apartments. They certainly understand how to look after their customers here. Something the owner of Elounda Residence could learn from!

M&C Bournville

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCBournville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
19.8 mi away
Hersonissos Village Hotel
Hersonissos Village Hotel
#50 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
41.3 mi away
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
Blue Bay Resort Hotel
#4 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
17.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#125 of 171 in Hersonissos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing