We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
geordie newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 star staff”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

i am 70 my wife 64 yes the hill was a issue but i would climb it again no problem to meet the staff at this hotel, Wonderful honestly Wonderful staff.we stayed in room 4 not modern but clean and every thing we needed great views, plenty hot water clean towels , bedding etc great balcony. we were on half board as we had heard dinner was all greek food it did not disappoint ,entertainment was also good as was ELOUNDA itself great resort.For three weeks we stayed with the best staff we have ever come across YANNISa true gent and ROULA a star. i will never forget this holiday brian and madam anna

Room Tip: it depends on mobility if fit anywhere unfit main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timber67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    275
    170
    92
    80
See reviews for
361
394
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from the elounda residence following a weeks all inclusive stay. We had a good holiday but wouldn't be going back.
The good: the food was tasty (although there wasn't a massive choice), the apartments and complex were clean, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.

The bad: the apartments were basic, air con didn't work, shower didn't fix to wall, towels weren't changed every day even when we put them on floor indicating we'd like them changing there were hung back up (??), no hair dryer, no towels were provided for use round the pool, there were very limited cocktails on the all inclusive, soft drinks were roller cola style, the walk - hilly and dangerous at night as too dark, the facilities slightly over egged- gym = prefab room, spa= a room with a shower and a massage couch, mini supermarket = a hut, it felt like they were continuously trying to make money - 30 mins in a jacuzzi 5€, second hand books (looked like they'd been left by previous occupants) 5€, safety deposit box 20€ a week and then you could hardly fit anything in it. In short not a 4*

The hill was challenging for us and we were both young and fit but felt really sorry for older clientele as they were really struggling.
Elounda is nice but quite small so not much to explore, trip to spingalonga was good. Liked a. N.

We had a good time but wouldn't go back to the hotel or the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Liz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaResidence, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip advisor.Your opinion about your accomondation have been noted. We would like though to make clear the following:

1. The towels in the apartments are being chanded day by day.
2. There are hairdryers availlable for all the guests and we do provide them through Reception.
3. We do have a small beauty & welness center, able to cover massages of all kinds, body and facial treatments and beauty treatments.
4.We do have a small Mini Market, which sells groceries, souvenirs , soft drinks , gifts etc.
5.The Gym room is new and it has been constructed last winter.
6. There is a weekly charge for the use of the safe up to 20 Euros.
7.The hotel has a maintenance department that can repair any technical problem that is being refered.
8.The all inclusive programme includes five alcoholic and two non alcoholic cocktails, as well with locally produced soft drinks.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Elounda Residence Hotel.

Yiannis Kardoulakis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just had an awful two weeks in these apartments. We only picked these them because they were supposed to be four star. Our previous holiday was in Lanzarote in a three star apartment which was much better than the apartment we had here. They were awful - not even the toilets flushed properly.
Elounda Residence apartments are two or possibly three star - they are certainly not four star.
Also - I enjoy hiking up-and-down mountains but the slopes here are very bad - and it was dreadful watching people struggling up and down the slopes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaResidence, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We found that your review on Trip advisor is biased. You did compare our accomondation with another accomondation in Lanzarote which is not fair. Two different countries, with different styles, concepts and standarts.
The hotel Elounda Residence has homely spacious apartments, with a separate bedroom and a seating dinning area with kitchen facilities .
For any technical issues in the rooms, the hotel has a maintance department.

Yiannis Kardoulakis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The only reason not given 5 stars is because of the hill. We were well warned about the hill up to the hotel but not about the further climbs to the accommodation. Rooms were comfortable, we had a stunning view, and cleaned everyday. The food was good and I always found something I liked. The hotel will provide a packed lunch for you, book the day before., however came in a plastic bag and withered a bit in the heat. Cannot praise the staff highly enough , always pleasant ,helpfull and welcoming. Staff also provided the entertainment and had some great memories to take home,

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment lower down , if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillyjilly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday at the Elounda Residence. We had a great time as the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The walk up the hill to the hotel is worth it as the views are spectacular. We walked up and down twice a day most days and didnt find it too tiring.The food was pretty good,not a great choice but typically Cretan so don't be expecting burgers and chips !
Elounda itself is a lovely little town just at the bottom of the hill and you can get a boat there to the island of Spinalonga. Think we paid 10euros each.We enjoyed the entertainment....Greek dancing is a must. Great fun and good exercise ! We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. The higher the room number the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Elounda is approx. 50 miles from the airport. After waiting over an hour for the Olympic Holidays coach the transfer was an excruciating three hours – the coach seemed to stop off at every small town going down narrow little roads to get to them and dropping a couple of people off at a time. On the way home we paid for a taxi – 90 euros.
The apartments are approx. half a mile up a narrow and horrendously steep road/track but the courtesy bus only operated twice a day – 10 am and 3 pm. Even walking to and from the reception/ restaurant/ pool area and the apartments involved very, very steep climbs. Elderly guests really struggled. We had no real choice and had to rent a car (180 euros for a clapped-out Micra/ 8 days hire).
We booked here because the apartments were listed as 4 star – but the reality is that most are either two star or three star. There may be some four star but we weren’t offered one. In fact on our first night we were shoved in a small, dark apartment which had a very small and disgusting ‘kitchen unit’ and a ridiculously small bathroom – without a shower! (- just a handset - we were told this was to save water!). The air conditioning didn’t work (and nor did anything else we tried) and the bed was dreadful. The balcony was very small and looked out onto a small car park and a rocky field. This apartment would not even get two stars.
We went straight back down to reception to ask for another apartment but were told ‘we are fully booked’. The next day after giving them absolute hell they agreed to move us. The new apartment was probably just about three stars – certainly no more. It wasn’t particularly big but had an OK balcony and a very nice view. A much better bathroom but still without a proper shower – which is staggering. Hot water was available if and when they decided to switch it on - which wasn't very often. The small ‘kitchen unit’ was very poorly equipped – no microwave or oven of any sort – just a sink, two hotplates, a kettle, a sandwich maker (?), a couple of pans – and that’s about it. It did however have a very impressive extractor fan unit above the hotplates.
The tiny TV was probably 15 years old – but incredibly did work, and so did the very noisy air-con.
The pool was OK but had a very cramped sun lounger area. The restaurant (buffet) we did enjoy but was expensive – 20 euros plus drinks.
The views were great but only some of the apartments had a view – we were lucky.
On top of all this there were some very noisy guests staying in the other apartments.
All in all absolutely dreadful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Villas are wonderful, the views spectacular! Yiannis and Stephania are wonderful hosts. Food superb. We have just returned from 3 weeks in one of the villas at the Residence. We have been visiting this villa for over 10 years and we have never failed to have a wonderful holiday. The facilities are improved every year and villas are clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
589 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing