We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elounda Residence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed here in early August and the self catering apartment was dirty and very tired. Seems to me they look after inclusive guest and not anyone else... having said that bar staff nice as was the team in the little restaurant onsite. The views were great and if you like a bit of a hill to climb up its good for that. Doubt we'll return with so many other great places to stay in Elounda

Room Tip: Go inclusive
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBadBobbieBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaResidence, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

First of all what we would like to make clear is that Hotel Elounda Residence has 100 Apartment & Villas, and does not separate them in self catering or any other board basis. The same apartments are being booked from guests who choose to be Self Catering, Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive.
All the apartments and the villas are being cleaned daily .
We do not in any case provide better service to all inclusive guests.All our guests for us are important and we do the best we can in order to provide them a lovely holiday.
As the guests who wrote this review recognise , the service in the our bar and in our Tavern but generally in all our departments is very good.

Yiannis Kardoulakis
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Water Park Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

THe hotel rooms were very basic and nowhere near 4 star we asked to be moved and 2 days later they very reluctantly gave us another room with a better view. Food was palatable but definetly not worth raving about, on our last day we visited the restaurant where we paid thru the nose for a pizza that was okay and a plate of giros fit to sole your shoes with , when i told the waiter politly why i had not eaten my lunch he shrugged and gave me the bill....we paid extra on our last day for a room which looked like a tiny prison cell i would not recommend this as leaves a bad taste and smell to your holiday. The hotel is up a mountain hired a car for the fortnight as it is quite a hike into town especially with the heat. Oh and i must alert you to the fact that you will be charged 3.50 euros for a lovely bottle of cold water from the bar,which was my second reason for hiring a car. If at all you are unfit unstable on your feet or anything like that be very wary as the whole hotel is built on a very steep incline.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barberella2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaResidence, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Nothing is more important to Elounda Residence than having satisfied guests. By the time that the guests requested a room change, we were not able to offer it because the hotel was fully booked. When though we had the availability we did change them in a another apartment.
In all the hotels around the world drinks being served in the Hotel Bar & Restaurant cost more than buying them from a store. Our Hotel Mini Market sells all the kind of beverages in very low prices.
Regarding the quality of the food mentioned, in the two restaurants , we need to specify that it being cooked from the same chef team, based on the Cretan diet cuisine, using daily fresh ingridients.
Finally , we want to remind to the guests that nowhere, either in our website or to the descriptions we give to the Travel Agencies for our Hotel , mislead them regarding our location. It is well described that the Hotel is built up on the hill.

Yiannis Kardoulakis
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Woke up to an amazing and stunning view in the morning. There are many steep hills which will most certainly keep you fit but also stops you from putting on too much weight from the lovely food that the Elounda residence serve. Not a huge amount of choice but what you had was lovely. The greek yoghurt is to die for as was everything else but that with honey for breakfast was lovely. The staff are fabulously friendly and kind and make you feel so welcome with their personal touches they do to make your holiday there brilliant. There is a lovely pool which yes it was a salt water one but we soon got used to that. The Cocktails are great and although you still have to pay for the best ones even if you are all inclusive they are well worth it. There were 8 of us all together on all inclusive and we never went hungry or thirsty. The greek night was great, the karaoke was fab!, the belly dancers and dancing on the tables was a memory I will never forget! Elounda has a good selection of little nicnak shops and you can take a trip to Spingaloga by boat which was lovely too. A great holiday!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the villas for 10 days 13 to 23/8/13. Nice splash pool at the villa well looked after by the friendly pool-man, we did not use the main pool much but it is large, well supplied with sun beds so no complaints here.

Villa was a bit dated and could do with a refresh, though in Elounde you get what you pay for.

Insufficient crockery, no tea towel or kitchen cloth provided. No air con in the lounge area, not a disaster as you can open the windows to get a nice breeze and very few mossies during our stay. No plug in the bath, floor drain cover in bathroom was broken.

Bit of a farce with the air con in the bedrooms. This is controlled by a key but we were given the "wrong" set of keys so could not use it for the first night, and it took several goes of asking at reception before we got the correct set, no apology or even any explanation given, they should have realised what the problem was as soon as we queried the matter on the day of arrival, instead we got a lot of nonsense about how they would send the electrician around, only on the next day did they suggest we could "leave the keys with them", and when we came back the air con key had suddenly appeared. Presumably they have 2 sets so they can charge some clients extra for the air con included in our package.

Cleaning was very perfunctory. Cleaners were friendly enough but never in the villa for more than 5 minutes. Cleaning standards were poor compared to what we are used to staying in other villas. On arrival the tiled floors did not seem to have been given a thorough clean as there was some dirt/ residues. Beds were made daily and fresh towels and linen provided.

The worst aspect of the housekeeping is the terrible smell of the towels and bed linen. They definitely need to give some attention to their laundry service! Towels and linen smells like its been washed in grease, and this leaves a nasty odour in the villa. Some of the towels looked old and in need of replacement. Shame something as simple as good laundry can spoil what are otherwise nice villas with great views.

There is WiFi in the villa which was definite plus although internet was very slow at times; however some wifi is better than none at all. I had to keep in touch with my office back home and had no problem connecting to my office VPN so this was a real bonus for me, and the villa included a good writing desk to some work from when the need arose one evening.

Some of the electric sockets in the villa need attention.

Most of the staff are friendly and a credit to the hotel, but a few are not; one of the reception staff and some of the bar staff could do with refresher on customer service.

My 10 and 12 year olds tried the kids club but found it babyish and boring.This is a shame as the lady who runs it is very pleasant and enthusiastic. They probably need to split the club into age groups and may be add a bit of excitement/ competition for the older ones, as a better attended club would help the kids to get on better and form friendships quicker.

No problems with the fellow guests, quite a mix of nationalities and but everybody respected the fact this is family hotel, so no loutish behaviour.

Cant really comment on the hotel entertainment as we did not partake.

The food lets the hotel down. Other reviewers are inclined to forgive this on the basis that "its Greece", well we have been going to Greece for well over 20 years and this kind of comment is a bit of insult to the Greeks! Breakfasts were passable, lunches were poor and repetative, meat often tough and fatty. Desserts very limited in choice - mainly poor quality ice cream and often times limited to two flavours plus the compulsory water melon and grapes. Chips with breakfast every morning and one day even a chip pie! Apart from chips, no children-friendly foods at all. I guess you get what you pay for. We ate out most nights.

In terms of the all-inclusive package, the soft drinks were a massive let down and tasted awful, if they could watered down the water, they would have! Lager and wine was OK but its not Mythos beer. No hot snacks. This isnt really an "all inclusive" package , its more like super-charged "full-board" but probably reasonable for what we paid.

Position of the hotel offers fantastic views across the bay, we were lucky we had a hire car as otherwise it would have been a bit too far out from the town centre. The bus service offered by the hotel is very limited, what they actually need to do is offer more buses back into the hotel, may be one or two in the evening, as its the walk back which is the killer.

There is nice direct route into Elounde taking the side-road passed the villas and then turn right, which brings you passed the Elounde Heights and into the centre of the town. Makes a nicer walk than the main road, which is very busy.

Not a massive fan of Elounde itself. Too busy and too many coaches bringing in visitors to Spinalonga.

Our favourite restaurant was Mam's on the main road going into Elounda, larger-than-life and very attentative host, some may find him a bit overpowering but this is his charm, and decent food to boot. We also ate at Anemomylos- at the quite end of the prom opposite the beach. The contrast in service between the two could not be greater! We also enjoyed a very nice and very Greek lunch at the taverna in the traditional-Greek hill-side town just past Plaka (Vouches I think its called)- very tasty pomagranate salad.

Drank at Eden Bar- friendly service and free pool-table.

Nice if very busy beach just passed Ag Nic- Golden Beach

If visiting Spinalonga take the boat from Plaka for a nicer feel and cheaper price to Elounda ferries crammed with the coach parties. Also note an extra 2 Euros is charged to enter Spinalonga on arrival in addition to the cost of the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went all-inclusive for 11 nights from August 9th - 20th. I do not think the hotel is properly geared up for all-inclusive yet as the staff do not appear to have grasped the concept.

The pros: Elounda village is lovely, the hotel is in a nice location with spectacular views, the rooms were basic but comfortable, the pool area is great and never too crowded, and the friends we met made our holiday.

The cons: The food was extremely average with little choice, some of the bar staff were lethargic and ignorant, the entertainment was limited or non-existent.

I would go to Elounda again but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RichyRich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Still in Elounda Residence, and only one day before departure, I feel I have to share with you how lovely stay we had. I came with my partner for a 10 days stay, in an one bedroom apartment.
From the first minute we arrived we were very welcomed and pampered.
We were allocated in a beautiful apartment with a breathtaking view to the sea and to the island of Spinalonga.The apartment was clean and very well kept from the two ladies who were cleaning it every single day. They even taught us a few words in Greek.
The food at the main restaurant, as we were on Half Board, was more than exepcted. Based on Greek cuisine, there were always a lot of options and the quality was very high. The service was really good, specially little Giorgos, as everyone call him .
The hotel also had an animation programm through out the week, which we found great fun. Lovely coctails at the Bar with Manos and Maria , serving them always with a smile.
I feel sad we have to depart tomorrow but certainly will return back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up to the hill in order to have breathtaking views!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

So many good things to write about this place.

Location - 2 hour transfer from heraklion. Would be less than one if you were in your own car. However, always interesting to see the cultural highlight of Malia in the early hours of the morning! A minibus picks you up in Elounda and takes you up the hill.

Rooms - these are basic but clean, perhaps a little 'tired' but this did not affect the holiday. Great to have a decent freezer section to make ice. We had a kettle in our room, and a sandwich maker! Safe costs 20 euros a week. Beds comfortable. Rooms have a/c. Sea view incredible - I think most rooms apart from one block had sea views. Everyone seems to go on about the hill, but I am sure it is not that bad! We had room 64 - one hill up. If you are really unfit or have mobility problems, maybe think again. Anyway - even at night the views are amazing so it is an enjoyable short walk. Can be windy at night and this makes it a little noisy in the room. Bring earplugs if you need ALL your sleep.

Pool - great size. Good for kids and adults and you can get a decent fitness swim if you want. It is salt water which can sting your eyes. It is quite deep. Inflatables allowed. Beds by the bar are bolted down due to the wind that can sometimes be very lively, especially in August. Beds one tier up are moveable. The pool shower and toilet need attention (and I think this is the ONLY whinge I can make in the entire hotel!)

Food - Simple, very greek, well presented, beautifully cooked. A relief that they did not serve chips with everything - if you are a burger and chip kinda person this hotel is not for you. If you are late to meals you might miss out. Always plenty of lovely salad, bread and 3 or 4 dishes to choose from. Tsatsiki to die for at every meal. One pudding selection at supper and ice cream available with every meal. Food area a little hugga-mugga but it seemed to work.

staff - so impressed by the friendliness and kindness of the staff. They were professional and generous and cheerful. They are so good with the children. They all work really hard but always manage to treat each customer in a fresh and energetic way. Exceptional that I cannot find something or someone to moan about! In particular, we enjoyed the chef and waiter at the Taverna. Dimitri and Ilias are friendly, chatty but never overbearing. They are extremely good at what they do and even if you are on an all inclusive you MUST spend two of three nights in the taverna. The food is truly SUPERB. You get a discount and can still have free drinks. Portions are big so save some tummy space.

all inclusive - GREAT value for money. The food is lovely, the drink fine (11% alcohol means that you can drink as much as you like and still be sober!). The staff are very generous with the measures. Beer lovely.

entertainment - did not really get that involved, and it was refreshing not to be hassled every day by the usual 'animation teams' and any entertainment (greek dancing, kareoke) the children were allowed to join it - it seemed to work! Mini golf is concrete and a bit naff. Gym does not have a/c and the equipment is rather tacky. Does have an ab curler and mats, a small multi-stack and treadmill/bike/stepper. I am a keen gym bunny but little incentive to go in there apart from a few sit-ups.

elounda - lovely. lots of places right by (and sometimes IN) the sea. Plenty of supermarkets, services and car hire. Everything you need. Beaches withing walking distance. Generally clean and picturesque.

other - small shop onsite. Spinalonga trip enjoyed by most - check your ticket if you want more than an hour on the island. Back road goes directly into Elounda harbour. Take sea shoes so easy to get in and out of the sea. Snorkelling worthwhile but it isn't the Red Sea.

overall - all inclusive fantastic value for money. We would DEFINATELY go again and I rarely say that. It was clearly great for families with children, but somehow it worked for adults too.

Room Tip: Sea View incredible, and you are highly likely to get one without having to pay extra for it when yo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
707 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
249 reviews
36.7 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
410 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $56 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing