We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only nice views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Castile and Leon, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Only nice views”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has nice views of the bay.
The rooms (at least the ones in the upper building) are quite basic and dated, and they are like tiny apartments. The TV is in the living room, and you can´t watch it from bed. No bath amenities (just a piece of soap!). The rooms have very poor sound insulation, and you can hear everything happening upstairs.
The breakfast buffet was quite OK, (we stayed only two days there), but for dinner the range of main dishes was extremely poor. Different salads, all made more or less with the same ingredients (fresh and good). A bottle of mineral water is 3.50 euros, maybe a bit pricey?
The swimming pool has sea water (with salt, not desalinized at all).
The staff were nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofía
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    265
    161
    89
    75
See reviews for
333
392
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel has everything stated in the brochure,but the only point I would disagree on is the gym.Not quite a gym more a very small room with 3 step machines and a cycling machine.
The view from our apartment balcony was fantastic,we could see past Elounda to the island of Spinalonga in the North and over the bay to Pachia Ammos in the South.
The rooms in the apartment were dated and could do with modernising.The TV was a small 12 inch portable with no UK channels after a week as BBC world news stopped working.
The bathroom was small and dingy but ample for your needs,although the shower would not stay in one position on the wall and had to be hand held.
We had to ask for a kettle and a hair dryer at reception as they were not in the room.
The walk from reception/restaurant/pool was more an uphill hike than a walk,it could only be driven up in 1st gear with our car rental,a very steep incline.
The sunbeds were screwed down,thus stopping you from moving them as the sun moved,but this soon became apparent was for safety reasons as on a few days there was a very strong wind.
The food ( breakfast and dinner) was traditional Greek food which was well cooked and well presented in the restaurant,which incidentally also had amazing views over the bay.
The mini market was expensive but Elounda,where you could get almost anything you required,was only a 20 minute walk downhill and 5 Euros in a taxi back to the Residence.
The bus service from the Residence was only to the main road once in the morning and once in the evening,and I felt this service could be increased to maybe hourly.
The A La Carte restaurant served good traditional Greek food,but was much the same as was served in the main restaurant.
The receptionists and staff were very courteous and helpful and could not be faulted in their efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a budget holiday,with no frills.
A superb location with great views and good food.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs apartment with a North facing balcony to appreciate the view over Spinalong Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have just returned from a fabulous stay at The Elounda Residence.I would strongly recommend this Hotel.The Staff cannot help you enough, always willing to help and very positive. If you travel with an open mind and are of a half glass full mindset, you will be pleasantly rewarded.The Greek Dancing nights and food is spot on . This coupled with the pleasant town Elounda make a refreshing break and without going far you can find the real Greece.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlosVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We can totally agree with the previous occupants comments.

We asked for a room with a view and sunny balcony, we had a small baby with us and would spend quite a lot of time there, we had neither as we were given Room 14 to stay in. We did request to be moved, 3 times,but were told by the receptionists that all other rooms were full, we know this wasn't true! Rooms 1 - 12 were kept for 'the elderly' but many had pushchair parked outside.The only way to get moved was to confront the manager, or threaten to leave, but we only found this out during our second week....too late for us, so we resigned ourselves, unhappily, to Room 14 for the duration.

The hotel is totally unsuitable for anyone with a small child, no food available, no changing facilities and we had to carry the pushchair up and down stairs every day. The dining room has 3 highchairs with the dirtiest, most unhygenic straps I have ever seen, now changed since I complained to the manager the day before we left. Totally shocked that people used these and didn't complain before me!

The Taverna on site served up very bland tastless food and my daughter had an upset stomach for 2 days afterwards, very expensive and they also give you 4 slices of bread which you don't ask for, then charge you 3 euros. A cat jumped up and took the slice we didn't eat! We were going to refuse to pay but when we complained the receptionist said 'Some people like the food, some people don't!', customers service and satisfaction is none existent here.

Unlike the previous occupants, we did get a plug, it only took 3 days, asking every day, as we needed to bath the baby. The bathroom sink plug, as stated, didn't keep the water in. We used a vaseline pot in the kitchen sink as a plug, improvisation was essential here. We got a kettle after 5 days, when we discovered by chatting to other guests, that they were available, previously we were boiling water in a saucepan to fill the babies bottles. The 'standard kitchinette equipment' which should have included a toaster, never materialised, along with the hairdryer, also supposed standard equipment for the rooms. Glad we weren't self catering as two small rings, a kettle and a fridge is a bit pathetic in this day and age.

We did have problems with the fridge defrosting and the air conditioning blowing a fuse, this was resolved quite quickly, shame we didn't realise immediately that the second key on the huge brass keyring was for the air conditioning! Maybe that should be put on the information sheet along with information about the indoor soft play area situated at the bottom of the reception/restaurant steps, we found that as we were leaving.

We were fortunate to be able to afford to hire a car for 9 days, to see the lovely island, an expense we didn't expect but was essential to get out and about for supplies, yes there was a bus service, 10 am down and 3 pm back, but only to the end of the road where the traffic was busy and unsafe to walk with a pram. Not convenient to be out at that time of day with a baby. You could get a taxi back for 5 euros but they would only drop you outside reception and didn't like a dusty pushchair in their lovely mercedes cars, one cleaned the footwells and boot whilst we were still standing there, how rude!

Half board doesn't include drinks with the evening meal, not even water, 3.50 euros for a bottle of water, and wine 10+ euros, local wine sells for 3+ in the supermarkets. Surely local wine, bought in bulk, could be offered in the restaurant, but everything available at the resort was at greatly inflated prices.

On the positive side the waiting and cleaning staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, and the pool was great for taking the little one swimming, the one reason we chose this hotel, true the area around the pool was very dusty and dirty but most days there were ample sunbeds to use, no problem with them being static, understandable as we experienced a few gusty days. The views around the pool area, in the bar and from the restaurant were absolutely stunning. Shame we couldn't see it from our room!

The hotel was not as described in the brochure and definately need some money spent on it to bring it up to a 4 star accomodation level, we have taken this matter up with our travel agent, and are truely happy to be home, even with the rain. This was possibly the most dissapointing holiday we have ever experienced, which is a shame as Crete is a beautiful island to visit.

People will possibly disagree with this review, as I know some are regular guests, but the rooms do vary a great deal and some who complained were given the opportunity, at a price, to upgrade to the villas which we understand are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grannyslittlepigeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

if you want a "real Greek Hotel" (rather than a perfect, sterile hotel which all look the same and you could be anywhere in the world), then choose the Elounda Residence. Lots of guests have stayed at the Hotel before,which speaks for itself! Positives: spectacular views, friendly helpful staff, great food - particularly the fish. Negative: the steep location. We stayed for 2 weeks in the top block and so it is quite a hike just to go back to your room from the restaurant. but the views are spectacular. I will never forget sitting in bed in the morning, looking out over the bay to Spinalonga as the sun is coming up. And sitting having lunch looking over the whole bay - breathtaking. The only sounds are of goats bleeting or maybe the crowing of a cockerel. The back road takes you right into Elounda gently sloping with a great view of Elounda, until the last part which is extremely steep. The road from the front of the Hotel is very steep at first and then winds more gently through olive groves and takes you to the main road a bit further out of the town. We walked into the town and got a taxi back for 5 euros. After reading The Island, our holiday in Elounda did not disappoint in any way. You can get a bus to Plaka and Agios Nikolaos from the town square. Would recommend walking over the causeway to see the old church and having lunch at the restaurant there, great fresh fish and look at the wonderful old photos of the causeway bridge and windmills on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hednesford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived about 2am on the Wednesday morning, given room 50. We did have a sea view on awakening the next morning, however, the aircon was not working effectively. Complained and were moved the next day to room 9 (in the main block of the building). This time the seaview was stunning. The rooms are all very basic, to varying degrees. This room was better than room 50! by far. The rooms were cleaned daily, but at no point were the towels changed in our week stay. The cleaning staff came knocking one day by 9.45am, not really acceptable, but were ok on been turned away, though wanted to return the following day, no. Went B & B only, for which I was very grateful. I had fruit every morning with yoghurt, which meant water melon, a little green melon and a couple of grapes. There was also cheese, tomatoe, cucumber, bread, soggy bacon, not very appealing looking eggs and cereal on offer. The staff were generally helpful, smiley and friendly. There was a dangerous bolt sticking up between the patio door and balcony. For a late check out we switched rooms and were given room 11, directly opposite. If you were given this room for a week, you would be seriously depressed!!!!! It was shocking and I can't believe that they had the nerve to charge us 25 euro for this privelege! They originally wanted 30 euros!
The bar at the hotel is a rip off at 3.90 euros for a large beer (when in the town you can get it easily for 3) and then, even worse, on the last night we ate at the restaurant just above the main resort, clearly also run by the hotel. In this establishment we were charged 3 euros for the bread that was presented with the starters (for 4 slices), then 2.90 euros for a small bottle of Mythos!!!!!!!! Be warned, do not eat or drink here! If the food had been good, fair enough, but far from good, adequate at the very best.
The rooms are basic, very and simply vary as to which category of basic you will get. It is a steep hill, but that's well known. We are hill walkers, so not a big deal on that front.

Room Tip: Room 9 for a nice sea view, but watch the dodgy step out to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockysgirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you arrive in the night ring 0033 28410 41 912 from UK mobile and a van will collect you and save you the walk up the hill! The hotel has lovely views over Elounda and the bay, and the walk down to the town is lovely - even coming back! You will have to like a walk though as the hill is quite steep but on a good metalled track. The hotel is family run and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We arrived at midnight and the owner and staff went out of their way to ensure we had some food and drinks. The hotel is set in a lovely location, very peaceful and quiet. Lovely pool, apartments basic but clean (maid service daily) and spacious. Would not hesitate to go back. Elounda itself is a beautiful place with lots of lovely restaurants by the sea. Thanks to Yiannis and the staff for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryfromManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
673 reviews
17.4 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#120 of 171 in Hersonissos
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Property: Elounda Water Park Residence
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing