We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Water Park Residence
Ranked #20 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Hotel is very good, clean, lively and very helpful staff. Location a bit annying as have to climb very steep hill to leave return to hotel. Lovely breeze that's welcomes you due to the height of the hotel. Great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,022)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

668 - 674 of 1,022 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks here July / Aug 2012 with kids aged 5 and 8. We got a poor first impression after being taken to a 1 bed appt when they knew it should have been 2 rooms. Despite protesting we had to stay in the 1 bed and move the next day to a 2 bed which was disruptive. (& I can see that someone else has had a similar experience below).

I'll start by saying we enjoyed our holiday overall - the village of Elounda is a pretty good spot with plenty of nice restaurants and the weather was great. Not much in the way of easy reach sandy beeches but with a car it's a good base. Staff were pretty pleasant and whenever we were in the bar people seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Our main gripe was the quality of the accomodation - it's not close to a formal 4 star grading.

We were in room 137 on the highest hill. The 2 rooms were small and basic and it wasn't possible to open the cupboards without moving the beds; No a/c in the bedrooms, only the kitchenette, so we had to crank the kitchen a/c up and hope for a draught; One of the bedroom's windows opened onto a corridor and hence had no privacy or natural light. Thin walls and ceiling - at times we thought our neighbours would come through the ceiling.

The bathroom was small - it wasn't possible to open the bathroom door without hitting the sink. The decor was tired (peeling paint, bulging tiles) with anything screwed to the wall being loose. The shower head was cracked and only handheld. It was very tired.

The kitchenette / living area was a tiny 2 x 3 m and had a 20 year old fridge, a travel kettle, a sandwich toaster and a portable 2 ring hob. There was 1 plug for all 4. There were no soft furnishings to sit comfortably (because there was no space) and the 12 inch tv was mounted at 5 feet high and pretty difficult to see. The reality is that our 'appartment' was really just 2 bedrooms.

Balcony - a stunning view which I think sways opinion in the hotel's favour for the various shortcomings.

Pool - was a salt rather than freshwater system. We didn't spot this before we came and whilst it wasn't quite as bad as we thought it would be, it wasn't as nice and the kids did grumble a bit.

Main restaurant - we had a freebie there for the disruption on the first night and were very glad we hadn't paid for all inclusive. I've seen plenty of buffets before and this was very low down the list. Narrow range and mediocre quality - think school dinners. We had a nosey at breakfast one morning and it wasn't very exciting but you could get chips.....

The taverna - kids ate free here for lunch. Mixed quality - a little too much being re-heated or going through the microwave. Kids free lunch was chicken nuggets, fish fingers or something re-heated from the prior nights buffet. Whilst my kids would have eaten the pizza second day running, it was so hard it couldn't be cut with a steak knife and was sent back. Pleasant waiter but the cooking was lazy.

The hill to town - we walked to town about 10 times and on only the first occasion did my 5 year old have 'shoulders'. It's a lovely walk in the evening as the sun goes down and takes about 15 minutes. We're fit but I can't think of anything worse than trying to walk back up after a nice meal. We got a taxi for 5 euros and they would drive us all the way to our room on the highest level of the hotel grounds - no problem.

Getting around the hotel the hill was steep but manageable.

Other facilities - kids outside play area and crazy golf - tired. Softplay in the hotel - fine. One bright spot - they've recently put in a spa room where we had a few massages - very good.

In conclusion, nothing approaching 4 out of 5 for a 4 star standard hotel. We saw 3 rooms and they were all the same standard, although some layouts differ. If the hotel didn't have the fantastic views then I think quite a lot of people would wonder why on earth they were staying there.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank OllyMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaResidence, Manager at Elounda Water Park Residence, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear Mrs. or Mr.,

We could answer to every bad criticizing line of yours but we will not. You might stayed in our hotel or not, you might be motivated to write this review by a third person or not. It is safe to say that your review is obviously mischievous since we have NO apartment with number 137 and the highest apartment number is 122 so is impossible for you to have stayed in an apartment with such a number and furthermore possibly in our hotel.

We reported your review to Tripadvisor as a fake and we also proved with legal papers that we have not such an apartment number in our hotel.

This review it is very possible to be considered as a subject of discussion in our next meeting with our law partners in order to protect our business' reputation.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Elounda Residence for 1 week in August.Well what can i say,that hill is really steep!! but well worth it for the stunning views.The hotel is basic,the staff are very helpful and work really hard,George in the resturant,Billy behind the bar and Maria at reception all excellent.
Our rooms were 66 and 64 and had spectacular views over Elounda breath taking.We had clean towels every day and our room was always cleaned.
The food is of a good standard,not lots of choice,but still enough.The pool area is nice but could do with a few more sun beds and take those fixed umbrellas down as they do block the sun from most of the beds,let people have the choice.Overall not bad!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiandGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Fantastic staff - professional, friendly and polite. Manager Yiannis couldn’t have been kinder. Special thanks to Karoula, George, Pavlos and Monolis. Set up high with an excellent panoramic view of Elounda, we found the accommodation at the Elounda Residence very comfortable. Being so high meant we benefitted from the mid-summer winds which make the August heat tolerable. Even in its isolated position, the pool, restaurant and bar were always lively. A good base for a family holiday.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the 3 Bed Villa with own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sidcup_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

this is a terrible hotel,i read the comments on here before i booked,but i don't think half the people on here have been to the hotel,the food is awful, and i'll eat anything,i paid for a two room apartment but got fobbed off with one room and a put you up bed for my 14 year old daughter, its on a hillside with a steep climb up about twenty mins,staff are nice,the only possitive thing i can say, in short its the pits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edtheted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a 2 week holiday here and had a great time. Originally when I booked the holiday the "hill" wasn't a problem, although by the time the holiday came I was 7 months pregnant and found the hill a struggle but the boss of the residence was more that happy to move me to another apartment above the restaurant. They also were happy to take us down the bottom of the hill and pick us back up at request. All the staff were very accommodating and friendly. The pool was perfect for the kids and there was plenty of activities for children to take part in within the hotel. The only thing I would say was a negative was they only hold a greek night once a week and what a fantastic night it was. I think more evening entertainment would definitely be better not only for those on holiday but would also be a boost in profit for the residence. There was loads of food to choose from, the kids loved the sweet option for breakfast. There was also a wide variety of drinks available on the All inclusive menu. The apartments were very clean and house keeping came every day to clean up, All in all it was a Fantastic holiday made even better by all the staff at the Residence. I would recommend for anyone who misses the traditional English pub to pop down to Elounda to the Peacock Bar, its the first bar on the left as you come down the hill from the residence. The boat trip to spinalonga is also a must see, tickets are available at the peacock bar.

Room Tip: Elderly, pregnant, disabled or mobility problems please ask for a room by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstyf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just returned from a glorious 10 night stay at The Residence....and what a stay it was!!! Myself, partner(now Fiancee) & 3 children arrived late into the evening, and were greeted by the lovely George, with the hotels minibus. Quick check-in, accompanied by some sandwiches, we got our tired heads down. Initially given 2 seperate apartments, due to a mix up with bookings, we were advised to see reception the next morning for the keys to our apartment proper. A very apologetic manageress gave us the key to apartment 1 which was outstanding. Clean, spacious and had a view to die for....! Overlooking the pool and down to the bay, with the island of Spinalonga in the distance(i'm sure it's where the main picture on this site, was taken)!
We stayed on a half board basis and were not disappointed with the food at all! Breakfasts had all that you needed.....Bread, cereals, Greek yoghurts, bacon, sausages and the like. Dinners varied with some traditional Greek fare, alongside the usual touristy requirements.
The staff were amazing too! Maria on reception, who is your go to girl for all things Elounda, George, Manuell, Denis and Maria the barmaid for all of your drinks, food and entertainment....and Yiannis for the massive grin he puts on your face, whenever he's around!
A special shout out to Manuell tho, who, on the Cretan Night, found out about our engagement and arranged a Traditional Greek 'Good luck' dance for us to perform. An amazing night we'll never forget!
Alternating the pool with trips to the beach is a must, or you'll miss out on some great days. A trip to Spinalonga, using one of the many boats available(approx 10 Euros a head, but discounts are available for larger parties....just ask)! And you must pay Elena a visit at the Eden bar....so funny and charming....she'll look after you and chat all day long....if her brother would let her! AquaLand was a highlight too! Loads to do with some seriously hair raising water slides!!

I could go on forever but you'll have to pay a visit to this fantastic hotel yourself, to really appreciate it. And do interact with the staff....they'll love you all the more for it!

On a final note.....The hotel IS on a hillside, but the brochures and hotel website DO NOT hide this fact. There are enough reviews on this site(and others) that tell you it's not for you if you don't like walking. Make use of the mini bus to get into town....you're dropped off at the bottom of the road, then a short walk into Elounda itself....it's why it's there.

Room Tip: Go for a 2 bed apartment or villa....they're closer to the main hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.8 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
625 reviews
33.5 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Water Park Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Water Park Residence

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece (Formerly Elounda Residence)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#14 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $58 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Water Park Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the surrounding mountains and the sea, Elounda Residence offers self-catered accommodation. Its public areas offer free Wi-Fi and include a large pool with hydromassage jets, 2 restaurants and a tavern with live music.The complex consists of spacious apartments with seating room, and fully furnished villas with private pool. All rooms are air-conditioned and have a balcony with sea view.The restaurant serves a daily breakfast and dinner buffet. Taverna serves a variety of Greek dishes for lunch and dinner. Drinks are available at the main bar and pool bar. Children’s menus are available.Elounda Residence features a computer room and a games room. Sports and leisure facilities include a tennis court, mini golf, table tennis and table football. There is also a separate pool for children, and 3 playgrounds.The hotel offers free shuttle service to the village and harbour of Elounda, where you will find wonderful beaches, local stores and frequent boats' departures to the famous Spinalonga island. Free private on-site parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elounda Water Park Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Residence Hotel
Elounda Water Park Residence Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing