We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
Ranked #14 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We splashed out for 2 nights in a junior suite with sharing pool, at the end of a 2-week trip to Crete. Unfortunately, our stay was not as we had hoped. Firstly, our request for twin beds was not honoured, although this was not critical. Secondly, the room was a long way from the car-park and there was nobody to help with our luggage, which we had to drag up steps. Thirdly, our bathroom door would not shut. On trying to shut it from the inside, my husband got locked in and we had to request somebody to come and let him out! So we didn't try to shut it again! Finally, the sharing pool. BEWARE the sharing pools are 5 foot deep, with no shallow end. For myself (at 5 foot 1 inches) and son (5 foot 3 inches) who are non-swimmers, this was totally useless - and certainly would be dangerous for small children.
On a positive note - the hotel grounds were lovely and the restaurant food was very good. It was an easy drive into Elounda to take the boat to Spinalonga and the staff were friendly. I would not, however, choose to stay at the Elounda Palm if I were visiting Elounda again.

Room Tip: Junior suite sharing pools are DEEP! Not safe for non-swimmers or young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    181
    48
    18
    10
See reviews for
78
281
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A bad experience ...

It beginned with the absence of road sign when arriving from Elounda (we then spent 30 min to find the place, far from all the other hotels of Elounda),
Then the fact we had to carry our luggages in all the multiple stairs when we arrived (no staff in the afternoon).
The breakfast is not good, example with the terrible Orange Juice (keep in mind the prince, approx 100€/night !).
The smell in the bathroom (like in a boat, pbbly due to the use of salted water).
The lack of bed base ...
Bad value for money. Skip the place, go to Selena for example, a little further north.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peatraveladvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from this wonderful hotel and are in complete agreement with the review from 'noiretti' - ignore any negative review you find on this or any other website - elounda palm hotel really is special - it's small size and family run attitude mean the service is second to none! From the moment we arrived (even at 2 am) we were greated by a friendly smiling night reception staff who took us to our beautiful room, they had even left a plate of meze in the fridge in our room incase we were hungry.

We stayed half board and every meal was delicious with plenty of choice and lots of lovely local dishes. We have stayed in many hotels around the world from 5* to camping and have to say this is the best, most relaxing hotel we have ever stayed at. Even the other guests were nice and quiet.

The views from the rooms and communal areas are to die for and make sure you request an apple mojito from sotos the barman - who's attention to detail is second to none!

All in all our week was perfect made so by this great find of a hotel - we will definitely be returning soon and have started to recommend it to all our friends and family - says it all really - thank you Elounda Palm Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 792J_T2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed there for a wedding which was in Elounda Beach, next door.

Elounda Palm is a small well situated hotel to visit this region if your budget is tight, has a pool but no beach access.

Staff is great, facilities are clean.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good, small terrace and no stairs to get too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is one of those places that is so good you almost want to keep it a secret.

THe hotel is clean and tidy with the staff working tirelessly to keep the grounds spotless.

Everyone is very friendly and cannot do enough to help. No complaints about the barman. He works hard and every drink was serverd with a smile.

Food was fresh, varied and tasty.

One piece of advice, nothing to do with the hotel but more the holiday companys. I'd recomend arranging your own transfers as we went with Olympic arriving late at night and it took 2 hours to make a 1 hour journey as we dropped off all along the way.

We had a sea view bungalow that was perfectly located for everything.

Loved it so much planning on going back in October - says it all really.

Thanks Elounda Palm!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank noiretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waregem, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just got back from the elounda palm hotel. We had a very amusing stay there!
We've booked a seaviewroom, it was a very clean room, large bed, everything we needed was there. The hotel itself is in a very quiet place, you can just relax en take it at ease. It is not so far away from Elounda, you can go by foot to the town and discover some amazing views!
We had a rental car and we would advice everyone to get one to discover Crete! There is a lot of beautiful nature, it really suprised us!
The food in the hotel was ok, you have enough choice..we ate 2 times at the pool bar en the salads were fresh and yummy.
The staff were very friendly, especially the ladies who serve at breakfast and eveningtime!
We also really want to thank Sotos, the bartender! He made every evening to an perfect end by serving us the best coctails we've ever tasted! When you go there you have to try them, they are strong and delicious! Just ask and he makes you the perfect one without any effort! Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steffie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Sotos

Me and mu boyfriend stayed at the Elounda Palm in May for a week. As soon as we got to the hotel we were greeted by the lovely Maria, she was so welcoming and friendly and showed us a room we could upgrade to, we did upgrade to a room with a pool which is highly recommend, it's so wonderful to be able to walk out of your room to your own pool!! The food was lovely, lots of variety, cold and hot food and the ice cream is delicious!!! The hotel isn't in the centre of Elounda but most of the resort hotels aren't, the village is only a short 5 euro taxi ride where there's bars and restaurants, shops etc. Most nights we spent in the hotel bar, the bar tender Sotos is brilliant...you can tell he really loves his job, he makes beautiful cocktails, the couple who said he was a show off we're obviously just impatient and ignorant. Sotos is a genuinely lovely person and takes real pride in his job especially cocktail making. I was talking to him about the fact I once worked in a bar and was terrible at making the B52 shooter so later that evening he asked me to go behind the bar so he could teach me...so thoughtful!! Ask for the apple mojito.....by far THE best cocktail I've ever had. I am the kind if person who appreciates fine details and this hotel and its staff certainly delivered on this. The whole holiday was lovely and I've never met such genuine and welcoming people as the Greeks, in fact I'm already considering a greek island hopping holiday for next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelanieJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
0.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#15 of 35 in Elounda
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
800 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Property: Elounda Palm Hotel
Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Palm Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the most beautiful area of Lasithi, the Mirabello Gulf, in Crete. Just a few minutes from the quiet fishing village of Elounda and approx. 7km away from the lively town of Aghios Nikolaos. Set in attractive gardens the Elounda Palm Hotel offers lovely and spacious sea view rooms, bungalows and suites with sharing pool. New entry is the Mellow cocktail Bar by the main swimming pool and the open air lounge cinema. Enjoy your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing