We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring awakening! (at a great value for money)”
Review of Elounda Palm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Palm Hotel
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed @ Elounda Palm during Easter holidays for about 4 days – although short , that was enough to let us relax, escape & enjoy. We were fortunate enough to be in Crete as the weather was distinctively better that the rest of Greece. By arriving at the hotel, it was pretty much what we expected from the hotels’ web page (http://www.eloundapalm-crete.com/) which I just noticed they’ve changed/updated (although admittedly the older version was just fine…). The size of the hotel is just about right – that means, u don’t spend your day on long walks to reach the restaurant, the bar, nor u get mad if u forget something in the car – everything is nicely compact, just there, yet without forgoing any of the privacy or relaxation that one seeks when on vacation! Friendly & easy check-in , so you get into holiday mood immediately. Our room was a shared-pool junior suite with relaxing and refreshing colours and decoration (‘Greek island style’ with a trendy twist, flat screen tv –although could have been smaller but I guess this size suits all-, comfortable bed with soft fresh sheets & pillows, and last but not least a very comfortable bathroom , super clean & fairly new (it’s more than apparent that the hotel has been recently renovated) with practical cabin shower. The moment you open the room’s window you get carried away by the view –a bed of olive trees, the blue sea & sky and the little islands just across- while the spring aromas of the hotels’ surroundings and gardens (herbs & flowers) tease your nose. The pool’s tranquil waters just want u to get in there ,bit of an extravaganza probably for that period of time to have a room with a pool (in the summer we would have probably made better use of it!) – we could have been happy on a simpler garden room which we checked out and were also REALLY nice – but truly, with such fair prices, it’s nice to treat yourself once in a while. Only to gaze at that calm water every morning and afternoon is all u ever want..! Likely , a couple of times we didn’t want to move, we took advantage of room service which was quite to our liking. And as we realised after getting to know the owners, quite a few of the vegetables as well as the olive oil used are produced by themselves! If I were them , I d promote this feature more strongly on their brochure –the quality of the hotel’s cuisine is top notch, yet simple & unpretentious , with quite a few traditional dishes but other more international options as well - i assume it's that sort of buffet/menu that keeps everyone happy. Breakfast had just about what you want –not more / not less, but just about right! That is exactly what this hotel is – just about right and at the most appropriate price. Myself and my husband are quite active travellers and it’s very rarely that you see a hotel that is so fairly priced. Did I mention the fun bar tender with the funky cocktails? If you really don’t want to move from that hotel for a long weekend, it’s very easy to do so. Unfortunately due to the weather we didn’t’ get the chance to enjoy the surrounding outdoor areas of the hotel (although we had breakfast outside, under a proud tree and it’s relaxing shade every day). However, at night we really enjoyed the inside bar area and the comfortable armchairs and couches – it’s not much, but very cosy, tasteful and relaxed – much better that what u would expect from a boutique summer resort. As to activities, apart from the obvious swimming /water skiiing options, the area is ideal for jogging, walking & bike rides, if u're into this stuff (we are!) - i assume there are much more things to do but we'll try to explore on our next trip - it seems that one can't have enough of Crete. All in all, this unpretentious, fairly priced, relaxed & tasteful boutique hotel is definitely a keeper on our list – we ll definitely check the prices this summer and try to book part of our summer holidays with a couple of friends – I just cant imagine the fun we’ll have sharing rooms (and the pool!) next to each other and enjoying the hotel & the area in the summer season as well! PS: Ask the reception and owners for super tips of the surrounding areas (restaurants in Agios Nikolaos & Plaka area! Oh! Friendly tip: ask the owners to reveal their little shopping secret in Agios Nikolaos town! We came back with some lovely goodies that spiced up our weekend!)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Palm Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 474 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

Absolutely excellent hotel the area, best value for money and hospitality

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxeloudaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

very good location , helpful staff, big variety in food(buffet),clean room

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine-Tate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 2, 2011

Thank you for sharing this review with us and all your kind words.
Please receive our warm regards, we are looking forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at Elounda Palm for a wedding of my Friend and truly enjoyed it! Service Staff was Superb! Maids cleaning your room Spotless,Receptionist is trying best possible options to help you to book last minute boat to Santorini, barmen at the pool all the times smiley with perfect recogntion skills
The breakfast buffet has a wide choice
The Facilities are wonderful - swimming pool adjacent to beautiful garden makes you feel like at private Villa!
Great Stay and we already planned to visit it again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller101972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have just enjoyed our holiday at the Elounda Palm Hotel. This was our second visit having been there in 2008. Very impressed the staff remembered us. We were looked after very well. All aspects of our holiday very pleasing really enjoyed our lovely leasurely breakfasts outside great choice of food. Rooms very comfortable with excellent air conditioning. We were impressed we could keep our rooms until 5 p.m. on day of departure. looking forward to next year when we hope to return to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IpswichSuffolkMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I feel very fortunate that I chose to book the Elounda Palm hotel for our holiday.
From the moment that we arrived 4.30am until we left at 10.30pm a week later, we were treated well by all the staff, everyone was friendly and helpful, when I explained that we were leaving late on the Friday and would it be possible to have a room, we were given free of charge a room until we left.
The complex was very well maintained, cleaned daily, as was the main pool, and our shared pool.
The rooms were cleaned daily, and towels were changed every other day.
The pool bar was run by a very amusing and fun guy, who made very moorish cocktails, the best mojito I have ever had.
I cannot comment on evening meals, but the breakfast was perfectly adequate, cold meats, cheeses, fruit, croissants, and a selection of hot bacon, egg, potato, sausage etc, not fantastic but totally sufficient.
Our room was a junior suite, and I had read mixed reviews, it wasn't huge but large enough as surely you dont go to Crete to sit in doors (well not when you live in England), whislt the outdoor space wasn't terribly bit either, enough space for a table, 2 chairs and 2 sun loungers, it again was perfectly adequate for 2 adults.
Would we choose the Elounda Palm again, Yes we would, and if I can sort out flights would like to visit again next year.
Thank you to everyone there, including other guests that made our holiday a very memorable and fun one.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent five days and four nights in Elounda. From the beginning until the end of our stay the staff and owners of the hotel showed us every courtesy. We traveled on the overnight boat from Athens and arrived at the hotel very early in the morning. We were planning to just drop our suitcases at the front desk and come back later to check in. The clerk at the front desk was very helpful and took down my phone number so she could call us as soon as our room was ready. She also suggested we have breakfast, on the house, before going anywhere else. The breakfast was wonderful, it included the typical buffet assortment but the things that really stood out were the variety of fresh fruit such as grapes, nectarines, melon, watermelon, pears, etc., and the freshly baked coffee cakes and butter cookies.
When we got to our room, there was a fruit basket with a bottle of wine waiting for us, which pleasantly surprised us. The room itself was very nice and spacious with original artwork on the walls; one of the owners is apparently quite the artist. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioner worked great. We slept through the whole night without waking up for anything, which is hard for us to do even at home. We are non-smokers and were pleasantly surprised with the complete lack of smoking related stink in the room. The bathroom was nothing special but we really liked the shower cabin that kept the water in and the outside dry. Some people complain about the lack of a bathtub, but who takes a bath in July, honestly?
Our trip took place during a strike that left most petrol stations without fuel. We expected the strike to be over by the time we left but it was not. When we realized we did not have enough fuel to reach Herakleion, the owners of Elounda Palm siphoned gasoline out of their own cars and gave it to us. What else could we ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avtwvns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
707 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#15 of 35 in Elounda
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Palm Hotel

Address: Katevati 1, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $97 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Palm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Palm Hotel is a small family run hotel located in the most beautiful area of Lasithi, the Mirabello Gulf, in Crete. Just a few minutes from the quiet fishing village of Elounda and approx. 7km away from the lively town of Aghios Nikolaos. Set in attractive gardens the Elounda Palm Hotel offers lovely and spacious sea view rooms, bungalows and suites with sharing pool. New entry is the Mellow cocktail Bar by the main swimming pool and the open air lounge cinema. Enjoy your holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elounda Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Palm Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing