We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury Villa Experience at Hotel Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
santa monica
1 review
“Luxury Villa Experience at Hotel Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

We just stayed in a 3 Bedroom gorgeous sea view villa with the private gym - the price devided by 3 couples is comparable to staying at the Blue Palace or the Peninsula (which were just ok in my opinion for big resorts).

The privacy and the view you just can't get at any of the other resorts in Elounda.

The staff and management were so friendly and helpful. The food was fabulous!
The small gym for those who don't have their own in their villa has the most amazing view at sunrise and sunset. No one is ever in it so you have it to yourself.

The best part about staying here is having the experience of having a luxury villa with 5 star hotel services.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepe7437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    52
    20
    19
    15
See reviews for
151
202
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devon.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

We fully endorse the previous review with identical rating. We arrived at 5am and were given a holding room on ground floor which smelt of stale tobacco and there was not even a bottle of water ! I asked for some water--not a great start. At 12 noon we were transferred to our suite (pasiphe) which was spacious but sofa and cushions were stained and bright orange ceiling in bathroom which was peeling. There was a coffee machine and kettle but no tea or coffee. No-one really greeted us or even showed us around(not that there is much to see) The fitness room is a joke and I had to ask for a mat to do some sit-ups. As for the massage room ,do not expect anything atmospheric,it was a square box. We have never stayed at such a poor "exercise amenity" hotel -5 star?? The complimentary halfboard meals were really poor (one night the lamb chops were so over cooked they were inedible, we complained and they allowed us 1 night on a la carte) As for the breakfasts the waitresses were lovely but the fruit was too hard and the continental breakfast was boring after 2 days. An omelette cost 12 euros if you fancy a change! the price of drinks was astronomical. The pool was lovely . We feel that this place is so over rated and so over priced that it does not do Sovereign any favours by describing it as "exclusive". We shall not be returning as we have experienced many hotels which make this look 3 star not 5. It was our 40th wedding anniversary and I let sovereign and the hotel know of our special celebration. No-one mentioned this throughout our stay--says it all really. The management are certainly missing something here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

After reading about this award winning hotel in so many top magazines for the last 2-3 years , we thought we would treat ourselves.
.After many an email we truly thought we had all our requests granted or catered for. Unfortunately the first room was small and dark ,with a minimalist balcony and poorly functioning A.C.I do not like sitting on stained chairs looking at jaded paint work either and what happened to our stunning sea view?
Food was generally uninspiring and often basic and repetitive-(as was the experience of quite a few other Tripadvisor contributors).Avoid the half board option and be prepared to take out a second mortgage if you want choice at breakfast.
Yes we chose to go there knowing it was expensive but that's OK if you come away with wonderful memories, a full stomach and a feeling that your visit was appreciated and your custom valued.
I know the Queen of Jordan spent 8 days there last summer but that does not mean that you stop caring or trying as a hotel owner/management
A quick look, by the management, at a number of poor reviews from this summer must surely tell them that they need to roll their sleeves up to start competing with newer hotels in the area, compare favourably with top establishments around the world and keep their SLH membership status intact and untarnished.
The villas are pretty impressive but a great deal of money and the cleaning was cursory at best to be honest.
The grounds are well tended and attractive.
The bar area has no atmosphere, a bored barman and a price list to take your breath away! By the way if you fancy a bottle of Moet to celebrate it will set you back 133 euros--I'll have 2!!
According to the barman, Hendriks gin MIGHT be available in Greece but probably only in Athens yet it was there, large as life, in duty free at the airport.
My advice would be to seriously look elsewhere as small , in this case, is not always beautiful or perfectly formed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank voa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leaseguard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

If this is one of the top 100 small hotels in the world, I can only imagine that the reviewer who made the judgement have not actually stayed in more than 100 hotels!

Our suite was cluttered, and generally dark, airless and weofully designed - who would put the hanging rail in the bathroom for heavens sake. The balcony from which we could glimpse the sea over the top of the hotel (strangely missing on the website) in front of our;s was unbelievably tiny: great if you've asked Aneliona Jolie back for a late night drink, but not quite so convivial if you wanted to sit out and do some work.

We had half board, but only eat in 2 nights; not enough for a balanced judgement, clearly, but long enough to know that we had to go somewhere else to actually taste anything. The lack of taste only enganced by the astonishingly surley maitre'd, unsmiling barman, and waiter with as about much self-confidence as Emily Heskey with just the goalie to beat. Breakfast is fine provided you fancy a massive boal of fruit and pasties, and dont fancy forking out an additional E10 for some cornflakes.

The 'gym' contained a few relics of gym equipment circa 1992, and the 'spa' comprised a dank massage room and sauna/steam/ shower area about the size of my car boot.

Oh and they wanted to charge E18 a day for wi-fi.

Cant wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leaseguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

This was our 4th Small Luxury Hotel holiday in the past year (Grasmere Lodge - New Zealand & Sandpiper -Barbados) so our expectations were high; what a disappointment!
We had booked a week in a suite and promised a quiet room with a good sea view on a half board basis. We had read previous reviews about the poor views in some of the rooms. The first room we were shown was small, dark, furniture needed replacing (sofa badly stained) and it only had a very small balcony with just enough room for 2 chairs. It was not as promised “a quiet luxury senior suite on 1st floor with a good view”. We were then offered the room next door which was only slightly larger or a Villa at additional cost, we had little option but to opt for the latter which had an amazing view (excusing the fact that the windows were all very dirty and had not been cleaned for some time).
However with a rack rate at over 1000 Euro per night - room only, this hotel is not of the usual high standard expected we had expected. For 2 days there was no hot water to have a shower / bath! Empty bathroom toiletries were not replaced and boxes of tissues were left empty. The room cleanliness could be better – dust everywhere, one of the deck chairs was broken and not replaced during our week stay, similarly the broken light bulb outside the front door was not replaced, all the chrome knobs on the sink unit plugs were missing – not what is expected in a hotel with such high standards and awards.
We have never given such a negative review but feel this hotel is resting on it’s laurels.
The restaurant was very disappointing and the food very basic. We booked for half board and on arrival were surprised to be told this only included continental breakfast (normally 25 Euro each) if we wanted cereals that would be 10Euro extra and a bacon and eggs even more!. Dinner was from a simple set menu comprising a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and two deserts. For the first 4 nights the main meals were with fries and a small amount of tasteless, tough meat - pork or lamb chops - no vegetables – less appetising and less substantial than lunch at the local Taverna. Desert was also unimaginative either fruit, strawberry cheesecake or ice cream. T here was an a la carte menu but this was not an option other than paying in full (no allowance for the half board) – again this was not explained in the original booking emails and confirmation. The hotel was very quiet with few guests dining – suprise suprise! but the head waiter only spoke to us on 1 occasion during our 7 night stay preferring to service and socialize with the al la carte guests.
The bar was also unfortunately uninspiring two Gin and Tonics (over 22 Euros) spoiled by mouldy off lime, cocktails were 90% ice, no taste and not replaced when the problem was politely pointed out.
We did inform the management about all the above and were therefore surprised the final bill did not have a “financial adjustment”. When we expressed our surprise we were given 137 Euros off the bill. We did not want this, all we wanted was to have had a memorable, stress free, luxury holiday given the fact we have never paid so much a night in a hotel.
Like to fairy tale story the Emperors New Clothes -we cannot therefore recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Drtravelinstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

We stayed there for 7 nights in September 2009 and found the quality of service, accomodation and food second to none in the Med. The rooms seem to vary quire a lot but certainly our suite "Penelope" was fantastic with a great view out over the sea.
All I can say is if you are going to Crete try this place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dta0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed at the EGV for our 33rd anniversary and my wife's birthday, joined by our son, his wife and their 20 month old son and stayed in two adjoining suites. we thought the service at this hotel was unusually attentive. A salad meal with a bottle of wine in the room awaiting our late arrival was most welcome.

From the word go, they could not do enough for us and we were made to feel most welcome in all quarters, starting from reception (very friendly staff, they made sure my daily newspaper was delivered to me at the swimming pool ) , the golf buggy transfer man (he happily took me all the way to the grocery store on the main road for some minor purchases in his buggy), the catering staff (they set up our sun beds every morning) and indeed the management too.

Sure its expensive but what isn't in Europe? I can read about a number of people moaning about minor things - when you are pampered, some things don't go as smoothly. And these guys moan. Maybe they should try Butlins!

I thought the infinity pool and the sea water were bliss. The place can't be everyone's cuppa tea. It's aboutique residence and the staff work hard (too hard, maybe?) - without exception, all five of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a great rest and would consider going again - it's a faboulous place to chill out in a small, friendly, attentive environment.

We could list a number of things that we could complain about but then we could also write a book on so many happy aspects of our stay - we did wish we had stayed a few days more.

Closeness to Elounda is a great asset, taxi rides were relatively inexpensive and all drivers spoke excellent English. All all staff there, thank you for a memorable visit!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trip6431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Property: Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing