We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and enjoyable vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a n excelent experience at that hotel. The service and the personal attitude made our stay pleasant and we enjoyed every moment of it.. The staff especially at the dining room was professional and very kind.
We would like to come to this hotel agai and hope we will. Helena K Prague

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Elounda Gulf Villas on the Tripadvisor website. It means a lot to us and we will share your positive feedback for the dining room staff with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 501 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our 9 day stay at Elounda Gulf Villas and Suites due to the great service and friendly environment. Rooms are spacious and comfortable; food is good; the beach is a waling distance away. I would repeat the vacation once again with same hotel..

Thank you Elounda Gulf Villas and Suites staff for the great hospitality!

Room Tip: Sea View..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and thank you so much for your positive comments in relation to our services, facilities and friendly environment. It means a lot to us.
We really hope to have you back at the Elounda Gulf Villas for another enjoyable and relaxing stay,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Elounda Gulf Villas. After extensive research generally speaking luxury hotels and villas in Crete are considerably more expensive compared to other holiday locations we have visited, but we settled on this resort as it best met our needs and pocket. We travelled with our two adult children and just wanted to rest and enjoy away from it all family time. We stayed in a three bedroomed villa (Plaka), private infinity pool with lovely marine views from terrace and balconies. The upgrade to half board was a real plus, attractive, relaxed surroundings in the bar and restaurant areas along with the helpful attentive staff kept us on resort. Food was of a good standard and the service was excellent for both restaurant and room service. A pre dinner cocktail in the bar is a must! The villa was clean and comfortable and adequately equipped with a daily maid service. We were well looked after and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a good review for our Hotel, facilities and services on Tripadvisor website.
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Villa Plaka, the infinity pool of the Villa and the views over the Gulf of Mirabello. We also thank you for your good comments regarding the Half Board offered in our Argo Restaurant.

We are delighted that our accommodation, services and facilties met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back in our boutique Villa-Hotel,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

After viewing the photos of this property on its website, my husband and I were confident that we would love this hotel. While it is located in a beautiful area, the online photos of the views are very misleading. There are buildings and telephone lines that obstruct your views, and the pool that we had with our villa (which was a two bedroom executive villa) had a very small view of the water (not the panoramic views that were displayed on the website) . It is approximately a 30 minute walk to Elounda, and there is nothing else within walking distance (so we ended up renting a car). The staff was fabulous and extremely helpful. The food was very good, however their prices were drastically higher than comparable fare in Elounda (for example, 16 euros for a gyro sandwich at the resort vs. 4 to 5 euros in town). The interior of the villa was a contradiction. It had amenities that we would never use (like an elevator), but a cheap (and extremely uncomfortable) mattress. There were nice bath towels, but terrible bed linens. The shower was not sealed between its 5 glass panes and therefore leaked water all over the bathroom floor every time it was used. Toiletries were provided, but not replaced. The workout equipment had been missing parts and couldn't be used, and not all of the light bulbs worked on the patio and were never replaced.

We spent over $1,000 per night for our room. For this amount of money, I would expect a comfortable mattress and bed linens, operable equipment (light bulbs, amenities, etc), a shower that didn't leak, and perhaps a daily shuttle into Elounda. Above all though, I would expect the views and property to be accurately portrayed on their website. Overall, we were disappointed and would not recommend this resort to our friends. We paid for a 5 star accomodation and received an outdated, ill maintained villa for the two of us.

Room Tip: Ensure room has privacy (all do not) and unobstructed views (most, if not all, do not)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Elounda Gulf Villas.

We are sorry that you did not find your experience at the Elounda Gulf Villas as enjoyable as others on Trip-advisor did.

We are happy that you enjoyed the food in Argo Restaurant and our service. The quality of the ingredients used by our chef is the best and of course it cannot be compared with that of a local taverna and/or fast food places in the village of Elounda. The Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites staff are trained to the standards of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World of which we are proud members and our aim is to offer professional but yet friendly hospitality and service to all of our guests. The pricing policy of the Hotel also keeps with other 5 star SLH Hotels in Europe.

We are surprised and really sorry to know that you found the mattress not comfortable. It is actually the first time we hear that. Most of our guests that comment on the mattress give us a positive feedback. The mattress of our beds has a topper by coco-mat company which is actually one of the best international companies that provide bed-toppers. The quality of our bed linen is 400 thread count Egyptian cotton.

Regarding the equipment missing in the gym room, note that following your comment it was found on the other gym equipment next to the other. A previous guests had misplaced it. If we had known you were searching for this, we would have been more than delighted to search for this and offer it to you. The shower in the bathroom has only 3 glass panels. Two of which are fixed on the walls and the third one is the door. We checked and the magnet on the door works properly, hence the water does not leak through the door. We apologize that the toiletries were not replaced. Amenities offered by the Villa such as the elevator are there for guests with walking disabilities. In this case, this Villa amenity is very useful and actually unique!

We would really wish to welcome you back and have the chance to change your opinion of our Hotel.

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from a few days at the Elounda Gulf Villas. What a beautiful place to stay, great location, excellent accommodation and friendly attentive staff - what more could you ask for. We were in a suite for the first part of our stay, which was spacious and well appointed, we were then upgraded to a spa villa, which was just amazing. A large infinity pool, good size lounge and fully equipped kitchen. Downstairs was a large bed, sunken spa bath, gym equipment, sauna and steam room - we felt like kings!. The food was of a high standard, and, having travelled extensively over the years, the restaurant area next to the main pool, has to be one of the most beautiful places I have ever taken breakfast. As I said above, the staff were very friendly, special mention to Katerina and Louise for putting up with endless questions without complaint! With only 27 units, it never feels busy and makes for a very relaxing escape. We haven't stopped talking about it, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: If you going for a suite, ask for Phaedra, it is close to the main pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandSara_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It means a lot to us.
We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay in our Suite and Villa and you had a relaxing escape!
We thank you for recommending our property and we look forward to welcoming you back soon,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed in a 3 bedroomed villa called villa milatos for 10 days. On arrival we were driven to our villa so we did not have to walk up the hill .The fridge was full of food and a bottle of wine was waiting for us .The villa was beautiful and very modern .We had everything we needed .I have stayed in elounda many times and this is the best hotel if you want a first class service the staff cant do enough for you .The night porter would take us to our villa in the golf buggy every evening when we got back from the village of elounda .The breakfast buffet is amazing we were spoilt for choice and cleo the waitress was very friendly and helpful , she made us smoothies every morning.The room service was very good and the maid was very friendly and cleaned the villa every day.I will be returning in september .I highly recommend a new greek bar called the 4seasons and a restaurant called the olondi which is next to the ferryman restaurant .the food in elounda is cheap and we paid on average 33 euros for starters , main and drinks .Even though we paid half board we chose to eat in the local tavernas as the food is amazing .we cant wait to go back to elounda , very relaxing place.

Room Tip: make sure your room has a private pool and a sea view as the price is worth paying for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeelounda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
My team and I are all so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay in our Pool Villa Milatos.
It was also great to see your holiday photos, many thanks for posting them.
We look forward to welcoming you back in September,

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were so happy to pull up to this hotel, what a beautiful property. We were instantly greeted with someone to take our luggage and lead us to the reception. We got a beautiful room at first and two days in we were upgraded to a stunning, huge suite. The pool area is beautiful and whimsical at night. The entire property is spotless and well manicured. The view is gorgeous, although there are some telephone lines, we were so enamored with the vast blue ocean we hardly noticed them. The restaurant had great cocktails and yummy food, however it's not as traditional greek as we had hoped for. The breakfast, though, is amazing with a wide selection of eggs, breads, pastries, yogurt, honey, jams and jellies, cereals, smoothies, you name it. The only con was the distance into Elounda. It was farther than we thought and before we got there, we really weren't well informed on how long it would take to walk into town. The hotel website, google maps, trip advisor, all seemed to have different results. Just know you'll have a 30 min walk or a 7 euro cab ride.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moustakas, Manager at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review onTripadvisor, for posting your holiday photos and your feedback!

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope we will have the chance to welcome you back at Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites.

Best Regards
Aris Moustakas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.7 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
3.4 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $250 - $1,027 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Gulf Villas Hotel Elounda
Elounda Gulf Hotel
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing