We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking Views and lovely people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views and lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have just returned from Elounda Blu after spending our Honeymoon there. We were delighted when we arrived at the hotel. It looked lovely and the layout, although steep was charming and the views incredible! The hotel turned out to be excellent with friendly, hard working, helpful staff. Our room was decorated in petals when we arrived and they had left a bottle of wine and a basket of fruit in our room since they knew we were on Honeymoon. It was a lovely touch and immediately made us feel special. The plunge pool on our balcony was a fantastic bonus. The room was a good size with tea/coffee, hairdryer, TV. I loved the strong shower with various blast sprays. The room was clean and kept that way the whole time we were there. It was peaceful and lovely and quiet at night. Thank goodness for good air conditioning, the weather was brilliant! The food was excellent with a good choice at all mealtimes!
The walk into the fishing village of Elounda was one of the most picturesque I have ever seen. We walked the 1.2km into the village quite a number of times during our stay and never tired of it. We are mountain runners and the surrounding area provided us with a good choice of routes to run. The local people were friendly and welcoming. There was a great choice of places to eat or just sit and relax with a drink or a coffee. Good wifi and internet access everywhere.
It is easy to hire a car or other vehicle if you want to see a bit more of the island. The hire companies deliver to and collect from the hotel. We found this very helpful. We hired a Suzuki Jimny and spent a fantastic time exploring right to the south coast of the island.
One thing struck me, the cleanliness of the whole area right down to the toilets was remarkable. The beaches in the area were lovely, including the hotel beach. There was a lovely secure, safe feeling about the whole area and we will definitely return. Could not recommend this hotel and area highly enough!
One thing we did not like was nothing to do with the hotel but to do with the excursion we booked with Thomas Cook to visit the historic island of Spinalonga off the coast of Plaka and Elounda. They took us all the way to the nearest big town, Agia Nikolaos for a very uncomfortable hour long boat ride when there were daily regular visits from Elounda that were alot cheaper and only 20 mins of a boat ride. It was even shorter from nearby Plaka.

Room Tip: The rooms with a pool on the balcony are a great asset particularly when the main pool is busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    422
    151
    45
    16
See reviews for
90
973
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My new wife and I came here for our honeymoon, and from the moment we arrived could not have been made to feel more welcome. The staff are fantastically attentive to anything you may need, and nothing is to much trouble. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained, we were upgraded to a suite with private pool and jacuzzi bath, what a lovely surprise! Would recommend elounda blu to anyone and will certainly be returning to experience it again .

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Oli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have just returned from an extremely enjoyable weeks all inclusive stay at the Eluounda Blu. The staff are extremely friendly, attentive and very hard working. The food is excellent, plenty of choice and very good quality and diversity (the diet starts now!). The room, although not massive, was big enough for 2 with the most amazing view over the bay. The bathroom was compact. The room was clean and well maintained with fridge, kettle, cups and air con. Be prepared for either a 25 minute walk or a cab ride to the nearest villages for bars and restaurants. The hotel is on a steep driveway with steps to the rooms, however it's well worth the little effort this requires for the views and the pleasure of staying at this brilliant hotel. We would definitely, definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Came here for 1 week holiday with my boyfriend half board, Thomas cook.
Firstly this hotel is over 1hour away from the airport. Which myself and my partner were not told about prior to booking. The coach driver who drove us and around 12 other couples to our hotels was crazy! I don't know how we made it to the hotel alive to be honest.
On arrival (around 10pm)hotel looked beautiful all lit up in the dark, greeting was lovely, a young boy took us to our apartment and carted our suitcases al the way up the hill to the apartments which is a Massive pain! Once in the apartment it was cool and seemed clean, we payed extra for the use of the safe in our room, think it was around 20+ euros.
Unfortunately 2 or so days in I fell severely ill and was vomiting & diarrhoea throughout the rest of the holiday which ruined it completely as you can imagine, not sure weather it was due to climate change or food, either way I was bed bound most days. Hurrendous. One night (whilst ill) I woke up and cought the sight of a lizard above the air con on the wall, phoned reception to see if someone could come and get it, they said no and offered us another room for the night, which I wasn't happy about as you can imagine being as ill as I was the last thin I wanted to do was to be carted about especially as I knew we would have to walk a long way to the room. We even asked if they had something for my partner to catch it in himself to save the hassle of moving room for 1 night. But they said no!
In general this hotel is ok on the surface but when you get down to the nitty gritty and little things that matter when your on holiday it hit wasn't there for me! Indoor pool and jacuzzi was freezing cold! The two women working in the pool/ spa area were so rude and miserable we felt so unwanted asif we were an inconvenience. We could not go in pool outside cause it was to full, packed!
We spent most days on the private beach which is at the bottom of the huge hill the hotel stands on. Which was a godsend as it was so peaceful and had lovely little bar and ice creams available.
The walk to the 'local' shops and resteraunte is about 25 min walk away at good pace. My feet were so sore each day from all the waking as I didn't brig appropriate footwear cause I didn't think I would have to walk that much very day/ evening. There aren't really any decent shops and the ones that are there sell the same exact same things.
The hotel has no evening entertainment at all. Which was a real shame. I just wished we had looking a lot more in depth before booking here cause it wasn't a very good holiday at all, even without being I'll it was still pretty crap!
Go elsewhere as there are plenty more hotels with better facilities and closer to shops bars ect!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariew3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have visited the Elounda Blu 4 times now, and are going back soon for a 5th visit. For the price you just cannot beat it. Situated up a steep hill, it has views to die for. We really enjoy the food, and drink, but the best thing about this hotel is the people. The staff stay on from year to year, and are all so friendly and hard working - nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean, and we have stayed in different types of room - once with a shared pool, once in a suite, and twice in a standard sea view room, and they are all of a high standard. The pool area is just the right size - we have never had any trouble getting a sun lounger, and the bar is adjacent which is handy. Evening entertainment is laid on but is never too loud. The indoor pool and spa area are also of a top standard. Nikos, Mary, Manolis, Kostas and Nektarios all do a great job (sorry I cant remember the other's names!) and seem to be there at all hours of the day to ensure guests have the best holiday experience. We are looking forward to returning in a couple of weeks - I cant wait to have my first pina colada while looking out over the beautiful bay of Elounda. See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BKSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights in Sept 2013, had perfect weather, the food was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned everyday. Would defiantly go back again as the views were just breath taking.

Room Tip: There is a steep hill to get up to some of the rooms, but helps work off that little over indulgence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kays2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I stayed here for 7 nights half board in October 2013. Very warm, and not very touristy at this time. The staff are lovely here, especially the lady in the shop by reception. Was a great holiday in lovely surroundings. However the food sometimes can be variable, especially in the evenings. Also sadly my partners watch got stolen in our room, we reported it to reception and sadly nothing was done to help us. This kind of ruined the trip for us as it was of high sentimental value and non-replaceable. Because of this we won't be returning, just don't trust the security of our belongings which is such a shame. If you do go, take valuables with you, not secure enough in the room.

Room Tip: Pick a room higher up, they're generally better quality as we were originally in a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Property: SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing