We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elounda Blu Hotel - Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elounda Blu Hotel - Crete”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a beautiful place, staff were fantastic and so friendly. Our first room was a little tired looking and we had no hot water, before we knew it we were moved into a suite.

We were a little worried about going for the hotels last week before closing for the winter as we thought that they would hardly have anything. How wrong we were, the food was superb and plentiful, lovely selection and everything so fresh and very tasty.

We had a fantastic time and are hoping to go again next year.

We just hope that they give the hotel a little face lift as it does look tired.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite we were in 220, fantastic views of the bay looking onto Spingalonga Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    431
    154
    46
    16
See reviews for
94
1,027
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned from a week at this Hotel and had a great time, I didn't give 5 stars as when we were there, there were only about another 60 guests at most so obviously the service was great. Food was delicious at all times we were AI and drinks excellent. The pool area is lovely as is the small beach but during high season I can imagine there is a struggle to find a sunbed so my advise go the last week of the season the weather was perfect hotel peaceful and very relaxing. One negative as mentioned in other reports the hotel is set on a steep hill so beware.

Room Tip: We had a basic room on the second level it was spotlessly clean, huge double bed plently of hanging...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrandyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Elounda Blu on an all inclusive basis right at the end of the season, 15th-29th October. For those would prefer a concise review, here is my summary: a great hotel with unbeatable views over the Mirabello Bay to Spinalonga. Food good, service great. A bit of a climb up the hill to the rooms, but nothing too strenuous for the able-bodied.

Now for the long-winded stuff. It was a happy accident that we ended up at the Elounda Blu. Our original hotel was closed on the dates I had booked. I discovered this shortly before we were due to fly only because I decided to e-mail the hotel directly to check the booking. Moral of story: if you're booking through a third party, (in our case, Thomas Cook) always, always check with your hotel. The staff at the hotel that we originally chose are adamant that they gave Thomas Cook a final closure date way back in February, and I believe them. Thomas Cook's 'Customer Care' - one of those nonsense phrases, like 'friendly fire' - was poor to say the least. I soon realised that if I was to end up with any kind of a holiday, I was going to have to do a lot of the research myself. I found the Elounda Blu online and after much tedious wrangling managed to get the booking switched. At one point TC threatened to charge an admin fee for this transaction. I despair.

Anyway, in the end I think we got a very good deal indeed. Elounda is truly beautiful. Greece isn't short of picturesque places but it would be hard to beat the view over the bay. The hotel is in a quiet location but is only a short and easy stroll away from the village. The walk takes you along a lovely seaside path. It's lit at night, so if you fancy a night out at one of the many tavernas, you can find your way home without incident. Inevitably, the village is quite 'touristy', but not unpleasantly so. It's small and laid-back - worlds away from the Hersonissos and Malia strip, which reminds me of a super-sized Margate-On-Sea, with added sunshine.

Now, for the hotel itself. We liked our room. It wasn't luxurious but it was simple and modern, with a nice big bed and a great balcony overlooking the bay. The balcony was in shade most of the time, but sun-worshippers can always laze by the pool or on the beach. The bathroom was, well, compact but contained a very nice shower. The only downside was that it was impossible to use it without soaking the bathroom floor. Since other reviewers had bemoaned the lack of coffee-making facilities in their rooms, it was a nice surprise to find that a kettle, cups and drink sachets had been provided for us. No need to lug that travel kettle all the way from the UK, then. My only real gripe is that there was just ONE available electrical point in the room. This had to serve the kettle and the hairdryer (a weedy one is provided, but bring your own unless you only have a three-hair comb over to deal with) as well as a table lamp. Swapping these around would have driven me bonkers enough, but we also had two mobile 'phones, a Kindle and a laptop to charge. Luckily other guests had already commented on this problem via Trip Advisor, so we packed a multi-way adaptor that allowed us to turn one point into half a dozen. Worth the weight in your suitcase. Make room by leaving the stilettos at home. You'll only break your ankle anyway. What you want is sturdy granny-issue flatties, preferably with a nice grippy sole. The path down to the dining room is not only steep, but a bit slippery in places. Every room has a safe, but you have to pay extra for it. Slightly cheeky, I think, when you're on an all-inclusive. It would be a brave person who left their passports and valuables unsecured, so it is not an optional service. Now, personal matters. Readers who are of a sensitive disposition should look away now. You have to bin your loo paper. It's standard practice in Greece, I'm afraid. The drains turn very ugly indeed at the first sign of Andrex. It's not a huge issue because bins are thoroughly cleaned every morning by a band of stalwart cleaners who, in my opinion, deserve some sort of medal for bravery. However, we don't find the idea of living in close proximity to The Bin Of Horrors particularly conducive to a nice holiday, so we always buy a roll of plastic bags (freely available in the village) and hermetically seal any nastiness before it hits the bin. Recommended.

We're not really beach people but even we spent some time on the hotel's beach. It's a really beautiful spot and there is a nice beach bar for drinks and ice creams. It's not a sandy beach - more like clinker - but the hotel has done its best to make it a good place to be. There are nice sunloungers, each placed on a sort of island of wooden decking. As other reviewers have already commented, the beach portaloo is best reserved for dire emergency.

There is an indoor pool in the spa. Guests can use it at no extra charge, along with the jacuzzi and gym facilities.

We liked the restaurant. Inevitably, it has a slightly 'canteen' feel, but it has lovely views over the bay and two areas with outside seating. It's a joy to eat your breakfast on the sunny terrace - although you can't always be sure of a table. Service is good. Last year we stayed at a five-star hotel where you were required to get your own wine from a tap even at dinner time, but here the restaurant staff ask you what you would like and bring it to your table. The food is very good indeed. I don't eat meat but still managed to find a good selection of suitable dishes each day.

A few things which are not under the hotel's control but are worth knowing. First, Heraklion Airport. If you've never experienced it before, be prepared. I understand that a new airport is planned for 2015. Until then, we have to make do with an airport that was never designed with mass tourism in mind and struggles to cope with the large numbers of people that are disgorged into it through the day and most of the night. Even a minor flight delay can turn the place into Bedlam. Keep checking your gate number for the flight home, as I have never yet been given the right one when I've checked in. Don't necessarily expect an orderly queue. You might get one, but there again you might get a free-for-all. After fighting our way onto practically the last TC flight out of Heraklion, my husband asked the stewardess if we were on the correct flight. 'It's chaos out there,' he added. Five minutes later, as if to prove his point, a lady with mobility problems hobbled painfully onto the plane with her airport helper in tow only to be told that she'd got the wrong plane.

Transfers from the airport to Elounda can be long and tedious, especially in peak season when the bus meanders around many hotels. Elounda is the last place on the route. If you can't face hours on a bus and possibly arriving at your destination in the wee small hours, I would strongly recommend that you make your own transfer arrangements. A taxi costs around fifty euros, and is money well spent. Alternatively you can hire a car very cheaply. We opted for a small car for the whole two weeks, and it meant that we not only avoided the bus but could do many lovely excursions well away from the tourist centres. It does help that mountain roads hold no fears for my husband, however. Some routes are definitely not for the faint hearted. If you don't have a sat nav that covers Greece, hire a car that has one.

Lots of people have asked me what it is like to be in Elounda right at the end of the tourist season. Obviously it is quieter than peak season - which suits me just fine - but there is no shortage of shops and tavernas which remain open throughout October There are still a fair few tourists around. The last week of our trip did have a slightly 'end of term feel': inevitably the hotel was winding down toward closure but this didn't really bother us. The weather was fantastic throughout our two weeks - sunny and warm, but not oppressively hot. I gather that this year was somewhat unusual. October generally has about five or six days on which some rain falls, as well as some cloud, so visitors are likely to have a few off days. Night falls quickly in October and the evenings can be chilly, so you need a light jumper or jacket. I'd happily take another October break, however.

One final thing. The hotel is lovely, and many people want nothing more than to flop by the pool all day and then stroll to the restaurant. If you find yourself getting bored, however, there is the most perfect traditional taverna just down the road. Walk along the main promenade towards Elounda. About half way along you'll see a sign pointing up the hillside to the village of Mavrikiano. It's a steep climb, but well worth it. There you'll find 'το ραkάδικο του καμάρη' - The Hope. Great food, a warm welcome and a view to die for.

Good hotel, wonderful location. Would definitely stay at the Elounda Blu again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank constantgardenerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had 7 nights all inclusive at the Elounda Blu from 22 October 2013 and this being our first experience of AI and Crete, it was outstanding. The staff were brilliant, very professional and very friendly and it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. The food (and view) was superb - an excellent variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner and the Cretan wine very, very enjoyable - a hidden gem! Bottled water was always available too. A very comfortable large double room with air con, hair dryer and small fridge. Tea/coffee making facilities and a shower room. We run out of clothes hangers and upon enquiring, instantly more appeared. We had superb views of the bay and Spinalonga island from our balcony (worth a visit) and enjoyed a couple of evenings just sipping wine and enjoying the ambience. We were on the 3rd level - there are 5, but the incline is worth it. The private beach is not sandy, but not a problem. Good sunbeds on decking and the towels were provided at reception. Best to wear 'beach shoes' for paddling and swimming as the stones in the water could be uncomfortable. We bought some snorkels and masks in the hotel shop and made good use of them. The beach bar was well stocked and we had a good selection of cocktails and drinks being all inclusive. The draught beer was deliciously cold and yes it was hot even towards the end of October and the shade was welcome. We did not make use of the Spa, Gym and main pool - they looked inviting though, as we were very happy being beach side. The main bar itself was well stocked and we were again well looked after there too. The Asian restaurant is worth a visit and again delicious food. The Cretan dancing entertainment was energetic and good fun. Must mention there is a lift from basement (toilets) to the 2nd level and the design of the hotel being built into the side of the hill is inspired. Some of the rooms have their own small pool too. Even though the Elounda Blu closes for the winter, even to the last day, the service, food etc. was still outstanding. Would we come back - most definitely. Can't wait to see more of Crete now. (Linda UK.)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Elounda Blu for our honeymoon at the end of August beginning of September 2013. We had the most amazing time and loved every minute of it.
The hotel views were out of this world looking straight out onto the sea. We had the very top room with a private pool, which was lovely. There was quite a steep walk up to it, but we didn't mind. The private pools are really just for dunking, however we had our own deck chairs and decking area which made it perfect to relax and do what we wanted.
The food was delicious and the staff were first class. We were all inclusive and the wine was very good- just what we would have ordered at a restaurant.
The private beach was a nice change and there are plenty of things to do such as Spinalonga, visit the little fishing village of Plaka and we also spent a day at the Six Senses Spa Elounda, which was incredible!
The rooms were clean, although basic, but the food and staff certainly made up for it.
We will certainly go back in the future, it was the perfect honeymoon location for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Elounda Blu on a half-board package. The hotel staff were excellent, ranging from the personal touch the management added in greeting and ensuring you were happy to the staff in the breakfast/dinner service. They organised careful theme nights which featured Crete's fantastic produce and cuisine, the food was excellent and the stay was wonderful. We experienced the spa - highly recommend it - simple, clean and professional, pool was great size with animator organising aerobics and the room was clean and comfortable. Lovely view of Spinalonga and good location. Highly recommended! Not far from the lovely beach along the spine of the bay called "kolokitha".

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just come back from a wonderful relaxing stay here. The hotel has spectacular views, excellent food with Greek specialities for breakfast, lunch & dinner as well as other foods for all tastes, plenty of selections. No nightclubs or discos which added to the benefit of having a peaceful, relaxing stay which is just what we were looking for. Elounda town was a pleasant 20 min walk along the sea front or 45 min walk to Plaka. Beach just across a quiet road opposite the hotel with clear, clean water - blue flag beach. Service was excellent and staff friendly. The hotel is built on a cliff so the walk back to our room each night kept us fit, but the view was worth it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Daniella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,827 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
557 reviews
2.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Property: SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing