We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elounda Blu Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elounda Blu Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

An amazing time we went all inclusive and well worth it, very good choice and nothing too much trouble for the staff. We stayed in a Junior Suite with private pool and well worth the extra charge. Must read the Island before going to Spinalonga as a well worth experience. Must go on the little red train with Ziggy. Must say that the a la carte restaurant not as good as the main restaurant not much choice.

Room Tip: I would stay in the 200 as above that it is quite a climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    443
    158
    49
    16
See reviews for
98
1,055
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The view from the balcony is spectacular but it comes at a price. As they say no pain, no gain! The hotel is built into the side of a mountain and the lift from reception only goes up 2 floors and then you have to walk up a very steep incline to the rooms. We had no issues with this but it would be very difficult with anyone with walking difficulties, which is stated in the hotel info online. Not a place for ladies who like their high heels. We arrived in the dark so when we opened the curtains onto the balcony the following day it was definitely a wow factor. The hotel is very clean, food good and the staff friendly. The hotel can get a little crowded around he pool but you can walk down to the beach but again you are walking down a steep pathway which means its a steep walk back to the hotel and onwards to your room. Its a great base for looking around the area. Buses run to nearby Plaka and to Aghious Nikolaos which is a lovely town well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Writing this while sitting on my balcony overlooking the bay and Spinalonga island.
It is mid October, the resort is shutting down, but the staff here are as fresh and helpful as if it were the first day of the season.
Our room (a junior suite), is spacious! clean with amazing views. Tea making facilities and my wife is in the jacuzzi on the balcony to cool off, only down side was the main bath (with jacuzzi also) was a bit tired.

The food, buffet style, has been first class, well cooked and presented. The. Evening poolside entertainment was of a very high standard.

Pool is excellent, and the staff bring free iced water, but the beach, despite what they say in the website, has not one grain of sand! But is good with shower, WC and the little bar.

The next village, Plaka, is smaller but much nicer than Elounda, but we are a little older!

The hotel might benefit from a little freshening up, but I am sure that this will happen in the close season.

Points to watch - The Monday fish buffet is great, but very expensive - prices are not mentioned so be warned.

We were very satisfied with our late season deal.

Room Tip: Most rooms are up a fairly steep hill, we were allocated one at the base, we did hear the kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diehard1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was worried about the transfer time, especially with such a late flight, but took only 1hr35mins, not the 2hrs40mins the brochure said, although it was a bit longer going back!. We checked in quickly and were told there were snacks in the fridge as we'd missed dinner. The room was basic but clean, although not much wardrobe space, and nice shower room.
When opening our patio the next morning, we were very impressed with our shared pool, and the view was beautiful, I enjoyed looking at it all fortnight!
The staff were very friendly and efficient especially Kostas the waiter, who was lovely.The food was nice, plenty of choice, mainly Greek, but a bit repetetive and lovely breakfasts. We were all inclusive, and I asked one day why no soup at lunch, and we got soup every day after that, which was good!, so they are open to suggestions.
We are hoping to go back again sometime as it was such a nice relaxing holiday, but if you're looking for things to do at night theres very little, but this suited us fine!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunlover026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I found the staff at Elounda Blu to be exceptional in every way. We stayed there from October 1st 2013 for one week. The food was great, but to be quite honest it pays to go all inclusive, which you can do when you get there. The drinks are quite expensive. We booked half board in a junior suite and on the first night four drinks cost us 20euros. The all inclusive is 25 Euros per day , which when you consider this covers your lunch and all your drinks is a very good deal! The beach bar and the pool bar are great, the restaurant staff are fantastic and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The only downside is the location which is very hilly and although we pride ourselves on being very fit, even we struggled!! So beware! The views are fantastic, we were in room 323 which is actually on the fourth level. We had a lovely time and met some lovely people which is what a holiday is all about.

Room Tip: If you are not fit enough to walk up gradients of about one in ten two or three times a day this hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been looking forward to this Thomas Cook holiday for 3 years to mark our 50th birthdays, and perhaps we had big it up to much in our minds, but for over £2k for a week I was expecting something outstanding.

Down side
Thomas Cook said not suitable for people with walking difficulties, I think that you need to be quite fit to walk up to the higher rooms.
There was bad smell that woke us up on 3 nights at 3am, seems to be from watering the gardens, may be brown water (dirty)
The restaurant was not fitted out to a 4 star hotel standard in my opinion, more like a breakfast room.
We was told by the Thomas Cook rep that there was a no reservation policy on sunbeds, you could leave for a hour while you when to lunch but that was all, this prove to be rubbish as we saw a couple sit for 10 minutes in the morning and then leave for the next 7 hours, and return to collect their towels in the late afternoon.
The Asian restaurant was included in the All include package for one night, but was nothing outstanding.
No bottle water for rooms after the first night.
€18 for the safe per week after paying £2k.

Tim & Sue

Up side

The staff were outstanding, could not be more helpful and friendly, particularly Nickos on reception, the restaurant manager and maria.
The views are really great but that the up side to the hill.
The food was very good, and they did a great job keeping it coming and it was noted the head chef would regularly come out to check on how it was going.
Leaving food in the fridge for late arrivals.
Great room but this was the junior suite with the private pool, the checkout room which I think is more likely to be the standard rooms not so good.

Room Tip: Really not suitable unless you are fit for the highest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 24 sept - 2 oct 2013. Loved it - first time A/I and the food was excellent - all day long.
Our room 222 was also very good with lovely sea view. The balcony had sun am only but you need a break from the sun at times. A/C included but extra for the deposit box. We tried the Asian, which was wonderful, but you need to book at reception, as it's only small and this is also included in A/I with with a bottle of wine with all dinners.The beach is beautiful but you need shoes as it's all pebbles. As for water - the staff at the pool bar would provide this free of charge with your own bottle they refill. The staff excellent and polite - would do anything for you!
This hotel is set in a hillside and the higher floors are a very steep climbs and there is a lift to the 1st floor only. We also met lovely people on our stay

Room Tip: Room 222 we found ideal good views but balcony partly sunny. But you have a slight climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozzaMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
207 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Property: SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#6 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing