We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for total relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENTIDO Elounda Blu
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed in August for two weeks on an all inclusive basis which represented excellent value for money. The hotel suited our need for a totally, relaxing holiday with no children around in the middle of the summer holidays. The staff here are absolutely tremendous and work tirelessly to ensure you have a lovely time.The food is traditional but very tasty and there was always lots of choice for every meal. The outside terrace has the best atmosphere for an evening meal as the inside feels a little like a staff canteen like many buffet restaurants. However, the management are listening very carefully to feedback and some of the less favourable comments I read on this website before leaving have already been acted upon. The rooms themselves have everything you need but don't really have a luxurious feel as they are a little tired. However, they are clean and the air conditioning provides a welcome reprieve from the intense heat. The views from your balcony make you feel lucky to be alive and if you have a room with access to your own pool then I'm not sure you'd want to leave. The spa does feel luxurious and is a really tranquil environment to spend some time away from the busier main pool area which is busy all day. There were just about enough loungers and umbrellas for those who wanted to stay at the hotel rather then go down to the small beach, although you needed to reserve one before going in for breakfast. Being away from the centre of Elounda was ideal for our needs but the walk is all on the flat, once you've navigated the slope from the hotel itself. Taxis were 5 euros from the centre. We would't hesitate to recommend the hotel and would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: The higher the number on each level, the further away from the main building which is good if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christina_and_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

If you want a quiet, friendly hotel that has good facilities but isn't too big then this is for you. We stayed here in August 2012 and were very impressed with the staff, they were first class and equal to any top hotel you might choose to stay in. The hotel is clean with entertainment on most evenings. It is a little away from the town of Elounda but there is a bus service that is very cheap. The hotel has its own beach and pool. The only difficulty we encountered was that there were not enough umbrellas for shade around the pool, however the advantages of this place far out way this one problem and I would definitely visit again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: most rooms have a sea view, however due to the hill location a lower floor will mean you don't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbcaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We've just returned from a 7 day AI stay at Elounda Blu and can honestly say we had a fabulous week there. The hotel looks exactly as it does in the brochure and was very clean in all areas. The pool is pretty and the views from the hotel are beautiful. We received a very warm welcome from Monika on reception and found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful (especially Nektarios, Dragos and Christina) from the bar areas and Manolos in the restaurant. The room was smaller than thought and on level 2 (thankfully) Our bathroom was small but functional, the shower was great but unfortunately we had a leaky drain that smelled awful! The balcony was tiny but we had amazing views although we felt for some of the guests below us who had upgraded to have their own pools as our balcony over looked these! The restaurant food was ok, plenty of choice, greek dishes every day but not 4 star quality. To another reviewers point about the restaurant feeling like a canteen, we agree but feel it's like that in any buffet style restaurant where table service isn't offered. The Asian Restaurant, whilst small (and sometimes a bit airy on breezy nights) dished up yummy food and great service. The Grill restaurant (where we ate lunch on 3 occasions) is not part of AI which we couldn't understand as the food was quite basic (although very enjoyable) The waitress wanted to charge us for a beer and coke with lunch when you can bring it in with you from the pool bar 50 yards away. She did see reason however when my husband pointed this out. We spent time both at the pool and and at the beach and whilst we are not late risers, were unable to get sunbeds on 2 occasions (as early as 9ish) as all were reserved. The irritating thing being where people had reserved beds early in the morning but perhaps didn't use them until afternoon. We also saw people who had reserved beds at the pool and on the beach! Whilst we like a bit of space around our sunbeds, the hotel could add another 10 or so beds at the bar end without impacting the existing layout and space. There was a good mix of nationalities at the hotel which was good and we met some really fun people. The entertainment (every other night) was ok but not 4 star standard and towels and bed linen changed every other day is not 4 a 4 star standard either. The walk to Elounda was pleasant (if not a little dark and I wouldn't try it in high heels as the paving is traditional Greek so uneven) and there are many good bars and restaurants there. For a great night out head to the Mexican restaurant, Makaido on the main road. Georgia and Warren give you such a warm welcome, the food is tasty (we returned twice to eat) and I had the best margarita I've ever tasted out with Mexico. This holiday ticked all of our boxes after such a dreary and wet Summer in the UK and we would definitely consider going back. It's worth taking AI as the difference between half board and AI is minimal.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a lower level to avoid the punishing walk up a very steep hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food is good fresh local produce! The pool is beautiful and the views from the rooms are stunning!

I think the negative comments are for the wrong hotel! It's fab!!!

Its quiet and the fact there are no kids is brilliant! Loads of couples to go for drinks with or spend a quiet night either way it's great!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Timothy_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having read lots of other reviews for this place my husband and I weren't sure what to expect and we don't usually take much notice of reviews as opionions can be very different. I must agree that the actual Hotel, i.e the communal areas, are a lot more 'up market' than the rooms but this is only judged on our own room, which was clean, comfortable and adequate but I wouldn't say that it was freshly refurbished. Also the air conditioning was very weak and as August is the hottest time, this was a problem. The shower was new and modern which was great and the bathroom was small but unless you are obese then it doesn't really matter. The lounge area, bar and reception were all very tastefully furnished with some nice pieces of furniture, etc. We don't spend lots of time in the room whilst on holiday, especially in such a beautiful place as Elounda and the surrounding area, and the views from the Hotel are amazing. The pool is a good shape for swimming and although some people have complained about the shortage of sunbeds, we managed to get them everyday, usually on the way to breakfast about 9.00. Maybe the later risers had trouble but if there were enough sunbeds around the pool to match the amount of guests, they would be packed like Sardines. We only used to spend the morning at the pool so vacated our sunbeds accordingly. If you are unfit or lazy then I would stay well clear of this Hotel as it is really up high on a hill, hence the great views. You could always ask for a low room when you book, so don't be put off. The food is fantastic, good quality, great choices and plenty of it so it is good to burn a few calories up the hill. We used to have a pre-dinner cocktail, made to perfection by 'Nektarios' the friendly and hard working ( as all the staff are) Bar tender. Our usual was 'Bahama Mama' which was so yummy that we didn't try any others.The walk to Elounda is really pleasant and a Taxi back is only 5-6 Euros if you don't fancy a walk back but it is easy enough. I had a lovely enjoyable holiday and the only critism is not for the Hotel but for Thomas Cook and the transfers...they were long, being the last drop off, and we were picked up at 10.50am when our flight was not until 3.30 and the queue at the airport going home was totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank mapesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Arrived at 3 a.m in the dark. Woke up to wonderful scenery. The sky was blue and step outside to heat and sunshine.What more do you need after a grey wet england.
Our suite was very clean,thanks to the hard working team of cleaners. The staff in the main resturant were friendly, always smiled at you and spoke to you. The buffet was the best we have had. Always fresh salads and friuts, the hot food was hot and a good choice. It was always being replaced so it didn't dry out.
As for the asian resturant, it could get a little blowie up there, but the food was 1st class as was the service.The food again was freshly cooked for you and you could taste each part of each dish. It had a good choice of dishes from chinese to sushi to noodles. Well recomended. As for the evening bar men and his staff well what a night you got with the raki.

The entertantment was a good mix you had singers, 3 dancing girls another night, cretan music and dancers on another.

We did not stay up by the pool we went down to the beach. Were we met Natassa who was serving food and drinks, keeping the beach clean, sorting beds out for everyone. Always smiling, you had a warm welcome from her and she was the right person for the job. The sea was so clean you could see the fish,but the best bit NO JET SKIS. Just a few boats going by.
I'm hoping we will be returning next year, it was the only holiday I wanted to stay 3 weeks not 2.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Have just returned from a two week honeymoon at the hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned if you are part of Thomas Cook style package you will not be first drop off as promised you wont even be the first resort drop off! We were the very last drop off in the second resort! I would never really be bothered about something so small but why do Thomas Cook blatantly make promises they cant keep!! Anyway enough of the rant back to the hotel....

Upon arrival we impressed with the overall look of hotel and the pool although a little bit worried as workmen were completing some work in the main reception. We were given room 305 which had amazing views of the bay and over to spinalonga. It was lovely to read Victoria Hislops 'The island' whislt being able to see the exact place the book is based on. It was nice that the hotel had made note of our honeymoon as we were given flowers scattered around the room with fresh fruit and wine. I don't think the room had been renovated as it was nothing special but fine for our needs, The bathroom was great with a new shower cubicle with three different jets. The bathroom did not leak or flood and after visting Greece 8 times now this is unheard of! On a few day the drain leaked with what smelt like waste. it really did smell disgusting and We were both retching walking past the drains!

We were half board but only ate dinner there twice. We had a good deal so we had the money to eat out. The food was fine but not much traditional greek cusine. The atomosphere in the dining room was also a bit weird cant out my finger on it. The staff weren't rude but I didn't fine them particularly friendly either more like robots. I would say the hotel buffet is more geared to the russian hotel guests as there were lots. We found the other guests to be rude and this is another reason we didnt eat at hotel we couldn't be bothered to sit and eat with the others it just felt like school dinners. This has re-confirmed to me halfboard and AI is not for me. I much prefer the freedom of eating out in traditonal greek tavernas.

The pool area was annoying with a distinct lack of sunbeds and umberellas. By 9 O'clock they had all gone and people also reserved beds on the beach. The beach was fine with a nice big four poster bed type thing to sunbathe on.

We found the hotel to be quite expensive for drinks and with the hotel being a good 25 min walk into Elounda it was too hot in the day to walk so you had no choice but to buy from the hotel shop. The lady in the shop is the only member of staff I found to be friendly.

We did walk into the town in the evening for food and the walk is along the harbour with nice views across the bay. Elounda has some good restaraunts and we found Eden bar to be the best.

The hotel hill is very step and I was glad our hotel was only a little way up it as it was a killer the heat.But the amazing views from this hotel are 100% worth it.

I would recomend a trip to Spinalonga and also the Happy train. They were both cheap and easily accessible in the town.

We had a postive experience in the hotel and we had a great honeymoon but I wouldn't return there isnt enough about the hotel to draw me back. I would however reccomend it to others and hope people arent put off by the review as there were only a few tiny niggles.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank smithyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
23.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
102.1 mi away
Santa Marina Plaza
Santa Marina Plaza
#9 of 31 in Agia Marina
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Elounda Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Elounda Blu

Address: Agia Paraskevi, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#6 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $76 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Elounda Blu 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR JOURNEY BEGINS NOW New concept, new services, new design Sentido Elounda Blu ... four star hoteling reinvented The "Sentido Elounda Blu Hotel", is situated in the international renowned hot spot of Elounda. The Greek islands' architecture is evident throughout Elounda Blu with earth colors that blend with the Cretan environment. The area's stunning views of the gulf of Elounda, the traditional town of Elounda, and the medieval castle of "Spinalonga" create an idyllic surrounding for a relaxing holiday. In front of the resort lies a sandy and well protected from the streams beach, that offers various choices to keep you by the sea water. The emphasis on the area's natural riches and the resort's services create an environment that fashions a vacation that must be experienced by all. Sentido Elounda Blu is a redesigned hotel with a brand new adult only(16+) concept that promises to offer a relaxing ambiance, with elevated services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your SENTIDO Elounda Blu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
Blue Bay Hotel Elounda
SENTIDO Elounda Blu Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing