We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elounda Bay Palace
Nearby Hotels
Elounda Palm Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$120
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Sunrise Apartments(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$47
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$239
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$262
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
$315
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$181
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveler rating
362
216
85
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
216
85
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssail barelounda bayleading hotels of the worldmountain viewsister hotelhalf boardbeach staffbreakfast and dinnerfish restaurantshared poolwater sportsa sea view roommain restaurantsuperior roomall areas of the hotelbottle of wineprivate beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 727 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I have recently returned from an early September holiday which was booked and paid for sometime ago before Robinsons came on the scene. We were concerned about what was being said on tripadvisor which we discussed with Jet2 Holidays with whom we had booked and who were very helpful in suggesting alternative options for us. However we decided to stick with it and were glad that we did. It was our first visit to this hotel so we had no previous knowledge of how it used to be but quite frankly we really enjoyed it as it is now. We were given a complimentary room upgrade upon arrival to help my wife who has difficulty in getting about in what turned out to be a very large hotel and site. It was also a first for full board and buffet style eating which we found suited us as we could get a break from the heat of the day and could eat as much or as little as we liked. The choice and quality of the food was good and financially the free drinks served to full board clients helped with the bill at the end of the week. We found both the Robinson and Hotel staff extremely pleasant and helpful and we just turned a blind eye to most of the Robinson activities. There were plenty of sunbeds for all so there was no need for those selfish and greedy people to claim theirs in the usual way. Beach staff please note. Having said this it wasn't a problem to us and we had a relaxing and wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

We are delighted to read that you and your wife had such a wonderful time at the Elounda Bay Palace this year. However, we would like to inform you that Robinson Club will no longer be part of our operation. During the winter period we shall be reviewing all the comments that have been made by our guests over the years, to integrate their suggestions into our operating policies for the hotel. Our aim is to provide a Cretan experience within the beautiful surroundings afforded by the hotel. The wonderful buffet and the choice of dining is one of the things that will not change together with the loyal, friendly and hospitable staff that make the ambiance of the Elounda Bay Palace unique. We would encourage anyone who wishes to contact us here with suggestions and observations to do so, as we are always delighted for any feedback given by our guests. We look forward to welcoming our guests next summer with our own special brand of warm Cretan hospitality.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent 1 week here in September with a little trepidation after reading reports about the Robinson Groups involvement in this lovely hotel.
The evening we arrived we ventured to the Sail In Bar for a drink and were surprised to hear loud music ( if you could call it music) provided by a D.J. most of which was in German and much of it was unrecognisable. Luckily that ended at 12pm and the peace and quiet we had expected from this perfectly situated bar was resumed.
Apart from a few childish antics on the beach , which we laughed at rather than with, nothing had changed .. the service of the staff on the beach was as attentive as usual and it was peaceful and relaxing.
This was our 12th stay in this hotel and we were not disappointed. We were ,for the first time, full board and the food was excellent with a great choice ..included was wine, beer and soft drinks..the house wine was lovely. We had a beautiful meal one evening in the Thalassa Fish Restaurant..just paying for the wine as this was one of the 'Honoured Guest' privilages. The only grievance I have is that we were invited to a 'Cocktail reception' to meet management and staff.. discovered after checking my bill on the way home that we were charged for the cocktails!!
I have to say however, that we had a wonderful holiday which wasn't spoilt by the Robinsons Input.. probably because we did not stay in the hotel in the evenings and only returned when we knew the entertainment was over! We will definitely return ,hopefully next year for 2 weeks, as nothing will change the beautiful setting and the service this hotel provides effortlessly.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms we had were spacious clean and comfortable
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for the review of your holidays here at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. As you are one of our many guests who have been loyal to our hotel over the years your opinion of the overall service and holiday experience is very important to us. It is through the suggestions and opinions of our guests that we move forward and in the attempt to create the ideal holiday experience that meets the expectations of the guests that choose our hotel. Our co operation with the Robinson Wellfit concept will be discontinued at the end of this year and so next year we shall be considering the whole experience and creating the holiday that our loyal guests expect of the Elounda Bay Palace. It is not the intent of the management to invite guests to a cocktail party to charge them. However, the charge on your bill for cocktails was because the invitation was for 7pm but when the party is over, at around 7:30pm, the bar will then charge for any other drinks ordered. We regret that this was not explained to you and when we have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace we would be happy to have the opportunity to rectify this mistake.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We tend to book our holidays months in advance and use tripadvisor as a means of seeing beyond the travel agents details. I must be honest and say when I came to paying the balance on the holiday I was very concerned at some of the negative comments posted here about the Robinsons style and management.

This was our sixth visit to Crete and second trip to Elounda so we knew the area. The hotel is about 15 minutes on foot outside of the small village of Elounda, on the Agios Nikolaos side of town. The hotel and its sister hotel the Elounda Beach are spread out over a cove and the small sandy beaches are private for the residents. Of those residents I would suggest 70% were German and Russian, with British, French and Italian amongst the rest

We arrived late on a Thursday and were told by reception that we had been upgraded to a room with a pool - sounded fabulous and we were truly grateful but this room (number 79) was in reality too small for 2 adults and a 14yr old child ( no room for storing suitcases, minute shower). We decided on the Friday morning to go back and say we wanted to have the room we had paid for and this was sorted out by Guest Relations.

The hotel has 3 restaurants the Aretoussa which we used every day, the Ariadne and the Thallassa a fish restaurant. The Ariadne had a 5 course fixed menu, the Thallassa customers had a 30 euro per person supplement towards their a la carte meal. The Aretoussa , which was used by all for breakfast, gave us the flexibility of a buffet style selection particularly good for a teenager. The food was good, a variety of styles and themes eg Greek, Italian, Asian nights. Drinks were not cheap but unlike some hotels you could have a carafe of cold water free with your meal which was welcome with the temperature .I was under the misapprehension that we could use the restauarants in the Elounda Beach and whilst this was strictly correct I hadnt realised that we would have to pay full cost of those meals and with 3 people eating this could have equated to 300 euros per meal!

We tend to do our own thing on holidays but there were loads of activities you could join in if you wanted to. We tried beach volleyball , water polo and football. There was a cracking astroturf football pitch but as it was so warm and there were not a massive amount of older children in the hotel the games were played by small numbers. The water polo was played in the excellent main pool. This was I would guess 20m long and at one end was 10ft deep. There were also tennis courts with coaches available. There were keep fit or Well Fit events in other parts of the hotel grounds. These events were run by the Robinsons people, yes I guess they all were German speakers but I certainly never felt excluded and all the Robinson staff spoke varying degrees of English and were always very polite and friendly.

This standard of service was evident throughout the whole hotel, every memeber of staff was a credit to the hotel.

We went to the Sail Bar most evenings which was nice, sitting right by the sea and enjoying a drink. The cost of the drinks was fairly reasonable. Drinks and ice creams at the pool side were expensive.

I have rated the hotel as 4 star overall - we stayed in the Blue Palace the last time we went to Elounda and you can definitely differentiate between the two hotels, the latter being far more modern - and would certainly recommend this hotel to others

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank You for your review of your holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace. We are delighted that you took advantage of all our facilities and enjoyed the fitness and sports activities that are part of the WellFit programme. We are reviewing all the opinions and comments made by guests this year in order to revise the operations of the hotel for next season. We would be delighted to welcome you to the Elounda Bay Palace for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

elounda bay palace is now a hybrid between own hotel and robinson club. its touted as a leading hotel of the world, but this designation dates back to 2001. the resort is in a great place and has very nice grounds. however its a mix of revonvated areas / rooms and non-renovated - which puts in doubt it would again be awared leading hotel status. i guess because of the crisis in greece it offered good deals even in july/august. so value for money was overall very good. breakfast buffet offers great variety. special coffees are brought by staff. most people are on half/full board. lunch and dinner buffets have big variety, but quality ist often poor. hot dishes are not hot and meat/fish of inferior quality. focus seems more on quantity of food then on quality. facilities are very clean and staff is usually very friendly. grounds are very nice you can opt for grass and trees under which to lie or a small private sandy beach. despite many families you can always find a quiet place. there is a gym with technogym equipment, but it has a major drawback: air quality is very poor. the ac it uses takes its air from the adjacent indoor pool area, which means its warm and has a clorine smell to it. not really suited for a work out. not well placed and constructed. watersports is offered right there from skiing to some water matress madness for kids. so very good value for money, nice private location, nice grounds, but drawbacks on food and gym as well as part of the rooms that are not renovated yet.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterNoviSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the trip advisor web site. We shall be taking in to consideration your comments when making renovations and changes to the hotel for the following season. We hope that you decide to return to the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel in the near future when it will be our pleasure to welcome you once again.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We found that while the location was amazing & the sea incredibly beautiful, this year the Elounda Bay Palace wasn't certainly what advertised on their website.

As soon as we arrived we were given a room "upgrade" which was unexpected and made us feel that something was going on. We were right! This year the hotel had been turned from a leading hotel into a mis-leading experience named Robinson Club. The piano bar and lovely ambient that they used to have were taken over by a total lack of elegance: let us be real, "luxury" was not even spelled right.

It should have been advertised in a clear fashion, on both the website of the Elounda Bay Palace and on the website of LHW, that this year "an experiment" was on the way: the fabulous Elounda Bay Palace had become one of the Robinson Clubs, which are basically the German version of the French Club Med. Anything happening was in German language, the level of "entertainment" so poor that it was almost embarrassing, one night they positioned a television by the sea in the Sail-in Bar to show one of the German football matches, I mean what???

The "main restaurant" was not a restaurant but a buffet with "show cooking" where the people cooking your meals were the same ones dancing in the evening, singing at the sunset, or teaching aqua fit in the morning, most of them looking like German students on work experience abroad.

We booked our holiday in this hotel expecting to find the service, atmosphere, finesse that is clearly stated on the hotel's website, therefore our expectation was elegance and sophistication, not children screaming, guests changing their bathing suits on the beach by covering themselves with towels instead of just walking a few steps to reach the restrooms and do their business in a discreet way, dirty beaches full of cigarette butts and plastic toys for children, extremely poor maintenance of the green areas, rooms not cleaned properly, and a room service not even comparable to that of a b&b, with butter, fruit and the like wrapped in cling-film.

It has to be said, however, that some of the "old staff" of the resort were extremely polite, friendly and accommodating, and themselves were embarrassed by the "Robinson experiment".

So in order not to ruin our stay, we avoided as much as possible the Sail-in Bar: an area that in the past was one of the most romantic spots of the resort, which was now sadly turned into some sort of low level entertainment area with different events happening each evening: from a "hard rock elounda night" to a total white night in which the guests, mainly Robinson's ones, were supposed to dress totally in white, even though that meant wearing a bath robe (!!). They also organised a "gala night" with guests in plastic flip-flops and shorts…interestingly enough upon our arrival we were told there was a dress-code in the evening...

It is true that the prices have been reduced in comparison to the previous years, thus they cannot still call themselves LHW while offering a 3 stars hotel experience!

In addition, Robinson Club guests pay cheaper rates than the ones listed on the Elounda Bay Palace website, which is kind of annoying to say the least.

If you want to experience what was in the past Elounda Bay Palace, it will only take you a few steps to reach what they call "the sister hotel" - Elounda Beach Hotel - there, you will find what a real LHW should be, although pretty deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DrCatWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

We were interested to read your review on the Trip Advisor website. Thank you for the feedback that covers so many of the departments of the hotel. We are taking all comments and opinions in to consideration when we decide this year what our operations structure and renovations programme will include for the years ahead. Some elements of our new wellfit concept have been very well received and so of course we shall be including them into our programme others will be revised and amended. All renovation of the hotel and its facilities will take place throughout the winter so the hotel will be ready for our loyal guests next summer. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace to assess the changes we have made and to relax and enjoy our Cretan hospitality.


Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews