We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true German shame...”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We visited here two years ago and had the most amazing stay, hence the reason for returning. However we were sorely disappointed. That is not to say we did not enjoy the stay as we did and there are still many positives of the hotel. Firstly the hotel staff are truly delightful and nothing is too much trouble for any of them from the cleaners to the waiting staff. In addition one must particularly commend the fish restaurant which under George's management was wonderful. In addition the hotel is well situated near to Elounda and set in lovely grounds. However the thing that had changed and also marred our enjoyment was the German takeover by Robinsons. The one positive to come out of the takeover is the choice on half board whether to have lunch or dinner in the hotel, the positives unfortunately stop there. Unless you are a German robsinsons guest you are forced to feel quite excluded from the hotel as most of the guests are Robinsons.The manager claims that people wanted more stuff on in the evening, but this is nothing but a poor excuse because all the evening entertainment is in German so impossible to take advantage of. In addition the on the surface positive introduction of the sports classes is again marred by the fact they are only in German. The Robinsons guests are given preferential treatment in many ways, most obviously through the entertainment where the German football games were put on a big screen but the England ones moved away from the centre of the hotel to a small side room. At meal times you cannot escape the Robinson staff. Unfortuantely the quality of food has seen a small decrease in quality, in particular the quality of the meat. One obvious change is the drop in quality of service in the restaurant. This is not due to the hotel staff as there seems to have been a reduction of hotel waiting staff, who are simply replaced by Robsinsons. This means our plates were often not cleared away for long periods of time, hardly helpful when its a buffet. Another problem with Robinsons is that the hotel has now become the definition of "taccy". When melon and fruit is offered round the pool (a pool now filled with volleyball most of the time), it is served by someone dressed as little red riding hood. They are often accompanied by the robinsons singing and dancing in ridiculous outfits, hardly fitting for what is "meant" to be a 5* hotel. In addition during meal times the Robinsons dress up as mermaids and lie around on the counters, hardly luxury hotel material. The introduction of Robinsons is a true shame and regret to say that as a consequence we will not be returning. To anyone considering this then I would advise you to look at another hotel that has not prostituted itself out to Robinsons. Now a 5* hotel that despite the efforts of the hotel staff appears to be nothing better than a taccy motel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank btr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that you feel that your stay was spoilt by the Robinson concept. The management will be reviewing the operations of the hotel during the winter and deciding what changes and improvement are necessary for the future of the hotel. We would be sorry to lose guests and would urge prospective guests to contact us directly if they have any doubts or concerns about the hotel. All opinions and suggestions of our guests are taken in to consideration when taking decisions about the hotel.
We sincerely hope that you will consider a holiday at the hotel in the future and it will be our pleasure to welcome you again to the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 724 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

Have previously been to Elounda Bay Palace and thoroughly enjoyed our stay but the new reviews regarding the new tour operator at the hotel have worried me. The thought of silly theme evenings and noisy parties fills me with horror. Hope I will be l will be proved wrong to worry.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

We would like to reassure you that although there have been many guests who have felt the need to air their views on our new concept on Trip Advisor, they are the minority. We have had more guests than ever inquiring about future holidays at the hotel and we are always changing and modifying the operations and entertainment. As we speak the new tour operator has less than a 30% occupancy at the hotel and the rest of our guests are of a very international mix.
If you would like to contact us to personally receive our reassurances we would be only too pleased to hear from you.
In the meanwhile we remain at your disposal with

Kind regards

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I completely agree with the last review (Tim) and what a shame. We booked for 10 nights and it was only after week booked I started reading reviews about the Robinson Group who have 60% monopoly at the hotel but it really feels like a lot more. The staff are amazing at this hotel and the other tourists who spoke to us British, German and Russian were all lovely but we had clearly been sold different holidays.

The icing on the cake was when I requested that the England and Russian football matches to be shown on the large screen at the Sail in Bar as the German games had but was told they would put it on in a room in the hotel. On our last evening had dinner in the Ariadne Tavern which we booked for but what we weren't told was there was a play that evening in German, we were the only English couple in there and everything we spoke we were just glared at.

The rest of our holiday was pretty much the same as everyone else who has reviewed it, we won't be going back neither would we recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel where loud music until 1am does not keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pondicous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for expressing your feelings about the holiday that you booked for the Elounda Bay Palace. I really think you have hit on the whole point of the problem. Guest expectation. All our tour operators are well aware of the new concept that we have introduced and if they are not correctly selling the holiday then naturally we will not be able to meet your expectations. We have livened the hotel and yes the team who run the new concept are German but they are friendly and English speaking and have a manager who is concerned that some English guests do not wish to integrate. The resort is large and there are so many areas that you can be in that do not have any entertainment at all. However what you do not say is that the wonderful yoga and sauna, hamam and relaxation areas in the Wellfit center are a dream for whoever wishes to truly relax. The wellfit team members are experts in their field and we would defy anyone to visit the Wellfit and not come away feeling extremely relaxed and impressed by the professionalism.
We would welcome you back to the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel now that you know the kind of holiday we provide. We hope that you would enjoy and focus upon the relaxation and programmes that would suit you, rather than the entertainment aimed at a different kind of holidaying guest.


Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I booked this one week break in March 2012 with Thomsons. The reviews were fantastic and we looked forward to a relaxing holiday - however, from May onwards the reviews were far from what we expected and the thought of pirate evenings really daunted us before we went... however, we were pleasantly surprised ! Mr Rassoulis (hotel manager) replied to my email concerns and the staff were well above exceptional (and this comes from someone who has spent some 20 years in customer relations - I would be proud to have any of them working for me.) The only thing that let the holiday down was the appalling attitude from Thomsons pre travel service - who told us basically to go with the right attitude ! (needless to say this wil be my last ever holiday with them)
On arrival we were upgraded to a quieter side sea view room which was clean , although rather dated and small, but the public rooms in the hotel more than made up for this - the lounges and there are many of them - are beautiful and air conditioned and we cannot praise the food highly enough - please do try the Beef Wellington - superb ! There are water sports at hand and its just a 15 mnute walk into Elounda town - small and quaint but great for a night away fron resort.
The bay itself is stunning and beautifully floodlit of an evening. If you get a chance to go to the Elounda Beach (sister hotel just a 5 minute walk away), a drink in the sail bar there is very romantic and memorable -

All in all a really restful and nice holiday - the german tour operator actually added to our enjoyment and made us feel very welcome.

If you are going within next few weeks I am sure you will have a great holiday

Room Tip: If you can afford the bungalow upgrade well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for writing on Trip Advisor about your experience of the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. As you mentioned, when you had doubts you contacted us and we reassured you that we would be at your disposal through out your stay to ensure that you had the wonderful holiday that you were expecting. The new concept of the hotel was introduced to make the hotel livelier and more enjoyable for all our guests. We have achieved this but unfortunately, unlike your selves, those people who have not enjoyed the new concept feel that they should inform all those thinking of staying at the hotel to be aware. So we are very grateful to you for redressing the balance on this site. The majority of guests are thoroughly enjoying the hotel and we are having many guests booking already for the following season. We shall be reviewing the whole situation during the winter and making adjustments where necessary.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again the Elounda Bay Palace in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We agree with all the recent comments regarding the German takover of this hotel. Lovely hotel and friendly Greek staff but felt a bit like we had gate crashed someone's party. We booked this through the Internet and there was no mention of the Robinson's connection. At times the restaurant was a sea of blue polo shirts worn by Robinson's staff. I have to say we are no way prejudiced against Germans, but expected more Cretan influence. Having travelled extensivelyand stayed in 5* hotels throughout the world, we found some of the room facilities, particularly information about hotel services sadly lacking. We would think carefully before returning if the Robinson's connection continues and may take a previous travellers advice and stay at the Elounda Beach hotel next door.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. The German take over as you call it is no more than an animation team that advertise their programme of entertainment which they produce for all the guests. We do realise that their style of entertainment is not to everyone’s liking, however, there are plenty of evening options within the resort for all of our guests, so you are not obliged to be entertained if you do not wish. The difference between our two hotels is that the Elounda Bay Palace is livelier and has a more active programme than the Elounda Beach Hotel where our guests tend to want more privacy and quiet. We are luck to be able to enjoy the privilege of offering both kinds of hotels to our guests and are at your disposal for any queries concerning which of our hotels to choose.
We hope to welcome you back to one of our resort hotels in the near future,


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have just come back from 10 days at the elounda bay hotel booked through Sovereign holidays.
This is a great hotel and all the reviews are right in saying that the location and local staff are great.
We had a bungalow sea view room, which was very small but had a great view. 20 steps and we were in the sea.
However we will not return which is such a shame...
What you need to know is that since the Robinsons (german tour company) take over this is now basically a german hotel. Please understand that everyone was delightful and charming but as the days past it became more and more annoying. We just felt more and more excluded....
This came to head for the England Italy football match. When germany played greece a few days before they had two big screens in the bar. When England played italy it was on a small TV parked round the corner,,,with a house band playing (in german) in the bar. This was just plain rude and at that point we kind of knew where we stood....
Some other not needed german moments:
Bar staff asked us what we wanted in german
I had a yoga class that was in german
I was going to do a water exercise class in the sea but did not fancy the instructor shouting at me in german so I decided not to bother
The Band and show compares always announced songs and spoke to the audience in german
All the menus where in german first with english sub titles
The food was great but I recognised several items from my austrian ski holiday.(Wienerschnitzel!!)
One night they had a poetry evening in the greek taverna with a rendition of poetry by the brothers grim...the problem was it was all (yes you guessed it) in German. Everyone was joining in laughing and clapping while we sat there like nonces with no idea what was happening !!

When we booked this holiday there was no mention of this by sovereign holidays..so now you know. This was supposed to be an all inclusive holidays but I have never felt more excluded on a holiday. I know some of the other english guests felt the same and I feel the hotel management should have a serious think about this.
If you are looking for a greek experience then this is certainly not for you.

Room Tip: Definately go for a sea view if you can. The mountain view is not great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tim898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for the review you have written about your experience of our hotel. We would, once again, like to point out that the German guests are not the majority in the hotel and the Wellfit team, who are German, are friendly and speak English as well as German. The majority of our guests are thoroughly enjoying the new concept that we have introduced and we are sorry that you felt that you were ostracized in any way. The people who did enjoy their experience at the hotel do not feel the need to air their views but in many ways we wish they would to give an accurate and unbiased view of the hotel.
The management would be only too happy to answer any questions raised by this or indeed any other review written on this website. We are at your disposal any time and would welcome any contact with prospective guests who have doubts.
The hotel in not all inclusive and never will be as we have two a la carte restaurants and three bars on the property where all consumption is paid for. Only in the main restaurant and if you have booked the Full Board plus option, are all the food and drinks on the buffet included in your package.
We would welcome you back to the Elounda Bay Palace and sincerely hope that now you know the hotel, come with an open mind and enjoy your stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We came to this hotel with an open mind, having booked before Robinsons arrived. All the latest reviews are spot on. We stayed from June 14th - 28th and had a very good holiday, but the hotel is being ruined by this company. The hotel staff work their socks off to give clients a good experience, but Robinsons have taken over most things, even the restaurant. Each day there seemed to be more personel from Robinsons and it wouldn't matter if they only had 10% of the clients, they are very difficult to get away from. Their idea of entertainment is childish in the extreme (eg Pirate and Greek God presentations) and the Cretan Night was all in German. This was not just a problem for Brits. We knew of German and Italian returners, who were just as unhappy at losing the peace and tranquility of this beautiful hotel and setting and will not return while Robinsons are here.
In short, the staff are the best I have ever come met and I don't believe could be bettered. The hotel and area are excellent. We tried to avoid Robinson staff and actiivities as much as possible and our solution was to have lunch in the hotel, instead of dinner and go out to the local tavernas and bars, for a really good experience of Elounda. The people there are the most friendly I have ever met on holiday.
We would love to go back to the Elounda Bay Palace, but I can't see it happening while Robinsons are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is quiet, away from the Robinsons music and activities, unless you like all thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maryanna0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis R, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for the kind words that you have written about the staff and the hotel. The relationship with Robinson is on review and during the winter season we shall be deciding on the operations policy for the coming years. All the opinions of our guests will be taken in to consideration when making decisions about the future style of the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for another holiday in the near future

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#12 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $179 - $802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing