We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't get away from Robinsons here!”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We came to this hotel with an open mind, having booked before Robinsons arrived. All the latest reviews are spot on. We stayed from June 14th - 28th and had a very good holiday, but the hotel is being ruined by this company. The hotel staff work their socks off to give clients a good experience, but Robinsons have taken over most things, even the restaurant. Each day there seemed to be more personel from Robinsons and it wouldn't matter if they only had 10% of the clients, they are very difficult to get away from. Their idea of entertainment is childish in the extreme (eg Pirate and Greek God presentations) and the Cretan Night was all in German. This was not just a problem for Brits. We knew of German and Italian returners, who were just as unhappy at losing the peace and tranquility of this beautiful hotel and setting and will not return while Robinsons are here.
In short, the staff are the best I have ever come met and I don't believe could be bettered. The hotel and area are excellent. We tried to avoid Robinson staff and actiivities as much as possible and our solution was to have lunch in the hotel, instead of dinner and go out to the local tavernas and bars, for a really good experience of Elounda. The people there are the most friendly I have ever met on holiday.
We would love to go back to the Elounda Bay Palace, but I can't see it happening while Robinsons are there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is quiet, away from the Robinsons music and activities, unless you like all thi...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Maryanna0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis R, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for the kind words that you have written about the staff and the hotel. The relationship with Robinson is on review and during the winter season we shall be deciding on the operations policy for the coming years. All the opinions of our guests will be taken in to consideration when making decisions about the future style of the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you again to the Elounda Bay Palace for another holiday in the near future

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Bay Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 707 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel , our room was delightful and spacious and always immaculately cleaned. The bay is gorgeous and there are hot showers to rinse the salt off after a swim - luxury! The sea is crystal clear and turn left out of the bay and you can swim for about a kilometre, have a look on Google maps and see you go all the way to the causeway very easily just past a couple of little bays.
The location is superb and the Greek staff an absolute delight , always wanting to help, very charming and very welcoming. The main restaurant served very good food in a buffet style with loads of choices from very healthy to very naughty!
But there are problems , particularly with the Robinsons team who cater exclusively for the German all inclusive travellers. Smoking is banned in Greece in restaurants since 2010. There is an uncovered area to the main restaurant where smoking is allowed but despite complaints to the management, people still smoked in the covered area including pipes and the Robinsons staff actively encouraged it by providing ash trays rather than asking their clients to move to the designated areas. Instead we had to move table three times as got surrounded by smokers. The Greek staff know it is not allowed but say what can they do when the others go over their heads?
Also the pirate night, Elvis impersonator (naff to the extreme) and the people driving around in buggies blowing whistles to advertise that football may be on the large screen later brought it very close to 2 star levels. This has been much commented on by previous reviewers.
The German guests themselves were lovely with a range of ages and a pleasure to meet and talk to.

So it's a lovely place, the bay is superb, the facilities excellent, the Greek staff are wonderful but let down badly by the Robinsons team and their behaviour and standards.

I gather the participation of Robinsons is only certain for this year and may not happen next year.
Maybe worth the wait.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ottocold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for your review of the Elounda Bay Palace. We are delighted to read that you praise the hotel, area and staff so highly. It is the aim of the management and staff to provide the ideal atmosphere inductive to a happy and relaxing holiday. Due to previous years reviews having reported that the hotel was too quiet especially of an evening, we have introduced the Robinson Well fit concept in to the hotel. However we do appreciate that their variety of entertainment may not be to everyones taste. We shall be reviewing the situation during the winter period and adjusting where necessary.
We hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you for another holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace hotel in the near future

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked this holiday well before this hotel was taken over by Robinsons. And I mean taken over! I read the recent Tripadvisor reviews before travelling so was alerted to the changes.
But first the PROS, of which there are many.
We had booked a sea view room and indeed we were allocated what was the best room we have had in all our years travelling.It was vast. Two bathrooms, huge lounge and large bedroom. All spotlessly clean and very well equipped.A bottle of wine and plates of cold meat, cheeses and fruit awaited our late arrival.
The beaches were lovely. Sun beds no problem on the beach or on the immaculately kept grounds.
The food in the main restaurant was superb. To suit all tastes, but moreso if you happen to be German.Alpine night being one example!
The staff at reception and in the dining areas ( with the possible exception of a very grumpy male waiter in the main restaurant) were extremely pleasant and helpful.
Now the CONS.
Robinsons have well and truely taken over!
Most of the guests are German. For us absolutely not a problem. However, they seem to be on a different meal board basis to the rest of the guests. Making it all a bit "us and them".
There are themed days and evenings! When the most appallingly unfunny animation team acts out little scenes. They dress up as pirates, Disney characters and even Elvis! A nice little touch by the hotel is to serve slices of cooling melon on the beach. But served by a guy in an Elvis suit was laughable while we are lying on a sunbed in 30 degree heat in Crete!
This is a Leading Hotel of the World and 4/5 star therefore prices are expected to be high for drinks and snacks.Indeed they were high! 15euros for a small (side dish size ) salad. (5 euros down the road in a lovely little taverna) We ate in the fish restaurant twice and the food was not as good as that in the main restaurant.Very few people bought drinks at the beach or pool. Presumably because Robinsons guests get drinks included with thier meals.
We were told by several people that so called returners are no longer returning to this hotel since the takeover! This does not suprise me.
We had a wonderful holiday, in what is a fabulous hotel, run by helpful, courteous staff. We would have defintely returned. It is a great shame that it has been spoilt by Robinsons. Before booking another holiday with Thomsons I will certainly read the hotel description very very carefully and avoid all Robinson hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 105
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank welshmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
The meal basis in the hotel is included in the room prices. Full board plus option is one that is open to all guests and those who have not prebooked this basis may upgrade to Full board plus here in resort. This means that guests on Full board p;us basis are invited to dine in the main restaurant where beverages are included with the extensive and varied buffet.
When choosing to dine a la carte at either of the other restaurants in the hotel there is a credit or a 4 course set menu but beverages throughout the resort, with the exception of the main restaurant for the Full board plus based guests, are at an extra charge.
We wish to point out that at no time this season to date has the German occupancy of the hotel exceeded 50%.
The entertainment provided by the Robinson Wellfit staff may not be to everyones liking but it has to be pointed out that in previous years the main grudge of guests staying in the hotel was how quiet the hotel was of an evening.
We feel that we now have provided an excellent fitness concept in to the hotel but we shall be reviewing the entertainment side of the arrangement during the winter period and adjusting this accordingly.
We hope that we shall welcome you again to the Elounda bay Palace and will only too pleased to answer any queries regarding our hotel and the new concept.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We are pleased to report that although the rooms are generally small and dated , this is outweighed by the superb friendly staff and the food, which we found very good indeed.!
The outside areas are extensive and very well maintained , with a wide choice of sports.
Water sports are quite expensive ,but the staff are really helpful and instruct very well.
Make no mistake this is as previous travellers have pointed out a Robinson 'German Club 'hotel.
Most literature and events are primarily in German and this was best portrayed when a giant outside screen was erected for German games, whereas a small bar screen was available for external watchers of the Englnnd games and comentary was still in German!
There are small but comfortable man made beaches, with 2 external and one internal pool. Sunbeds were not a problem...
The Greek and speciality Fish restaurants are extra ,but well worth a visit.
All in all we thank the staff and hope to return!
One major problem Olympic Holidays sent one car to take us to the Airport for our return... it stopped to try and pick up another family...Driver 4no passengers and 4no cases DO NOt FIT INTO AN AVERAGE SALOON CAR!!! The driver and hotel we stopped at said this often happens. Olympic emergency no. was not available and driver could not arrange another car... We paid 85euros to a local Taxi firm to avoid missing our plane! BEWARE!

Room Tip: Most rooms are small and not furnished to modern standards in the Elounda Palace as distinct from th...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FrannyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Elounda Bay Palace hotel after your stay.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the holiday and the facilities of the hotel.
We are sorry that the English match was not shown on the large screen and this has been rectified. All matches are now shown on the large screen in the open air.
The Event programmes are in both the English and the German language and are available from the reception.
It is with the comments, suggestions and opinions of our guests that we are able to make the changes to the hotel and facilities so enhancing the holiday experience.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel for another stay with our Cretan Hospitality.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. It's clean and the communal areas very well cared for. The staff were very helpful. We had a smart club delux sea view room in the main building and the bed was very comfy, the room was a good size although yes there were elements that could do with a upgrade and it overlooked the top of the restaurant which in the end was fine although not ideal. The other rooms pitched as bungalows for me seemed smaller and less private.

As other travellers have mentioned the Robinsons 'take over' has given the hotel a party feel with many tacky elements - pirate night, red riding hood handing out leaflets for a play on the beach, synchronised dancing by the Robinsons staff every time a certain tune that was played! A bit cringy for us Brits! Also some of the nights are very loud with a nightclub feel going on until midnight.

Robinsons are offering a certain type of holiday which is not what we paid for. Their guests are on full board buffet style. The other restaurants were closed on a couple of nights which was a real shame so it was a buffet or nothing. Evening dining is important to us and we expected a better experience and more choice.

We did however have a relaxing time despite this and great weather. When I gave my feedback at the end of our holiday the general manager was keen to show us the positives and he is obviously proud of the hotel and keen to resolve these issues. He did give us the opportuniy to sample the elounda beach hotel and we had a lovely quiet meal in the a la carte restaurant which was a super way to end the holiday. I think if you want quiet 5 star luxury with good dining choices I think from what we saw the elounda beach hotel is much better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank timamg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

i am upset for the hotel staff who cannot do enough for their guests from gardener ,room staff to restaurant managers they are trying to put " their " guest first class holiday something to enjoy but its spoilt by the Robinson factor , the german staff do not mix unless you are german,the music was too loud and way after 12 at night, bad singers in the day as well.The water sports staff were a joy to be with but not that busy as found in other visits because with Robinson guests as they only did things if included in their total discounted price same as the 2 other restaurants were effected empty most of the time ,which was a sad loss as 5 star food available and 5 star staff. on a plus note food in all restaurant 5 star.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brickie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis R, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for writing about your concerns. It is the aim of all our staff to do the utmost to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay at the hotel.
The WellFit concept does include an element of entertainment to it and we do realise that this may not be to everyone’s liking.
However, the bars, which in previous years have been very quiet, are now the place to be as many people now have them as the focal point of their evenings. The bars are not included in any holiday package nor are the watersports.
The people that have booked the Full Board plus package are not the majority in the hotel.
The Buffet in the main restaurant is a culinary delight and offers such a wide choice that the majority of our guests enjoy the different evenings there.
We would like to point out that at the time of writing the Robinson guests make up only 46% of the guest mix in the hotel.
We would enjoy the opportunity to welcome you again for another stay at the Elounda Bay Palace in the near future

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Just returned from a week at what is a lovely hotel with charming staff. However our experience was greatly marred by the dominance of Robinson Club staff and guests. We too were quoted a more expensive rate for the Greek themed evening and were disturbed by late night musuc incl. an "Air guitar Rock" Night. This is not at all what we had expected. We now understand that Robinson Club has a 60% guest allocation and this has changed the ambience of the hotel from Cretan to German.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank GCH103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis R, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

We appreciate your taking the time to write about your stay on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that the presence of the German staff marred your holiday. Most of our guests find that the new concept has greatly enhanced the whole holiday experience and the hotel has now a vibrant and friendly atmosphere. The reason that you were quoted a different price for a theme night would be because you would have been on a different meal basis. There are so many different options now when staying at the hotel and we have great flexibility within our food and beverage departments. From the fullboard plus basis through to bed and breakfast it is up to our guests just how much choice they would like. Our guests mix at anyone time is over 50% international and as of yet we have not had more that 48% of anyone nation in the hotel at any one time. We sincerely hope that you will return again for another holiday at the Elounda Bay Palace hotel where we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you with our special Cretan hospitality.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
2.2 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.0 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $174 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing