We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location,views and beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Location,views and beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is our second time staying here and there is a reason we came back - you can't beat the location, views and access to the beach - plus, with two kids, having all these facilities is essential.Water slides,soccer camp,kids club,tennis courts and so on.Food was good and service both times was excellent.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    134
    65
    19
    14
See reviews for
224
173
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Never been to Greece before We were extremely impressed with the unit, the cleanliness of the grounds,the specious rooms and bathrooms,the beach and most of all the crystal clear sea. View from the room is breathtaking. Crete is an amazing island - so much to see and do. Everyone has been very friendly! Would most definitely return.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ms S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wow, factor, at this resort. We stayed in September with our dear mother, a special trip. Great service, and the rooms were well appointed, with fabulous views. We got the package, where breakfast and dinner were included, just lovely and delicious. And the service and ambiance was really special.The beach and pool area were lovely, with a great bar.
We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PEDOREN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I spend 4 nights at this resort in October 2012. The staff was excellent and so helpful. Our room was lovely! The pools were great and the beach was perfect for laying in the sun.The spa was amazing.All in all a beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a very welcome upgrade to a 2 bedroom villa with private pool, which was fantastic for our family...except this was october/november so the saltwater pool was too cold to use and the hike up the hill to breakfast got a bit tedious. If it hadn't have been for the upgrade I would have been hugely disappointed and would have wanted to leave as hardly any of the facilities were open and the sun disappeared behind the mountain at 3pm but as it was I can't complain.

Room Tip: fingers crossed for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank offie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EloundaSA, General Manager at Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our property porto elounda.
Regarding your comments about the weather the hotel can not be responsible for that, but I must say that overall this year the weather up to now has been very good (average day temperature 26 C) also the sunset in November is around 17:00 p.m.
Finally I am really sorry about your comment that "hardly any of the facilities were open" since I can assure you that all facilities of porto elounda were in full operation. The Six Senses Spa, the water sports, the golf course,the tennis courts,the shops,the gym,the indoor heated pool,the Arsenal soccer school camp,the kids club,the water slides,the beach bar,the kirki bar,the restaurants everything was in full operation even though occupancy in always low at the end of the season.
Having cleared the air we look forward to welcoming you back to porto elounda in the near future.
Best Regards
Alex Glynos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful resort with great rooms ideal for families. Interconnecting units are spacious with full amenities. Kids loved the water slides,the Arsenal academy and the water sports.Beach was great,sandy and safe!Good restaurants,we loved the Italian one. Friendly staff and free wifi! Definitely planning to go back to the same resort next time we visit Crete.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

On arriving at the hotel we were impressed by the reception we received from a very competent and pleasant receptionist who took us to our room. Private pool, spacious bedroom and spotlessly clean bathroom. Fruit and flowers duly arrrived - perfect. However, our euphoria was somewhat short lived as we soon found out with the long, meandering walk back to reception or the main diningroom. We did ask if a more central room was available but were told that as we had asked for a private pool that was where they all were! The main dining room turned out to be the only dining room as all the other options were closed. It was the "end of the season" we were told on countless occasions. Apparently the other two sister hotels had closed the week before together with the other eateries and bars. If you wanted to get a coffee or drink before 4.30 p.m. you had to walk down the hill to the beach bar. The snack choice here was very limited. When we wanted to book the Alio and Olea restaurant for dinner we were told it was closed. It was apparently open for lunch but who wants to eat virtually the same for lunch as for dinner? There was absolutely nowhere to walk to outside the hotel for a drink or snack. We feel we should have been informed of these very limited facilites when we booked so perhaps the management of this hotel are not entirely to blame but why not close all three properties on the same week! We had to take taxis to get a change of scenery -13 euros each way to Agios Nickolas and 7 euros each way to Elounda. The staff in the restaurant were extremely pleasant and efficient but the food became a little boring as the week went on. Some evenings the food was tired and on occasions almost ran out if you went down after 8.30 p.m. The food was certainly not five star quality. The price of drinks was exhorbitant - cheapest bottle of wine 30 euros plus tax. Gin and tonic 9.50 euros.

Fortunately we did not have children with us but we felt sorry for the families there as the children's Noah's Arc play area with pool and slides was closed and if there was staff to supervise children in the downstairs childrens' room we did not see any or any children there for that matter.

All in all we had a relaxing time which is what we went for but would have preferred to have had more options for eating and drinking. There was no entertainment or background music in the bar area and by 9.30 it was completely dead. So come on management - either close the entire resort on the same date or give people coming for some end of season sunshine and relaxation at least some alternative drinking/dining areas. It is after all supposed to be a resort and not simply a hotel. How about a coffee and cake section in the reception area?

I must not be too negative because all the staff were friendly and efficient and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and spotless so maybe if I return in the middle of the season when things are up and running, I may see the resort in a completely different light and not return home as disappointed as I was.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk don't choose a room with individual pool on level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Micky50970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#14 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Elounda
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Elounda
#9 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#13 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only golf-and-spa resort on Crete is a whole world on its own, with the "World's Best Spa" according to the Sunday Times' "Travel" magazine 2007. Rooms and suites all have panoramic views of the bay of Elounda over the green expanse of the golf course's 9 holes. Children are particularly well catered for, with a dedicated facility offering indoor and outdoor play areas, a lawn-laid olive-grove, a water-park and a sports field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Elounda Deluxe Hotel Elounda
Porto Elounda Golf & Spa Resort Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing