We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel was beautiful and we loved spending part of our honeymoon there.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“This hotel was beautiful and we loved spending part of our honeymoon there.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Elounda Mare for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We stayed in one of the bungalows with a salt water pool. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful and attentive. We LOVED the breakfast buffet that was included. There was a good selection of cheeses, meats, olives, greek yogurt, granola, fresh fruits, soft boiled eggs, good crusty breads and pastries, too. We thought the beach was very pretty and the hotel grounds were breathtaking. We rented a car and went out for lunch and dinner but we did have one dinner at the main restaurant and really enjoyed it. The hotel is expensive, but worth it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Absolute85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    67
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
86
209
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield yorkshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

We are not your usual £300 per night hotel people, but a special treat sometimes makes life worth living! The hotel was gorgeous, beautiful pool, beautiful room, beautiful restaurant, beautiful breakfast, beautiful staff, beautiful service. Everything was just beautiful, we loved it!
Not stuffy or pretentious, just classy, more old money rather than lottery winner!

We had the 'standard' room with a huge terrace with the worlds best sun loungers, two armchairs and a little table with parasol. The bed room was very comfortable with a sofa TV and DVD player. Lovely marble bathroom with fantastic air bath. Fluffy bathrobes, slippers and beach towels with gorgeous bath smellies made a lovely finishing touch.

The breakfast was great, good coffee, superb cold selection and a cooked to order hot breakfast menu, all excellent. The Yacht Club restaurant was very lovely, overlooking the small sandy beach, with a good selection of hot and cold choices. We paid approx 30 euros for two meals with water, so not the cheapest, but you would not expect that would you! The Old Mill Restaurant was eye wateringly pricy, expect 150 euros with a reasonable wine for two people.

It is expensive but that's the point, it is very special and you will feel special staying here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greathols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

We were obviously in the same bungalow as the previous reviewer with the advantage of fridge and air conditioning having been attended to! The reviewer did not mention that the bungalow is next door to a beautiful old Greek chapel .The discrete attentitiveness of the staff and the quality of every meal that we ate in the hotel's three restaurants were the real features of our stay. Believe the photos - they show the hotel's landscape and views accurately, even though it is difficult to capture pictures which really do the environment justice.Leaving was a wrench.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biba64Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
393 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

This Relais & Chateaux resort is beautifully located on the beach at Elounda. It is in a cluster of high-end hotels about five minutes' drive from the actual town of Elounda, and you could certainly stay here without ever leaving the property, but we'd recommend venturing out. More on that later.

The view from the lobby and bar areas overlooking Elounda Bay is stunning. The resort grounds are beautifully landscaped and well maintained, and the hotel buildings and bungalows are charming and fit well into their surroundings. This is a fairly large resort, with several restaurants, a large and handsome communal pool, a small putting green, a handful of upscale shops, and a small sandy beach.

We stayed in a deluxe bungalow, which had a great private courtyard containing a good-sized pool and a grassy lawn with a shady olive tree. The room itself, however, was small. There was only room for one person at a time in the hallway with the closet and the entry to the bathroom. The shower was so tiny that whenever you turned around, you adjusted the water temperature! Ouch! The real problem, though, was that our air conditioning was barely working and it took them two days of our four-day stay to fix it. Had we not continued to call about it, I doubt they would have bothered to fix it, though every day was in the 90s and the room was unbearably hot at night even with the door open. At 760 euros a night, this should never happen. Our refrigerator was also barely functioning (not cold, no ice) and had to be repaired as well. In addition, our bungalow was located next door to the Yacht Club Restaurant which featured over-amplified live music until fairly late, so it wasn't very peaceful. We were also overlooking the resort's beach, and were awakened early Sunday morning by screaming children (there are quite a few families here). Moral: if you book a bungalow, be sure to get one far from both the Yacht Club and the beach!

We ate at the Yacht Club and found the food to be good and the setting lovely. We also had dinner at Elies, the restaurant at Porto Elounda (one of the Elounda Mare's two sister properties, just down the road -- the hotel provides a shuttle back and forth when you call). This is where more families stay, and though the food was good, the restaurant was packed with noisy, rambunctious kids, playing on the lawn adjacent the outdoor restaurant while their parents dined -- it was like paying a lot to eat at Chuck E. Cheese. At both of these two restaurants, service was only mediocre. Many of the staff spoke limited English and little or no Greek, so there was a communication gap at times.

We had a very different experience at Calypso Restaurant, at Elounda Peninsula, the third sister property (and the most upscale). Calypso is fancy, gorgeous and great. The food was creative and excellent, the service was top-notch, and the setting on the Bay was breathtaking. The atmosphere is refined and elegant, with live, unobtrusive piano music . It was expensive but worth it. The only downside (and this occurred throughout our travels in Europe) was the smoking during the meal by European patrons at adjoining tables. We have gotten used to the no-smoking laws in U.S. restaurants, and smoking during meals just seems to be a fact of life in European restaurants.

For our last night, we drove into Elounda (a cute beach town with interesting shops and many restaurants) and had a great dinner at Lotus Eaters, a waterside place with a lengthy, varied menu of both local and Mediterranean dishes. It is owned by a British-German couple and the staff is British. It's not "fine dining", but the food is very good and very inexpensive, and the atmosphere is very friendly and relaxed. In retrospect, we wish we had driven into Elounda for dinner more than just the one night.

In conclusion, Elounda Mare is a beautiful property that needs to pay more attention to keeping every accommodation at the level of the nightly prices being paid. We would try the Elounda Peninsula next time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrynMawrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

My husband,sons and I loved the gentility of the Elounda Mare. This is a picturesque medium sized hotel with a friendly and professional staff. There is a beautiful spa associated with the hotel called the Six Senses Spa. The views from the rooms and the gardens are spectacular. There is a small private beach on the bay where you can jet ski or water ski or snorkel. There is also a large and beautiful salt water swimming pool. The fitness center is bare bones but functional. The food is varied, the breakfast buffet and the Yacht Club are excellent but the Mill restaurant was disappointing for the price. Don't book here hoping for a hotel with a vibe or mojo. It's a restful place perfect for a restorative get away. The crowd is a mixture of families with children and retirees. Lots of Brits and Americans. And many folks who return year after year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank extinctdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

This hotel is lovely great position overlooking mirabello bay.
If you have trouble getting arround it will be difficult here as there
are many steps . the staff are top notch above and beyond what you expect
even for a 5* hotel. The food there was excelent from the breakfasts to the a la carte at the old mill . we stayed in the hotel its self as bungalows were beyond our budget . we had a ground floor room opening out onto to the main pool area , it was kept spotlessly
clean by our ever cheerful maid . we would say the only down side is the price of drinks ( cheapest wine per bottle 30 euros ) . but overall what a wonderful place would go back
tomorrow.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonyhayescheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

we sayed at this hotel in july 2008. On the website it looked very beautiful and parts of the hotel were. However the room we were allocated was horrible. It felt like a dungeon.
Also they only had a salt water pool which did not have many people using it and the pool area lacked atmosphere.
The food at the hotel was good but the service definately was not. The service at the front desk was even worse. Potentially this hotel could be very nice but it obviously does not have good management.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank rilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#13 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
1.4 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing