We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Nearby Hotels
Elounda Palm Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$103
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$120
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elounda Sunrise Apartments(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$47
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$313
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$239
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elounda Bay Palace(Elounda)
$218
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$325
$315
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel(Elounda)(Great Value!)
$181
$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveler rating
324
79
25
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
79
25
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyacht clubold milldeck restaurantprivate pooldeluxe bungalowsix sensessmall sandy beachmain buildingsister hotelcretan styleglass of champagneparadise on earthhotel groundshalf boardshower cubiclegreek winebit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 445 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is all a bit strange!!!!!

Ok we are just about to go to sleep for our 2nd night. The staff here have been absolutely lovely, friendly and kind. We stay in a lot of 5* hotels, & this is all strangely eighties retro, but the bathrooms are modernised to a point and it's all v clean so I guess it's ok, if unexpected for 5*. But!!

- our 2 bed bungalow suite is nothing like the floor plan online. We've had to move the toddler in with us, as the 2nd bedroom is quite a way away! We have 2 suites basically with an adjoining door via the living area. I mean wel work it out, but if we'd had an accurate floor plan we'd have gone for something else or brought a monitor as our kids are little and we need to hear if they wake.

- the website doesn't tell you that to get to the kids ark ( all the kids facilities), the spa, the golf, any indoor pools ( I think you aren't allowed to most anyway), tennis court etc it is all a DRIVE away. Non of this is here. You have to tell reception you want to go with advance notice & they'll get someone to drive you there. I hope they have enough car seats for us?!!

- we've not had a turn down service for the 2 nights we've been here.. I asked a couple of staff who looked a bit perplexed but then apparently front desk said it must have been because we put the dnd on our door. Which wouldn't be so bad but we've only used it once for 10 minutes when we came out of our pool this morning and the cleaners came in anyway, they were lovely but even they said they took no notice of it, and said if we want some time to get changed it was fine but they'd be back in 10 minutes. But according to the website we'd get water for the kids etc

- website saId free welcome bag for kids....but we haven't got any welcome bag so far

-most of the resturants are shut!!!!!! Why do they not tell you in advance!!!

- this is not to moan at here as all hotels with private pools seem to be the same but our private pool is freezing!!! They are only allowed to heat it to 26degrees according to Greek law, I mean it's possible use ( bear in mind I'm here end of April) but not nice. I hope it's better later in the season.

I'll be back!!! I so hope holiday improves!! The people are so nice but I feel like I've been conned by the website.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank Happyholidaysxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry_Maranghides, Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive comments regarding our staff.
Regarding your remarks please allow me to respond the following:
Elounda Mare is the first hotel that had bungalows with private pools and has been recognised world wide with numerous awards and positive reviews for its unique charm and character. One of the main reasons of this recognition is because each of the 40 bungalows and suites with private pools have a different layout and decoration in order to give to its guests the feeling of visiting a "home away from home". In our website we do mention that there are differences between the bungalows. But after your comment we can make that even clearer, adding more floor plans, and thank you for this.
Regarding your comment that our kids club is on another hotel, please note that this is also mentioned in our website and we are sorry it has not been noticed. We will also try and make it clearer. The distance between elounda mare and our sister property is only 400 m and a car is always available for transfer.
Regarding the six senses spa: The main facility is at Porto Elounda. In addition, please note that there are treatment rooms within the Elounda Mare and is also possible to have in-room treatments.
Finally, please note that in our website we do mention the location of each restaurant. So we do mention that restaurants are located in different hotels. Obviously, when Porto Elounda is still closed, its restaurants are not in operation. Taking this opportunity, we would like to point out that even though Elounda Mare opened in early April before Porto Elounda, additional facilities such as the Six Senses Spa, the private Golf Course and the Kid's Ark were in operation, thus available to our guests from the first week.
Thank you once again for taking the time to review our property and for giving us the opportunity to reply to your remarks.
Best Regards
Harry Maranghides
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great place to stay in the Elounda corridor. Nice isolated location with a great little beach and chairs on the grass right on the water's edge. Very peaceful and relaxing time. Fantastic al fresco lunch restaurant, where most folks head around noon like clockwork. Lovely rooms and not quite as pricey as it's next of kin two properties down (The EB). A good spot to stop in for a drink, as the bar is lovely there, offering lovely panoramic sea/bay views in the evening. So, location, location, location. You don't really need to leave the hotel once here, but likely will want to, as Crete is, if not only one of, it not the largest Greek Islands, it is also one of the most diverse, with rich historic sites, mountains with white churches and olive trees, and, of course amazing beaches and crystal clear waters.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

While my husband and I had a pleasant stay at Elounda Mare, and we loved the spa at their neighboring property, if you are a frequent American traveler like we are, I frankly would stay somewhere else. The decor at the hotel is overwhelmingly Greek "country" -- classical Cretan fabrics, wooden beams (i.e, very U.S. 1970's or National Park-ish decor). If you are looking for sleek and modern, this is not the hotel for you. I was not happy that we had specifically reserved a suite--so that we could have 2 rooms, in case one of us wanted to sleep while the other did work--yet the hotel "upgraded" us to a pool room, with our own plunge pool, which was only one room. Moreover, it overlooked the air conditioning unit of another unit, blocking our view. Also, be aware that unlike American hotels (or even most international chains we found in Greece) you have to pay for the internet by the minute, which is a real pain. Two other issues--the mattress was rock hard. We seriously considered getting up in the middle of our first night and going somewhere else. Upon our request, management did bring a "coconut" mattress that was a bit softer and some better pillows. But again, this is just not what we would expect from a Relais et Chateau property. We also were surprised to find mold in the bathroom--the grout was really icky. I think that was because there were only two little windows that you could prop open, no fan or A/C. The ventilation really needs to be improved. Although the staff was very nice, views were beautiful, spa was great, and loved the breakfast, I do not think this hotel is as "luxurious" as it is advertised.

Room Tip: Beware that some pool suites do not have a clear view of the sea, but rather, overlook the roofs of other suites.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry_Maranghides, General Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, for your good comments and your remarks.
Although you had a pleasant stay, we are sorry that it was not 100% satisfactory. To clarify a few points: The upgrade to a bungalow with private pool is almost always appreciated. Your booking did not mention that a separate living room was necessary; otherwise we would certainly allocate a unit with one. The mattresses are all Cocomat branded with a medium softness. In case a softer one is preferred, an over-mattress is used as in your case. Internet: 4 hours free use is included in a suite booking. Then there are various options for buying time. As for the style and décor, we would like to point out that Relais & Chateaux hotels must have their own character, among other standards. This is opposed to most international chain hotels that usually offer widely acceptable standards, and we believe this is what you mean by “frequent American traveler” standards. Our privately owned and run property is personalized, its discreet luxury based on Cretan style, and we agree that it is certainly not sleek or modern, this being obvious in our web site.
Again, thank you for your remarks and good comments.
Harry Maranghides

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our third return to one of the most magical places in the Mediterranean Sea. The Elounda Mare hotel is spectacular and extremely comfortable, with well-kept grounds, beautiful lantana plants and pomegranate trees, and our own private pool attached to our suite was romantic and relaxing. Of course the Old Mill restaurant was a delicious dining experience and the service was impeccable. Thanks to all of the professional staff for their remarkable hospitality --we look forward to our fourth visit!

Room Tip: I highly recommend a suite with a private pool.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great weeks stay, staff excellent, warm welcome and very good service. Looked at a number of other hotels on the coast and felt we had picked the best of those in the area, smaller and quieter .
Was a little surprised at the restaurant prices, eye watering rates in crete that the Burj al Arab would would be happy to charge

Room Tip: All rooms have great views , we stayed on top floor in the newer wing, quieter and best views
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newtontj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews