We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise on Earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Beautiful & relaxing! We went end of May 2012 and had the place to ourselves. The service was superb, Manolis in particular bringing our mojitos to the beach!
I can thoroughly recommend a walk to Elounda village and a meal at Olondi restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R0x1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    68
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
89
216
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We chose this special hotel to celebrate our Golden Wedding anniversary in 2007 and loved it so much we have just booked our 6th visit for June of this year! We always get a wonderful welcome from all the outstandingly friendly staff and are made to feel like very special guests. This is a Relais & Chateaux hotel, rare in the whole of Greece, and full of character. It is peaceful and quiet, set in beautiful grounds that meander along the edge of the sea to its own private sandy beach. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and airy, and immaculately kept. The breakfast is extremely good with lots of choice of hot and cold dishes served in an open-fronted room with a spectacular view across the bay. Elounda itself is an attractive port with a variety of tavernas down on the waterside, plenty of parking space and frequent boats to the island of Spinalonga made famous by Victoria Hislop in her novel The Island. We always hire a car to explore the area which is full of interest - from Minoan palace ruins (including Knossos) to little seaside villages for fresh orange juice and grilled sardines or a Greek salad. Driving in the mountains is one of our special favourites. But at the end of the day our particular pleasure is sitting at the hotel with a glass of wine watching the hills on the other side of the bay turning from grey to pink as the sun goes down. Magical!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my newly wed husband stayed here 10 days for our honeymoon. The first thing to mention was that we didn't really go at the right time of year, some rain and an empty hotel. Bearing in mind all the empty rooms our first looked nothing like what we paid for and came with a dead cockroach plus his ant friends. It was late so we thankfully got moved to a nicer room which was great, although wasn't impressed with the swimming pool cleanliness.

I don't like writing bad reviews because this was a nice hotel with friendly staff, beautiful gardens and scenery. We are a young couple (21 at the time) so I can't help but think this played to our disadvantage. Ps €8 for a pot of hot water and tea bags isn't normal is it?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry_Maranghides, General Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Elounda Mare for your special honeymoon trip and for your kind review.
Regarding the occupancy, please keep in mind that at October 2012 we had an average of 72% . The way the hotel is built with all 40 bungalows with their private pools spread around 20,000 sqm of gardens, always gives a feeling of privacy and charm. This is one of the strongest advantages of the hotel and why we communicate "a home away from home experience".
A few rainy days can be present in October, rare however unpleasant.Also please keep in mind that the pools are always affected by rain, their sea water turning a little non-transparent, regardless how well the pool is cleaned.
As for the cockroach, it obviously came in the room a while before you. They seldom appear, living in the sewage systems (nothing to do with cleanliness). We practice pest control regularly but we use environmentally friendly chemicals that are not too strong and do not harm the precious fauna and flora of our gardens and clear sea. Finally, for the room service price, tea or coffee costs only 3 Euros but there is a service charge of 5 Euros per order (on any order), hence the total of 8 Euros.
With many thanks again and best wishes,
Harry Maranghides
General Manager
Elounda Mare hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great reviews and pictures lead us to book a week here. It is pricey and a Small Leading hotels member. We did have a wonderful stay here and would recommend you go, the site is beautiful, the staff are lovely and the facilities very good. The down sides were very dated bathrooms with a shower so tiny you knock the un-thermostatic water tap off or worse to boiling, and I am slim. The rooms are big and spotless but could do with a make-over at this price. The Old mill restaurant is lovely but was closed most of the week. When we did get in reviewers are correct, the wine list is tiny and excessively pricey. A bottle of rose wine was 45 Euros, the same one was 40 in the hotel's sister establisment and 10 euros in the local supermarket, a 450% mark up from a store. One bottle and a 3 course meal for two cost 300 Euros. The main restaurant is rather soul-less. The private bay and beach is stunning. The reception staff are wonderful and very helpful. Mattress toppers can be requested for those who like a softer bed.
Nothing to do with the hotel, but it isn't suprising the Greek economy is in a mess, there seems to be no discounting of prices to encourage tourism and spending, the shops were mainly closed during the day when people were about and opened late at night when you are either eating or resting and farmers blockaded the airport for a day when we were there! What message does this send to the rest of the world?

Room Tip: ask for one which has private outside space, some have private pools where people walk past,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DGoscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry_Maranghides, General Manager at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, as well as for your kind words regarding the location of the hotel, our private sandy beach, our staff and the Old Mill restaurant. Please note that elounda mare hotel is not a member of Small Leading hotels but of Relais & Chateaux.
Regarding your comments about prices: please note that the average price for a 3-course meal at the award winning gourmet restaurant Old Mill is 60€ per person. It can be lower or higher than that depending on the order, but always in accordance with the excellent food quality, the unique ambiance and the wonderful piano music. Greek wines of the card are carefully selected and in addition our sommelier can suggest imported wines from the vast selection of our Cellar. Finally, please note that a strong competitive advantage of elounda mare hotel is that all bungalows have a private pool and in almost all of them the garden is very private, meaning that practically no one can see inside.
Best Regards
Harry Maranghides
General Manager
Elounda Mare hôtel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Elounda Mare resort at the same time as the previous reviewer & cannot add much more to what has been said already. We were looking for complete relaxation, luxury accommodation & warm weather & succeeded in finding all three. We booked through Secret Escapes & got a very good late deal for a villa with its own pool & half board. The sea is beautifully clear for snorkelling with a plentiful supply of sealife to view & the grounds are maintained to a very high standard which makes it hard to leave the resort. Although the resort was very quiet as it was almost the end of the season the staff were still very attentive, helpful & polite & we seemed to be provided with complimenatry drinks & cretan delights regularly. We hired a car which allowed us to explore a bit more of the area and would agree that the watersports provided at the resort were overpriced so probably best to shop around locally for a better deal. We would definitely recommend The Elounda Mare resort to friends & family.

Room Tip: The villas with pools are really good quality, nicely finished & furnished & very peaceful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

You will not be disappointed.......great hotel, great location, great service and excellent accommodation. From start to finish, no complaints.
We were in a bungalow with pool....it costs a little more but do it!
It was warm weather when we stayed (33c) and we stayed mainly by the sea in daytime in the many little coves with your own beds. Sea is crystal clear and we snorkelled many times a day. The bungalow pool was great for a dip before bedtime and cooling yourself down at lunchtime...fed by sea water which is purified.
Lovely environment, more for mature persons or families wanting good facilities and support service....not really for younger generation...no disco or dancing music...just serene, background greek music playing with a mixture of light classical...very enjoyable and setting a great atmosphere.
We were on B&B. Food at hotel is not cheap, but the support service is exceptional. Drinks are pricey....G&T Euro 10 , beer Euro 6 small bottle and wine from Euro 35 a bottle. Dinner at the hotel is very expensive...we ate on two nights with both nights costing us over Euro 230 each night for two persons (3 courses + wine). Excellent cuisine, with outstanding views from restaurant.
We are sailors and fancied a day on the water. The hotel as access to two boats...40' Moody and a 44' Cat. However....cost of water sports exhorbitant and really was the only draw back of the whole holiday. Euro 800 and Euro 1200 for a days sailing is unrealistic (we paid 900 euros for a week in Croatia) and to charge Euro 60 an hour for a small 15 foot boat with small engine is a joke! However they seemed to be doing some business.
Management found to be caring, interested and listened to your observations...nice people!

Top Tips:
Hire a car...cost us Euro 100 all in for 5 days from the car rental company about 100 metres from hotel. on your left. If you hire in hotel you pay double!
Get up early...enjoying the sea water and snorkelling at sun up was superb.
Fridges in room with ice cubicles, so buy duty free and enjoy your G&T or cocktails.
Visit the Olive farm that is nearby in Agio Nickolias....very interesting and also you can sample various home made greek bits...food, olive oil, wine and pickles...very yummy and enjoyable. We bought most our gifts for friends here as we really liked what we saw and it was sensibly priced.
Eat at The Ferryman Restaurant in Alounda. We took one of the front seats on edge of quay overlooking harbour. Food great, wine OK..... but atmosphere....sensational !!

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow with pool....you will not be disappointed, They are set to front of hotel away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigtonybeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend took me to Crete for a well deserved break. Everyone was lovely, clean sheets daily and maid service twice a day. We stayed in a bungalow on half board and it was perfect. Food in all restaurants was superb, so much so that we only ventured out a couple of times and found nothing of comparable quality. Alough it was the end of the season and hotel was a little quiet, the staff were still very attentive and wanted to make sure you had everything you needed, without being intrusive. The bungalow was lovely the private pool was cleaned daily and was well worth extra money. All in all a fantastic hotel and would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: if you can afford a bungalow it's well worth it, half board is really good value as all food is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happiesttraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#13 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
3.0 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing