We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely honeymoon!”
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We spent 6 nights of our honeymoon at the Elounda Mare. It was a fantastic experince! Upon arrival we were upgraded from a 'regular' bungalow to a deluxe, with great view of the Mediterranean sea and a lovely, private seawater pool. There was a bottle of chanpagne waiting for us and flowers on the doormat and petals in the bedroom. On following days, we kept receiving little gifts - chocolate, fruit... Service was impeccable - the bungalow and the pool were cleaned and restocked twice a day - but at the same time everything ws private and nobody was botehring us while in the room. We endep up not using the common pool at all. Food was great - fantastic rich breakfast buffet, and great restaurants (of course, they are pricey, but we found them well worth of the special occasion) We dined also on one of the other 'sisters' resorts and we found that a bit more 'family oriented' while at Elonda mare there were hardly any children at all. Overlall, despite the hotel being virtually sold out, if felt like there were few people around - I think becuase of teh way the landscape is designed, with bugalow nested all over and dozed of little alcoves by the sea for people to have some privacy. The only time we interacted with other people was during breakfast! We were in Crete at about the beginnig of the fire season - and we did experience fire behind the resort the last night of our stay - it was odd to dine with ashes floating in the air, but things were always in control (at least, they appeared to be!) We had one misshap - midway in our stay there was a problem with the water pump that supplied all the pools, so we did have one day in which our pool was getting quite low - luckily that was fixed the follwing day. Management was very attentive and responsive. One thing: road signs are ofetn a bit criptic and the entrance to the resort is quite hidden - we missed it on our way there, and on the following days we had to be extra careful not to drive past it.

  • Liked — Landscape, privacy
  • Disliked — Relatively far from the closest airport (relative disadvantage)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Galadriel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotis_Kokotos, Member of the Board at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2008
We are very happy to inform all TripAdvisor users that as of the 2008 season there are no more shared pools in our hotel. We have just completed a major reconstruction of our few older bungalows, creating brand new rooms and suites in their place, as well as a further renovation of our top-of-the-line accommodation, creating the "Minoan Royalty Suites", and the photography has been uploaded to our website for everyone's perusal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    74
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
101
238
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southern california
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2007

what a beautiful, serene place to stay!!! private beach, heated pool overlooking the sea!!! staff was very accommodating to your needs. breakfast buffet was good too. will definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Disliked — a little far from main town
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flamingo777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

We have just come back having had a fantastic week at this wonderful hotel. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. We found the food excellent especially the breakfast buffet which seemed to cater for all tastes and plenty of it. We wanted a relaxing chill out week and that is exactly what we got - so peaceful and quiet and very pretty. We had a lovely room on the 5th floor with spectacular views of the bay and everything was spotlessly clean. Can't find anything to fault and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Spacious, clean and had everything you could want
  • Disliked — Beds a bit too firm!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

The Hotel just opened on Apr 23rd and it was evidently not ready to do it. Many works going on around the guests, very noisy, very disturbing. Also, the hotel is not completed, i.e. rooms are still in construction. Also my room, probably was just finished.
The hotel and location is nice but definitively not value for the rates. I stayed in a superior bungalow with private swimming poll at 485 euro/night.....too much for the superficial service which I try to summarize:
- I specifically asked to have an internet connection in the room. They confirmed it was running. Actually it wasn't. They said someone cut the cable trying to rrcover it. In 6 days they haven't been able to do it. My assumption was that the connection was not ready since the room was just built and not everything was working, yet
- In the room there was a ground lamp in a corner where no plug was available, confirming they just dropped the lamp there with no care on how to make it working, just for rushing
- the swimming pool was cleaned up only the last day of our stay
- the breakfast bouffet was really poor, less than a 3 starts hotel
- Gymn had only 4 basic machines, one of them broken, the other badly working.
- The ad says there is a Spa. It's not true. The Spa (six senses) is located in the other "sister hotel" Porto Elounda, 500 mts far from Eoulnda Mare, so we needed to take the car/have a long walk to go there

Generally speaking, a general superciality is evident in this hotel. People and staff is nice, trying to do their best, unfortunately it looks the management is not adequate. Rates, also in the restaurant, is too high in respect of the provided services and their quality. Would it cost 30-40%% less I would return. With those rates I will never go back nor I will recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Locatiion
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Dudygiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotis_Kokotos, Member of the Board at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2008
Thank you for commending our staff for being “nice” and “trying to do their best”. Sorry about some things not working as expected. We are currently in the process of upgrading all our services, including the breakfast buffet and the internet connections. We have also replaced a number of bungalows with brand new rooms and suites, and we have also installed hundreds of solar panels outside the hotel for renewable energy production. Our Six Senses Spa next door has just received the “World’s Best Spa” award from the Sunday Times’ “Travel” magazine for 2007 and we offer complimentary transfers to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

This was the first stop on our honeymoon of the Greek Isles...it was the perfect way to kick things off. We were greeted immediately with a glass of champagne & relaxed to watch the sunset. Our room was very nice & private, & the staff very professional & courteous. While there are many people staying there, it does not ever appear "packed" It was a truly relaxing experience & very close to a town that we explored on our own (once we were done relaxing on the beach) My only complaint is regarding dress code for dinner & the lack of flexibility by the staff. My husband's baggage was lost by the airline & he only had the clothes he was wearing on the first night of our stay. Unfortunately, he was wearing shorts & the hotel required dress pants. Regardless of our situation, they would not allow us to dine with them...even though we'd traveled for 24 hours & did not have anywhere else to eat. Instead, they forced us to order room service...which wasn't a bad idea for our 1st honeymoon night!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Siegel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

We stayed in one of the bungalows with a private pool. The bungalow was roomy with a comfortable seating area and plenty of clothes storage space.The bathroom was a wee bit tired looking and did not have a separate bath and shower. There was a good selection of toiletry products in the bathroom. Top tip is to keep your mouth shut when jumping into the pool as it is salt water. The hotel is set in a beautiful location with sea views galore. Breakfast was good with a buffet and waiter service to order something cooked. We ate lunch twice at the hotel. The Old Mill restaurant was disappointing. A tuna salad was little more than a tin of tuna emptied onto some lettuce leaves. Far better was the Yacht club which had a larger selection of dishes which were well cooked and presented.
Elounda town is around a 20 minute walk away. It is very small however has some good restaurants along the waterfront. Not much available for the shoppers though.
Overall we enjoyed our stay however are unlikely to return to the area although we met quite a few people who seem to return regularly.
Take plenty of bug repellant and use it liberally.

  • Liked — Very private
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sib526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fotis_Kokotos, Member of the Board at Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2007
Our guests will be happy to know that we have undergone a major renovation of a whole wing of bungalows, enlargening the bathrooms and adding wooden floors to the rooms, as well as many other amenities. We have also demolished another wing of aged bungalows and built brand new rooms in their place, along with a number of exciting suites. Also, our new general manager is overviewing all F&B outlets to ensure that the Elounda Mare serves fine dining experiences at all its outlets. It is no coincidence that we rank so high in customer satisfaction and we make large investments to ensure that this satisfaction is felt by both new and returning guests. Please feel free to point out anything you didn't like and we will look into fixing it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

As soon as we entered the hotel I felt right at home. The girl at the reception was very friendly and polite. Even though it was our first visit to this hotel, they have upgraded us (without us asking for it) to a bungalow instead of a main building room. When we arrived at the bungalow (escorted by the girl from reception of course..), we were amazed-the room was filled with lighted candles and Jasmine flowers. The room was very clean (especially the huge bathroom overlooking the bay).

The pool and beach are not big but seems to be enough since the hotel is not very big.

I recommend this hotel to everyone who appreciates class and does not mind sharing his vacation with an elderly crowd.

My plan is to save enough money to be able to enjoy this hotel next summer-it may be expensive but it is totally worth it!

  • Liked — peacefull and clean
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.4 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.4 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
3.4 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel

Property: Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Address: Dimokratias 10, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Elounda
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#7 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#8 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#13 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famed for its gracious and attentive service, this hotel is the embodiment of all-time-classic style and cultured luxury, where antique art and traditional architectural themes adorn all of its private-pool bungalows - each with its own terrace overlooking the Aegean Sea. Three fine dining venues reflect the Relais & Chateaux tradition of excellence, their culinary delights ranging from enticing lunchtime snacks to five-course dinners, with flambe and fish specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Mare Hotel And Bungalows
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing