We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good for family or couples

We did the 4 hour tour for 18 euros each which was fair. The route is quite long and some walking... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
fozzie14
,
Medway
via mobile
A Happy Trip on a Happy Train

We needed to travel from Elounda Village & Spa Hotel to Elounda town and were not sure of the... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
PAMAV
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Read all 462 reviews
  
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
285
92
35
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
92
35
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour trip road train happy trip green salad great afternoon spend an afternoon great trip fantastic views great fun take photos few hours local area small village four hours knowledgeable guide recommend this trip well worth the trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Happy Train , great price to see the country side and churches, be warned a fair amount of walking . Some elderly guests were not told this. We were not told that for an hour of the journey you are left at a small restaurant with nothing to do but pay their prices for drink and food. We were disappointed as 10 minutes on was Plaka were there was a choice of restaurant and small shops and beautiful views

Thank Helen132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the 4 hour tour for 18 euros each which was fair. The route is quite long and some walking is involved through villages and to see churches. The stop off at a family taverna was lovely and we had a lovely Greek salad with wine.

Thank fozzie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We needed to travel from Elounda Village & Spa Hotel to Elounda town and were not sure of the distance and difficulty involved. The Happy Train matched our needs and was an enjoyable and safe cost-effective experience.

Thank PAMAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

the four of us did this 4 hour trip, you get on in Elounda as i have mobility problem the guide did have a wooden step for me to get on you stop off at plaka my husband and son did the walk they found it interesting we then made our way up to the mountains through very small villages includes another walk which i did not do but hubby and son were pleased and saitd the guide was very knowelgeable i did get off to have a look at a old church we then started on the way back down and stopped off to get a drink and something to eat at a taverna please note if you have bread they dont have butter but will offer you olive oil a nice break then all aboard for Elounda it was a nice 4 hours

Thank june b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

A lovely trip in the little train up into the mountains. The guide was enthusiastic and had lots of local knowledge. we enjoyed the Taverna stop. All in all well worth doing.

Thank Abuslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

The train is comfortable except that for the less able bodied getting on and off is a bit difficult due to the lack of a step! But apart from that it is a fantastic way to see the countryside beyond Elounda. The train stops at Plaka for a whistle stop tour on foot which is challenging for the less mobile. However it did ensure that we made a return visit to Plaka on another day! The guide is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about his country. The tour cost €18 plus lunch at a taverna in Vrouchas which we thought was good value for four hours. And trains are fun!

Thank RyeNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Did this trip several years ago and as enjoyed it then decided yo do it again. 4 hours of interest thanks to an informative and enthusiastic guide Constantine (?). Several stop offs with short walks kept it really interesting. Was sad to see the difference in Seles from our last visit -past lunch venue closed along with oil press apparently due to young people leaving to work in cities. Visit to monastery was new. Very enlightening.

Thank babsy13022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018

Went on the four hour train trip up the mountain. Started in Plaka and the guide gave us more info on Spinalonga than any of the tours to the leper colony. Visited villages and places of historic interest and had terrific views around the island. Very good value for money. Lunch stop for 1 hour was extra but inexpensive and also great value.

1  Thank Hamlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

We went full, so booked for next day and guide remembered us. Set of with a full train and it was amazing, the views, commentary, everything was lovely. We stopped at some amazing spots and were informed of a little history by our guide who was so passionate about his country it was special. Stopped for a nice meal and worried it would be rushed but it was very relaxed. Oh and the train seats are padded and so comfort not an issue. So please jump on and have a great 4 hours. Have fun xx

Thank rdb2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We were dubious about 4 hours on a Noddy Train but what a surprise - it was nothing like we expected. We stopped at several villages where you walk with the guide and he points out the places of interest, view points, Churches etc. We stopped at a Taverna for lunch on the return leg. The driver and the guide were very friendly and the guide was very informative about the area and the places we visited. Thoroughly recommend this trip it was excellent value for money. The trip runs until the end of October.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews