We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luxurious and Relaxing!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

This Hotel is everything you would expect. Excellent location with beautiful beaches ( white sand and great water temperature). We stayed at a sea front bungalow, only 3 steps from the beach, with private sunbeds section! My husband and I had a morning swim before breakfast which was amazing! Rich breakfast buffet with anything you want and very nice quality. Had a relaxing massage at the Chenot Spa which was very good. Don't miss having lunch at 'Kafeneion" taverna with traditional greek cuisine, at the "Dionysos" gourmet restaurant, at the "Blue Lagoon" polynesian restaurant and lastly at "Thalassa" gourmet Cretan cuisine situated at the Elounda Bay sister hotel(go by beach buggy).Friendly staff ready to help you, a little weak wifi (due to the surrounding mountains). In general a paradise on earth- We'll definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Luxury Sea Front Bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Trip Advisor site. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel in one of our water front bungalows. In addition to the restaurants that you have mentioned above we are opening an exclusive venue for intimate dining called ‘AND’ located under the olive trees above the main Swimming Pool. This is a totally different concept to dining and creates a beautiful evening set in a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. It would be our pleasure to introduce you to this new concept here at the Elounda Beach when we welcome you back to our ‘paradise on earth’ for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    86
    29
    16
    9
See reviews for
127
193
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 week in June at Elounda Beach in a one bedroom suite. Overall it was a very destination for families (we traveled with 2 boys). Pros: Amazing daily breakfast, nice beach service and set up with loungers and towel service/bar food with fun water activities on a nice private beach. Room was a nice size and well appointed. The one bedroom suite was perfect for a family of four with a nice outdoor area. Spa was nice and their are tennis courts available. Good kid activities. Service overall was great the staff was attentive and quite nice. As far as I can tell we were the only Americans there for the entire week. People staying there skewed Russian and the other guests were generally friendly and courteous. The elounda beach area seems to be the nicest area in Crete. Things to do: must go see Knossos and Plaka/Spinalonga, Penza wine region worth exploring (after Knossos). They had a professional photographer that would walk around and that was a nice touch. Pool was very nice with great service.

Cons: restaurants need to be improved.. The Greek alternative is by far the best and we ate their nearly every night. (We were on 1/2 board). The Italian option was okay at best and it was annoying to be sat in the second row behind someone in an empty restaurant (and the someone was sat behind us) and the Asian option was nothing exciting either. Also the waitress at the beach was very nice and competent but they needed someone else to help her. If they could at least one other decent restaurant option I would move to a 5 star (as it is I would 4 1/2 stars).

A great way to start a trip to Cyclades!

In the end though the pros

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Voldar15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us at the Elounda Beach Hotel on the Trip Advisor website. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed their holidays here on the island and that you found your accommodation here comfortable. All together we actually have 4 a la carte restaurants in the Elounda Beach and another 2 restaurants in our sister hotel the Elounda Bay Palace which our guests are invited to use. So perhaps if we have the pleasure of welcoming you again to our hotel you will try our other restaurants, the Dionyssos fine dining restaurant or the Thalassa Seafood and fish restaurant or the Aretoussa Buffet. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We chose a week at the Elounda Beach to celebrate our wedding anniversary and from the moment we arrived it was like a second honeymoon.

As soon as we came through the front gate the elegance and peace of the resort struck us.

The staff at reception were appropriately attentive and made us feel very welcome.

Our suite was beautifully laid out with a stunning sea view - if the rest of the hotel hadn't been so stunning we would have loved to have spent even more time there.

Lounging under the olive trees by the white sandy beach was the perfect way to relax during the day with the occasional swim in the crystal clear waters to cool down.

All of the restaurants were excellent covering a range of cuisines and with superb wine lists (the local Cretan wines were a revelation). Service was impeccable. Half board is thoroughly recommended as you will not want to venture far from the resort. A nice touch was the decorated chocolate gateau we were presented with at dinner on our anniversary.

We thoroughly recommend the resort and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaintKew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We would like to thank you for choosing the Elounda Beach to celebrate your anniversary and we are delighted to read that we made your event such a memorable occasion. We try to create a slice of Cretan paradise here at the hotel with our special hospitality and professional friendly staff to ensure that all our guests have a holiday to exceed every expectation. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach for a future stay.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Something for everyone with well-lined pockets here; rooms in hotel like buildings, rooms alongside the sea. Some have their own decks, others infinity pools. Beaches of various sizes, plenty of bars, and restaurants dot the site, with various cuisines - Greek, Italian, Oriental. There are various facilities for children. The only oddity was the dodgy wifi which didn't work well in the room.
But the standout feature of the Elounda Beach is the staff. They couldn't have been more helpful and willing to please. They cater to people from all over the world (menus are often accompanied by a Russian translation, for example), and whose cultures are very diverse, but they take it all in their stride, and do it very well.
Finally, a special word for the egg chef at breakfast. She was simply excellent, and the hotel should cherish her.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review on the Trip Advisor website. Your kind comments about our staff shall be passed on to them as it is rewarding for them to read how their efforts have enhanced the whole holiday experience for our guests. Our loyal staff, many of whom have worked for the hotel for decades, is the heart and soul of Elounda Beach Hotel and many guests who enjoy their annual holidays every year regard them as old friends. The secret to our successful hospitality is our dedication to making our guests feel truly welcome with our professional, friendly approach and considering all our guests deserve VIP status. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel and Yes Maria does make an exceptionally good omelet!.

Kind Regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Over 37 years we have gradually upgraded from other hotels in Crete and have consistently stayed at the Beach Hotel since 1998 because it is just exceptional, and keeps getting better. The key is that the staff are very happy in their work and this gives a very happy atmosphere. One needs to choose one's room carefully depending on what one wants as this will also add to a happy holiday. On site there are exceptional, world class, Greek, Italian, Asian and International restaurants so whilst we hire a car for the whole holiday, we dine in on most nights and thereby have a cocktail and a glass of wine without having to consider drink/drive issues. An example of the depth of quality available is shown in that not only does the evening Veghera bar, which is set out in the sea, have an excellent, expert host in Yannis, but also does the pool bar in the shape of Pavlos, who mixes fabulous cocktails. We use the car to travel an hour west to the Minoan Palace, some 3,500 years old, or travel an hour east to Sitiea along a coast road to challenge any in the world in terms of the coastal views. We have visited four new holiday destinations in the last 12 months, so we are not "stick in the muds", but the one exceptional hotel to which we always look forward to returning to is the Elounda Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
What a fantastic commendation! We wish to express our heartfelt thanks to this reviewer for taking the time to write on the Trip Advisor website. The management and staff of the Elounda Beach Hotel are dedicated to hospitality and creating the friendly atmosphere. This is the foundation that make this hotel, not only one of the Leading Hotels of the World but second home to so many of our loyal guests, who choose the Elounda Beach for their annual holidays year after year. We are all looking forward to welcoming this reviewer and indeed all our loyal friends who continue to visit the Elounda Beach Hotel for their future holidays.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We've heard from our family that this hotel is really nice, and although we still have not been at the Elounda Beach Hotel, their staff have been absolutely amazing!
Tonight me and my husband were going to fly to Elounda Beach for our honeymoon, but at the last moment it turned out that I needed a visa to attend Greece. We desperately called the hotel and told them we were not coming. Although I was ready for the worst outcome, the hotel manager calmed me down and efficiently resolved our problem. Now, we are going to visit the Elounda Beach hotel in a few weeks, and we are more than excited about it!
We are very thankful for the attention they gave us and for rescuing our honeymoon!!!!!
More to follow here soon=))

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We were only too pleased to be of assistance when you rang us and were obviously in great distress about your ruined honeymoon plans. We are looking forward to celebrating with you for your special honeymoon stay here at the Elounda Beach Hotel and can assure you that we are dedicated to making you stay full of memories for you to look back on. We wait for your arrival and wish you both a lifetime of happiness.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemnos, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I had over thirty years to visit this hotel. I could not believe the improvements. More modern without loosing the character that made it one of the best hotels not only in Greece but worldwide also. I enjoyed thoroughly every minute of my visit and i recomend it with open heart to all.

Room Tip: sea view on main building or one of the front bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Androni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for your kind review on the Trip Advisor website. We are pleased that you found that although the hotel has developed that it has not changed its character and that you so enjoyed the Cretan hospitality that we offer all our guests. We sincerely hope that it will not be not be another thirty years before we have the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
2.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.3 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Property: Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#2 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#3 Business Hotel in Elounda
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#8 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing