We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a fantastic holiday with the most wonderful staff. Ate everywhere and outside hotel and service and quality of food fantastic in hotel. Yes pricey but you get what you pay for. We holiday around 5 times a year all over world and this comes in with our top two. Four of us agreed best holiday ever for all of us as a group.

One tiny negative and this is just me personally, at lunch we only eat light lunches. The poolside meals were very basic just three I think toasted sandwich of cheese and ham, club sandwich and greek salad which were all very nice but after 14 days you want something else. We therefore went to the Restaurants and had quite a large meal at lunch times which we didn't want but wanted to vary our diet. For me myself unfortunately not eating meat and fish meant it was greek salad only which is delicious but after 14 days too much. However this is such a small negative to the amazing holiday we had. Too many names to mention that were fantastic that worked there. Yes we saw famous people when we were there and we were treated with the same mannor as they were. I have never rated a hotel so high on trip advisor and yes will definately visit again. We were all very sad to leave and staff made it so memorable to remember room numbers, drink orders, food orders. Cannot rate enough. If you want a holiday of a life time book the Elounda Beach Hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ENGLANDUKUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCrete, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review on your stay with us here at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We are delighted to read that you ranked us so high on you top places to holiday list. We strive to provide the ultimate in holiday with our staff, facilities and service enhancing the stunning location of the hotel. We have noted the comments about the variety of lunch choices and our director of Food and Beverage will be reviewing this and taking action to provide the lunchtime menus in our venues that satisfy our guests. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 477 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I type this as I look out from the room on a stunning view..... Which having only written reviews on a few hotels I thought this needed to be one straight away
My husband and I tend to opt for far east/ indian ocean during winter months but decided that we wanted something else.
We have been to many of the small/ leading hotels and can say by far ths is one of the better ones we have visited. So much so that we never return to a resort but will definitely be returning here and bringing family.
Yes it is expensive but you get what you pay for.
We have only been here for 3 days but staff are very friendly, the rooms are some of the best we've seen, the food is exceptional and the staff curtious and friendly.
That being said I personally only have a few niggles.
There isn't water supplied at turn down on an evening....... Which is what you would expect.
And our room ( island hideaway... Rm 162.... But this is personal) the planting/ trees/ bushes in front of the infinity pool ruin the view. You can not swim and look out onto the sea. They need to be cut down to pool level..... But as I day that is personal.
All in all this is one hotel i would definitely recommend to anyone and will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBarraclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review that you have taken the time to write during your stay here at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We are delighted to read that you are enjoying your stay and we are proud of your recognition that we are members of the prestigious Leading Hotels of the World. The two niggles that you have are easily rectified, today in fact. Two bottles of mineral water is usually supplied with the daily room servicing for all of our guests and we shall investigate why you have not received this simple courtesy. The Elounda Beach Hotel has magnificent mature Mediterranean gardens in which the hotel was originally built, so sometimes these trees and bushes, which make our individual bungalows and villas secluded, do grow and obscure the view. We have instructed the grounds staff to trim the trees and bushes for you so you may enjoy the view across the Mirabello Bay from your infinity pool. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel and sincerely hope that you too shall become guests that enjoy your annual holidays at your own Cretan paradise that is the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went with my 10 month old son & husband. It was our first holiday with a child so were looking for a family friendly resort that was clean & child friendly.

The pros

1. The staff were fantastic with our son - couldn't do more (had mamas & papas baby bath in our room, high chair, wooden cot, even fairy liquid and sponge so that we could wash babies bowls etc). V baby friendly hotel. Main pool has sea water in so had no worry about the chlorine on my babies skin either.

2. The views are out of this world. Absolutely stunning! We had a sea view bungalow with pool (room 89) was fab but paid hefty price for it. We stayed extra week in a sea view room. Was not so great - the rooms need modernising eg there is no shower just a hose in the bath that doesn't stretch v far so if you are tall not sure how you would shower properly. Basically if you go for the lower rate rooms, they are a bit dated!

3. Service was good for European standards, not what you would get in for example somewhere like Dubai though! They failed to fix the Internet for 4 days so we were without Internet in our room for that long! Not really acceptable when paying such prices especially when you're a guest for 2 weeks.

4. Footballers love this place - we saw 2! If you like to celebrity spot then this is the place for you!

5. The jetty bar - absolutely stunning! We went when there was a full moon. Was v romantic (even with a 10 month old baby)!

6. Breakfast is decent - pancake & waffle stand are a nice touch.

Cons

1. The price of food & drink is extortionate! €6 for a sprite! The food is nice but not amazing (the kafenion food however is poor, our chicken kebab arrived pink so we had to leave it) real shame.

2. Lunch menu at the beach has two/three items on it (toasted ham & cheese sandwiche or mozzarella piada bread). In a resort such as this, you would expect to be able to order much more luxurious foods for lunch! I think the hotel do this so that you can go sit down & eat at one of the restaurants. The menu for lunch & dinner is the same at all the restaurants.

3. Spa prices are extortionate! I paid €80 for body scrub. Real shame as would have used it more if a little cheaper as views from the spa are stunning & treatments are really good! The 25 minute facial is amazing!! Left my skin feeling so revitalised & clean.

4. You have to pay extra to heat the pool in your bungalow. Bit cheeky given the price you pay but to be fair to the hotel, they have alot of pools to heat. This does mean though that if you were to go before June/July time the water in the pool is quite cold (applies to main pool too, they don't heat that either).



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bubbergump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Elounda Beach Hotel with the Trip Advisor website. We are delighted that you enjoyed our resort so much that you extended your stay by a week. With the multitude of different restaurants available to you, including the ones at our sister hotel Elounda Bay Palace, where 3 a la carte restaurants and 4 beach bar/pool bar style restaurants offer a wide variety of lunchtime menus, we are surprised to read that you only sampled the beach bar snacks and not the Italian or the Greek Kafenion just a couple of steps away from the beach bar. The menus at lunchtime include all the specialities of the evening service plus more al fresco dishes which are prepared and change daily. We regret that you found our spa prices expensive even though you received a spa voucher to the value of 50 euros, as do all our guests as an introduction to the spa, to use against a treatment of your choice. We do charge to heat our pools as they are not plunge pools but fully sized pools and it is quite a cost. It is at the discretion of our guests whether the 26 to 27 degrees that our pools are naturally in June and July is deemed is too cold and to whether the charge is value for money for an extra 3 to 4 degrees when the air temperature hovers around 30 degrees at this time of year. However, we have decided for the next year, 2014, that all private pools shall be heated to 28 degrees and that this will be included in the rate of the room. Finally to the cost of a sprite soda drink, the universal charge at our resort is 4 euros and 3 euros in the mini bar so how you came to pay 6 euros we are at a loss to understand. Certainly we would be delighted to welcome you again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for a future stay and we are here at your disposal to respond to any queries about any of the pricing in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It states it is one of the top hotels in the world, but sadly this hotel has delusions of grandeur.
Our room was one of the garden villa rooms which, although looked quite lavish, had a concrete bed against a wall with a mattress on top. Not a comfortable or practical design!
On our first night we visited the hotel’s own Greek restaurant called Kafenion.
My wife had a chicken kebab which looked fabulous, but was so loaded with salt it was virtually inedible & I had the moussaka that didn’t look great, but was pretty good.
We also had a bottle of sauvignon blanc which we duly tasted & ordered.
When we came to pay for the meal (over €80 with no starters) the wine had mysteriously gone up in price. I asked the waiter why this was to which he replied. ‘Oh I didn’t have that wine so I gave you a more expensive one!’
This instantly made us very wary of eating at the hotel.
To say the prices in the hotel were exorbitant would be putting it mildly.
My wife & I have stayed at some of the most luxurious hotels in the world and are not afraid to spend the money to do so, but this hotel seriously needs a reality check on its prices.
We hired a car for 3 days which cost less than it would have cost my wife to have a pedicure!
At the pool we ordered 2 cocktails at €12.50 each. They were the most pathetic cocktails we have ever had anywhere. The young German barman, on his first day, gave me a pina colada cocktail that was filled to less than a third of the small glass and lasted two sips! I questioned him on the lack of ‘cocktail’ to which he replied ‘I’m sorry, I’ll give you a bit more next time!’
I did enquire about doing some water skiing and asked how much & how long?
€45 for barely 10 minutes! We only saw one person water ski in the whole week.
We spoke to Angela the assistant manageress of the hotel regarding the problems we’d had & she was most apologetic and promised to look into it. The follow day we received a tray of ‘nibbles’ & a bottle of wine by way of an apology for what had happened. Which appeared very thoughtful until we checked out when our bill still included the expensive wine we never ordered from the first night. I did ask the girl at reception to at least reduce it to the cost of the one we had ordered to which she agreed.
We did actually enjoy our stay at the hotel. The location is fantastic and the majority of the staff are extremely helpful & hard working, but this hotel has to be careful or it will go out of business. When we were there it was barely 25% full. It attempts to cater for a very wealthy clientele, but they must remember not all their customers are in that league.
With Greece going though the problems that it has the restaurants outside the hotel are serving better meals than in the hotel for less than a third of the price.

Room Tip: Don't opt for a garden villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Toaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

We wish to reply publicly to your comments that you have posted on this website as we are aware of some of the grievances you have mentioned. We sympathetically listened to you when you discovered that we had not deducted the amount of the wine from your bill but we are shocked that you have inflated prices and have misreported facts.
We acknowledged that the wine you were served, drank and consequently paid for, was not the one you ordered and at check out, the over charged amount of 6 euros was deducted from you bill. As when you spoke to us about the experience the day before your departure, you said that you were very disappointed with the one meal you ate in the hotel so in light of this, we sent you a bottle of wine and canapés for you to enjoy on your last night in your bungalow.
The décor of some of our bungalow accommodation is in the traditional Cretan architectural style with includes built in beds and fireplaces. It is a style that is very popular with a lot of our guests but we are always willing to provide a choice of accommodation and décor, as we have 26 different accommodation types and styles. You did not tell us you were uncomfortable in your accommodation when we enquired several times during your stay.
We note that you did have a Pina Colada at the pool bar and were charge 10 euros accordingly for this long cocktail drink. We can honestly say that we have not employed any German staff at the Elounda Beach Hotel and our bar staff are trained to the standards of the Leading Hotels of the World, of which we are proud members. Our pricing policy also is in keeping with other five star Leading Hotels of the World around the Mediterranean.
Our aim is to provide a friendly, professional hospitality here at the Elounda Beach Hotel with a diverse range of venues for our guests to enjoy. We offer 7 dining options to our guests from traditional Greek, to Italian, Polynesian with Sushi, Fine dining, Fish and Seafood and a Mediterranean buffet restaurant. With such a choice of venue, plus 7 different bars, we regret that you did not explore our hotel further. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to change you opinion of our hotel and would look forward to welcoming you again here to the Elounda Beach Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Yes like some say its a little expensive for what it is but long after I have forgotten the money I shall remember the amazing holiday we had. The best staff I have ever experienced,the waters edge accommodation the best ever,fantastic food and service in the restaurants, just wonderful.
Have never revisited a resort as I think there is too much of the world to see but had such a good time I intend to go back to the elounda beach for a short break later in the year.
Paul K

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Elounda Beach here on Trip Advisor. It is our pleasure to read that you so enjoyed your stay. Our unique waterfront property with our diverse dining venues completed with our own brand of Cretan Hospitality is what makes the Elounda Beach Hotel the secrete hideout of many of our loyal guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another stay and hope that we will become your favourite destination for relaxation and rejuvenation.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent in all departments, scenery, choice of 3 beaches, amazing dining, amazing decks for afternoon sunset drinks, superb service yet extremely expensive even for 6 star hotel standards..The resort tends to offer evrything from daily activities and watersports to a wide choice of dining from asian to Italian to Greek as well as many themed nights. When inside the resort one feels no need to travel outside as everything is simply done better than anything available in the surrounding vincinity. Especially suitable for adults travelling with young kids as there is plenty for them to do under the guidance of kindergarden experts. The surrounding area offers nothing much with the exception of the Spina Loca island so the guest feels no obligation to make the effort and explore his surroundings..Crete is a great island to explore but if you have travelled to Elounda Beach then you are not here for backpacking excursions..On the down side, prices are unbelievably high. For a standard room in hi-season you are expected to spend around 400-500 euros per night and then for a light lunch and full dinner with wine easily another 300 euros per day. And thats for a standard room, imagine having 2 kids ordering burgers and ice creams all day long you could be easily pushing 500 euro feeding habits.. So try to book this vacation, because it is worth it at a more reasonable price, according to their better value deals which are frequently offered on their website :)

Room Tip: Go for standard accommodation it offers plenty and aim for special offers. Prices tend to go down b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doros L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Thank you for writing about your holiday experience at the Elounda Beach Hotel on the Trip Advisor website. It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and all the facilities on offer. We do have a wide range of dining venues with not only the a la carte restaurants in the Elounda Beach Hotel but also the magnificent buffet and a la carte restaurants in our sister hotel the Elounda Bay Palace, just next door. When reserving a holiday there is always the option to include meals in the price of the room with either half board or dine around options depending on what would suit your needs.
The island of Crete is a wonderful holiday destination for all ages with many places to explore. We offer such a range of experiences at the Elounda Beach that many of our guests do not venture far from the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again to the Elounda Beach Hotel for another stay on Crete.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've traveled to Greece many times, but this was my first visit to Crete and I can honestly say that I was very much impressed. The Elounda Beach is a very luxurious resort, ideal for couples that want to spend their vacation in a relaxed and luxurious environment. I was particularly impressed by the top service and attention to detail. The beach was amazing and our suite was very nicely decorated. Look forward to visiting again next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Elounda Beach Hotel. We are always very pleased to hear that our guests appreciate the hospitality that our hard working staff, go out of their way to afford all our guests. The personal service and tailor made stays at our diverse and luxurious resort, with the personal contact with our guests is what makes the Elounda Beach Hotel this iconic resort in the Mediterranean. Our unique water front accommodations were one can step from you own deck directly in to the warm blue sea can not be found anywhere else in the Mediterranean. We look forward to welcoming you again in the summer and hope to once again exceed your expectations of the Elounda Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
726 reviews
1.3 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
0.5 mi away
Elounda Peninsula All Suite Hotel
2.9 mi away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Elounda
#6 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#6 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#7 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: $352 - $1,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing