We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Kalypso Restaurant

Kalypso Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place was easily the friendliest of all places in Elounda, the food was very good, with very good attentitive hosts. Good price and good portion size- highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank w00dster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    40
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“upmarket dining”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is more a restaurant than a taverna and i feel its a little out of place in a small fishing village.it was very quiet the night we visted and therefore sadly lacking in atmosphere, the service was also a little too intrusive, i am quite capable of pouring my own water thanks!
no complaints with regards to the food quality which was a step above your normal taverna offering and nicely presentedThink this establishment is better suited to a more upmarket setting in a town or city
nice views over the harbour

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-a1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Could compete with top London restaurants!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We lived in Elounda for 8 months during the summer of 2011, I have only just got round to creating a Tripadvisor account and I had to write a review on Kalypso.
The food is amazing, locally sourced and of fantastic quality. The restaurant would fit in great in major cities like London and the food is better than some of the top London restaurants I've eaten in.
The live piano music is a lovely touch and really makes the place unique and great for a special night out.
The chocolate souffle was our favourite desert and you must definitely try it! I am waiting for the recipe!!
Go on the first night of your holiday and you'll keep going back, and go at the end and you'll wish you hadn't saved it! I'm looking forward to a trip to Crete next year where I'll definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leila249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarboro north yorks
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A little bit different”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

On the recomendation of the Alykes staff we wandered down to the harbour to have dinner at the Kalypso. First impressions being it looked a little more upmarket with its table linen and general decor. The staff were welcoming and attentive the food delicious and beautifully presented hubby had the sea bass and proclaimed it the best ever, my veggie rissotto was hot and tasty our greek salad impressive. but the" icing on the cake" had to be the desert of lovely sticky baklava and home made ice cream delightfu land the tangerine infused raki the perfect ending.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank di1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant would not be out of place in any major city.
The food was stunning, the staff were excellent and they provided a very grown up dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalypso Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kalypso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing