We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise find”
Review of Kanali Restaurant

Kanali Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprise find”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Fantastic views,alongside the canal/bay, such a relaxing setting.Initially found this when walking, looked so nice and inviting went back for a meal following day.
Excellent fish menu, large portions, beautifully presented.
Had Greek salad and Tzatziki to start followed by sardines. Bread is excellent drizzled with oil and rock salt.
Got complimentary fruit and Raki.
Staff very helpful and very friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    116
    31
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Superb fish dishes, friendly owner and chef, quiet location”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We strolled across the causeway to this in Elounda , go over the little bridge and it is on your right, white tables and chairs passed the old windmills.
We asked the owner what the dish of the day was (lunchtime) and had a magnificent sea bass meal.
A lovely green salad was served then the filleted rolled sea bass was filled with spinach, apricots,
cherry tomatoes, pine nuts, etc just fabulous everything so fresh.
We were about to leave, having finished our wine and water when the owner came over to say the chef was preparing some fruit for us! We couldn't eat anything for hours afterwards, he meal was superb.
This is on the site of an ancient city, the remains of which can be seen under water nearby.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing find!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We found this amazing place quite by accident.The owner was fishing by the restaurant & offered us his catch for lunch! The setting is beautiful & peaceful. Our vine leaves & salad were fabulous & the bread is to die for!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank marianne_lewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time in a great restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Few days before me and my wife visited this lovely restautant and we just had eaten the BEST food ever!! All the persons there were friendly and so kind! Im just love it! I recommend certainly visit this restaurant! Thanks for everything :) ill come again, promise! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stopped at Kanali for a drink but decided to stay for lunch and enjoy the wonderful views for longer. The service was friendly and efficient, the food was delicious - Greek salad followed by Sea Bass, steamed vegetables and chips. The Sea Bass was superb and was only caught earlier that day so couldn't have been any fresher.

A group of ten came in shortly after us and had a variety of dishes which all looked very well presented and the diners seemed to thoroughly enjoy them all. The portion sizes were generous so don't order too many dishes.

When we asked for the bill we were given a plate of mixed fruit and some Raki. It would have been rude not to have drunk it! For two it was 61 euros which I think was very reasonable given the size of the fish, sides and drinks.

I complimented the staff on the food and was taken to meet the chef and given some fresh herbs which was lovely.


I will definitely go back to Kaneli.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanali Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Kanali Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing