We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in Elounda” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of katafygio

katafygio
Ranked #49 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Preston
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best in Elounda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Ate here a few times during our recent stay in Elounda and was never disappointed. Lovely setting right by the sea. Friendly and helpful staff without being too obsequious. They pride themselves on their homemade bread which is delicious. We frequently opted for a variety of mezes which we thoroughly enjoyed particularly the prawn saganaki yum yum. A lovely ambience overall which always ended with complimentary dessert, cinnamon tea and brandy. Perfectly palatable house wine and all in all good value for money. Would certainly recommend a visit here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank House-ElfPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    45
    13
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We ate here for most of our fortnight holiday as the food was excellent with a very reasonable price. The staff were very friendly, especially Nicos. They have a great singer and musician on Thursday nights - makes an excellent night. I will be eating here again next time I visit Elounder.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazbo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious traditional Greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Loved the food. The staff were distressed as I could not finish my huge plate of food! 3 people came to check I was ok! Lovely spot by the sea and very reasonable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JudeGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Nikos, the owner runs a good team, they are friendly and hard-working. The local wine is very good, matched also by the food. We went for dinner and for lunch on several occasions, we also popped in for a relaxing evening drink too. Every time we were made welcome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank garyupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week in Elounda and ate most of our meals here the food was great and at a very reasonable price the staff, Nicos(owner),Tanya(waitress), Alex,Tony and Alex (waiters) were very attentive but did not hurry us we spent on average 2-3 hours over our meals, they all spoke English and answered any questions we had whether they were to do with the food/restaurant or the island. We will definitely be going again when we revisit Crete next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahJaneDrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed katafygio also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to katafygio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing