We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried anchovies”
Review of Melissos

Melissos
Ranked #31 of 117 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Keep the Sea to your left from Elounda main Square, we are about 500 meters down on left towards the causeway
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best fried anchovies”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very friendly initially and had a great first experience. Fantastic fried anchovies as a starter. Huge portion so we took some home and ate as a cold lunch the next day. We did have the odd meals that weren't great. We found that friendliness waned once they saw us as regulars

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Monique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    44
    18
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent food, visited twice in one week once for our annerversary and its bloody amazing! set on a section over the sea or in the sea

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely strat to our Greek holiday”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This restaurant was recommende by our apartment owners and when i mentioned this to the waiting staff they were delighted. We were not disappointed. Very welcoming, friendly service. Al the food was very frresh, really tasty and very well priced. Lovely, fresh Greek salad and fried courgette starters. big portions and great for sharing. Mousakka and mixed souvlaki both very tasty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anne081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional Greek food on the waterfront”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had lunch here and it was lovely - the food appeared to be home cooked and the owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was very reasonably priced and we were given free dessert which was some Cretan orange cake which was absolutely delicious - a really nice touch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy7707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“last but certainly not least!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We ate here on our last day in Elounda and wished we had visited previously. We were staying next door at the lovely Akti Oulous so we tended to walk our for our evening meal rather than visit a restaurant on the doorstep. However on our last day we wanted to eat in our hotel restaurant The BlueSea as we had previously eaten there and enjoyed the meal but they hadn't got what we wantedcon the menu so went next door to Melissos. The service was quick and the food delicious with huge portions. They were a family run restaurant and it was nice to see the owners and their family and friends enjoying lunch together.we were given a hugh complimentary plate of water melon. We noticed another couple dining had a hugh fish, when we enquired about it they took the trouble to tell us what it was and how much it cost and when the couple struggled to finish it the waitresses kindly brought a box in which to put it so they could take it home. Will definitely return when I visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissos also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Melissos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing