We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melissos

Melissos
Ranked #34 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Keep the Sea to your left from Elounda main Square, we are about 500 meters down on left towards the causeway
Durham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a week’s stay in Elounda (June) and we ate at the Melissos regularly, as we did last September when we stayed in Elounda for 2 weeks.
The food is wonderful, quality excellent, huge portions, comfortable seats, spotlessly clean and with wonderful views looking out over the sea. The family are very friendly and welcoming – specially Vangelis and his sister.What more could you want? We will be sure to head for the Melissos as soon as we visit Elounda again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lewisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    44
    18
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the best restaurant we tried at Elounda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything is so fresh and tasty, with the very reasonable pricing. We tried it once and we came there again and again. Caution: very big size of dishes :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NadjaYe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Elounda, which was a gamble as we didn't want our last meal to be a disappointment. Luckily we weren't disappointed. I had the lamb in oven, which was lamb and multiple cheeses wrapped in pastry and served with delicious chip shop style chips. My boyfriend had the stifado, which he said wasn't the best he had had but yummy all the same. We sat right by the sea, a luxury which we enjoyed all week. It was also good value for money, though we found the restaurants to be similarly priced. It was one of our favourite meals and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Greek Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went to Melissos a couple of times whilst on holiday in Crete it is a great location for an evening meal, friendly service, the traditional Greek food was lovely, really enjoyed the mousakka.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Cracking Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The last restaurant sited on the eastern end of town, which probably explains the low number of reviews as you have to pass many to reach this one. For us this was not a problem, as it was outside our front door.

Over a period of two weeks, we would use one of the other top reviewed restaurants on alternate days, but we kept returning to this one. It is used by both the local Greek and ex pat community, which given the service, price, range of menu and location came as no surprise.

It is not often that we are given to buying flowers for the kitchen staff, by way of a thank you..

Evangelis, a sincere thank you to you and your staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonLewis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissos also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Melissos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing