We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK meal but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Melissos

Melissos
Ranked #34 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Keep the Sea to your left from Elounda main Square, we are about 500 meters down on left towards the causeway
ventura67
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An OK meal but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had read great reviews of this restaurant. It was a pleasant waterside setting but the food with the exception of the Octopus (which was excellent) was nothing special. Staff were hospitable and pleasant but did not match up to the rave reviews featured.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ventura67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    44
    18
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“more care needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a nice location and The speed of service and cooking is good. However, both the dishes that arrived were not what I ordered and, although well cooked, were not to my taste. It is a shame the waiter, who was very pleasant, did not take more care with the orders. I write this review as advise rather than a complaint.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernieChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning location and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Spent a lovely lazy lunch at this taverna. Freshly made stone baked pizzas were huge - we could have easily shared one had we known how big they were. If you get a table on the outside edge, you can watch all the different fish swimming in the clear water, and feed them titbits of bread to see them really close.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastAngliaBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Being with friends, one of whom had to catch a flight, we found the service was fast and the food was excellent. As usual there was far too much food provided for us to clear the plates. The complimentary sweet of profiteroles was nearly too much, but we managed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beryl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying just down the road from the Melissos made it an easy choice for a meal early on in our holiday but repeated visits arose because of the quality food, reasonable prices and the lovely service. It is a charming place to sit on a balmy evening sipping the very reasonable house wine and listening to the lapping of the sea just a couple of feet from the table. We were made to feel very welcome, guests in the truest sense. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RT1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melissos also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Melissos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing