We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yamatie [ I am full]”
Review of Anemomylos

Anemomylos
Ranked #25 of 117 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Yamatie [ I am full]”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This lovely restauarant is on the Plaka road opposite the public beach and the Cretan windmill, hence it's name.

The restaurant is run by Spiros and Maria both excellent hosts. who will look after your needs.

The food is Greek or European, catering for a variety of tastes.

We visited many times, sampling the kleftico, meatballs,stifado, sole and Greek salads to name a few. All were excellent and wholesome. The restaurant gives you a free dessert and raki to round off your meal and the prices make for a good value night out.

The toilets are clean and the view is out over the sea.

We look forward to seeing this lovely couple later in the year.

Strongly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    50
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Have just returned from two glorious weeks in Elounda Crete in the sunshine. The restaurant Anemomylos was one of our favorite places to eat .The husband & wife team serving were very friendly and attentive . The food was excellent with good proportions. Could not fault the service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went to Elounda for the first time last year staying at Manos Apartments. On the first night we went to Anemomylos as it was close by. What a find! We went back every night during our holiday it was so good and we have just returned from another holiday there and once again we couldn't eat anywhere else. It was as good as ever and we didn't want to spoil a great holiday by trying a different taverna as I'm sure we would have been disappointed. A couple staying at the Manos Apartments asked for a recommendation on their first day and I'm very happy to say that they also ate there every night! There were also several other tables with regular diners each night. Maria and Spiros are a very warm, friendly and attentive couple who take real pride in their restaurant. The food is exceptional, with a couple of dips served with the bread and a dessert to share rounding off the meal superbly. We were always pleasantly surprised with the bill as all the food is very good value, main course, bottle of water and carafe of wine about 25 euros for two and we often had a starter as well bringing the total to around 31 euros for two. Lastly another thing you must try is the toilets, they also would take some beating for style and cleanliness. Thank you once again Maria and Spiros, we are looking forward to returning, perhaps next year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann58Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

During our 2 week holiday in Elounda, Crete, we ate at the Anemomylos Taverna several times. It did not disappoint in any way. Spiro and his wife Maria were very friendly and welcoming. Their table mats were fab reproductions of a drawing their six year old daughter had done and I wish I'd taken a photo to show you. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. I don't usually eat fish as a restaurant meal, but one of the friends we were with loves Sole, so I tried her recommendation. This was grilled without breadcrumbs or batter and was cooked to perfection. There was a choice of salad, chips or vegetables from the oven with most meals. The Kataifi was served warm with ice-cream and was 'poli nostimo' (delicious) and although I didn't have any on the apple pie myself, I was told by my friends that this was also delicious. The menu had plenty of choice so there was something there for everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eloundite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKFELL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and wonderful hosptiality.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a visit to beautiful Elounda while there we ate at Anemomylos regularly and as usual the experience was a pleasure! From Maria's gentle, attentive hospitality to Spiros' quick wit and iconic sense of humour, to the wonderful food and drink. Anemomylos should not be missed if you visit Elounda. From the 'big' beer and extra strong lunch time Frappe to the excellant house wines all your needs are met. The food is delicious, full of flavour and potions are generous. Try the 'Anemomylos' salad or traditioal Cretan meze for lunch they come highly recommended from me. Thanks to Maria and Spiros for helping to make our 'girly' holiday the usual success, we will be back to enjoy your company next year!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KENDREY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anemomylos also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Anemomylos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing