We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windmill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anemomylos

Anemomylos
Ranked #22 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
186 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“The Windmill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The windmill with Spiros and Marie is superb. Fantastic food with such a pleasant and charming couple who made us so welcome despite me falling apart from a heavy cold. Free Raki and honey helped even if only as a tempory cure.

Whilst the meals are gorgeous and non Greekfood is available why not build up a meze from the starters? Spiros and Marie are happy to help.

Thank you to both ofthem, and especially their help in avoiding the buskers!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    50
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Just back from our 5th, visit to Elounda, we just love the place one reason being the lovely Anemomylos. This is definately the best place to dine, the food is of good quality and beautiflly presented. Spiros and Maria the owners are lovely and always make everyone so welcome. So glad we found this little gem, each night when visiting we see the same faces obviously sharing our veiws.
We will be back ! ! !

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glorybe47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester - England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous food at very good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Anemomylos has now become a firm favourite of ours during our many return visits to Elounda. This family ran restaurant is opposite the beach which provides a lovely view of palm trees, beach and the sea. The food and service initially drew us back - there is always a vast menu selection and everything is always freshly prepared. Background music provides a relaxed atmosphere and Spiros often provides further fun by being very much like Basil Fawlty! Both Maria & Spiros give a warm welcome and a service that is not rushed but also not leaving you forgotten about. We have taken family and friends to this restaurant and they have enjoyed their meal & night out and have asked to go back for more. Go and see Maria & Spiros it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaffahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A culinary delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Excellent menu, excellent food served with a warm and friendly welcome from Maria and Spiros. The restuarant is positioned opposite the windmill on the beach. Fabulous!!
"The 4 english ladies from the Isle of Wight xx"

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsHumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband and go to Elounda each year and have done for the past 7 years. Maria and Spiros own the Anemomylos Restaurant which is situated right on the beach front. People have been going back to the restaurant for many years and if you ever go in you will see why. Incidentally they speak perfect English!

Maria and Spiros and their gorgeous young daughter Joanna are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. They remember everybody's face and greet you warmly on your return. The food is in my opinion the best in the resort simply because of the cost, presentation and variety. All dishes are fresh and the portion sizes large (which suits my husband, especially the Lamb Kleftiko!). The Greek salad is huge and simply the best and I love the chicken and pork slouvaki. We are going back June 2012 and hopefully September also and the first place we always call into is the Anemomylos.

In our opinion the Anemomylos is the crown of Elounda as far as restaurants are concerned.

Jean and Glenn Burns Manchester

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Burnsey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anemomylos also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Anemomylos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing