We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great bar, fantastic location, very welcoming”
Review of Cafe Del Mar

Cafe Del Mar
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 24, 2017

We visited this bar a few times, either for a mid-afternoon beach break, or an early evening pre-dinner drink.

It's location is superb, right at sea level on the "board-walk", with the very friendly, charming professional lady manager/owner and her staff always making you feel very welcome.

Most certainly the best Greek coffees in Elounda, served in large glass "jars", although there's much more to this bar, with a good menu, lovely staff, fantastic setting........plus a humorous parrot who regularly calls out to passers by, or anyone that wants to talk to him......!!

A place to return to another year for sure.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 94 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2017

On our second holiday in Elounda, we couldn't wait to return to Cafe del Mar. This exceptionally friendly waterside cafe is the perfect place to spend an hour or so just relaxing over a superb crepe, toastie or an ice cream with a delicious coffee or pot of tea, washed down with a cool beer or glass of chilled white wine if you like. You're spoilt for choice here as the menu is quite extensive for light snacks but I can personally recommend a banana and honey crepe with a good dollop of cream on the side.

Poppy, the owner, is a gem. She recognised us as we were approaching on our first morning and, typical of this hard working lovely lady, greeted us like friends she hadn't seen for a while. You will always be made welcome here by Poppy and her staff.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

This is our favourite meeting place , situated right on the sea , have a beer , wine and snack being served by the wonderful Poppy and Maria, always a smile makes it special. See you next year xx

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

Friendly staff and a wid echoic eof snacks and drinks. Seating righ ton the harbour front, wher eyou can watch the fish up close. Good value for money and very accomodating if you want to personalise your order.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

As others have said, you cannot get closer to the sea than at Cafe Del Mar, literally on the waters edge. We stopped for a long lunch a couple of times on our stay as well as a drink in the evening and the service was excellent on each visit. The menu is more snacks than a full meal, but the chicken sandwich and club sandwich, along with some chips to share (not on the menu but no trouble for the team to provide) are all that we needed at lunchtime and were really nice. Plenty of fish in the sea to share any leftovers and even a large turtle feeding just offshore on our second visit. Good value too, especially when you consider the location.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JasonandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Del Mar also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Cafe Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing