We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality restaurant in Elounda”
Review of Megaro Restaurant

Megaro Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 119 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good quality restaurant in Elounda”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ate here twice for lunch and was of a good quality. Family run and made to feel very welcome - fish dishes were very good + good Wifi .

Good views looking back towards Spinalonga.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    75
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chateaubriand and Sea Bream”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We believe this to be one of the best restaurants in Crete. At 39 Euros for 2 people for the large Chateaubriand cooked perfectly (medium rare) with a vast range of 'trimmings' it was magnificent. Likewise for the sea bream cooked bbq style and very juicy indeed. Highly recommended and needs booking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 328Brian328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

When my family and I ate here - four of us - all of us (save one) decided to have fish, which we already thought was quite pricey, compared to the other fish restaurants we had been to. When the fish came, we found it to be much smaller than we expected, although it tasted ok. However, the real issue occurred with the bill, when we discovered that we were being charged around 12-15 euros more than we expected. On the bill, the fish cost 70 euros, compared to the 55-58 euros said on the menu. When we tried to take it up with the management, they rejected this, and one even pretended to not speak English! So, even though I wouldn't recommend it, if you are going there, don't have the fish!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We visited Megaro on our first evening in Elounda and were delighted with everything about it. We'd gone there due to it being featured in our copy of Lonely Planet guide to Crete and it is well worth a visit. The owner was lovely and seemed interested in each of his customers and asked us questions about our stay and he also recommended dishes to try as we were having a selection of mezes. The food was very tasty and the retsina ice cold (the only way to drink it!!) the service was spot on and the price was very good....we would definitely recommend a visit to this lovely restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomgb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants in Elounda. Amazing and relaxing atmosphere. The highest quality food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_Mesyatseva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megaro Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Megaro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing