We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the live music”

Mam's House Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 123 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the live music”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on a very busy night due to the live music _ which was very enjoyable _ the service was a wee bit slow, but it was very busy. Prawn saganaki starter was excellent, for our main we had the special of the day _ peppercorn chicken _ not so excellent, chicken was very dry . However prices were lower than the seafront restaurants, so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zanesgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    83
    17
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Greek Night”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were recommended the Greek Night at Mam's, located on the main road by the Olous causeway junction by other holiday makers as a treat night out.

The establishment is typically Greek with a very old interior that, however, adds to it's charm. Nevertheless it is on a main road and the traffic turning on the junction makes for entertaining, if not at times somewhat alarming viewing!

The taverna is run by Nicos, who is a most convivial host, highly animated, and works very hard in running the place. The Wednesday evening is the Greek night [ best book] and he comes into his own, singing with the very good musicians, adding to the ambiance.

We had the 'specials' Mousaka and stifado both of which were very good and wholesome. The fava was the best we have had for a long time and a good night was had.

The toilets are clean and the prices are reasonable.

We always if possible like to visit twice before giving an opinion and unfortunately on our second Greek night visit we experienced a few problems.To be fair to Nicos I wondered if he was short staffed, as the main meal, a special of peppered chicken and a kleftico took one and a half hours to be delivered from ordering. Unfortunately they were not to the previous visit's standard.Our experience seemed to be not unique, hence me wondering about staffing problems. We were really hungry,but did not have the bread as we go to resturants to enjoy the food, so this was a real problem. We were going to leave but the dishes arrived in the nick of time.

Nevertheless, we were charged for bread that we did not have, having twice stated, in Greek, that we did not want it.

Nicos did refund the difference and offered Raki, but my wife has already left by this time!

We will probably visit again, but not on the Wednesday.

Overall, good value for money, animated host, lots of food but a disappointing second night and hence the score.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant in Elounda”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came upon this place by accident. It is on the Main Street in Elounda and does not have much of a view. That is the only drawback to this vibrant family run restaurant. We found it on a Wednesday (live music night), We arrived early, which was lucky, as it got very full very quickly. The food was great, everything was reasonably priced and the entertainment was excellent. This entertainment was supplemented by singing and dancing , Greek style, by Nikos who runs the restaurant with his other half Mareijke. We returned a number of times and the quality did not diminish. Get there early to be sure of a table and on a Wednesday you will need to book. You will not be sorry that you tried it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Entertaining evening !”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My Daughter and I went to Mam's Wednesday just gone and had a very good night. Our welcome was fabulous. The food was all lovely, we had Tzatziki to start which we shared and was plenty big enough for two of us. I had the fillet steak special which was a huge portion and very lean and so tender - it was delicious. My daughter had a Spaghetti dish - it was big for her to finish but she thoroughly enjoyed it. Nikko's entertainment is so funny and very natural, he just seems high on life and passes his happiness around throughout the night!! Singing and dancing and fire tricks with lots of shouting "hoopla" !! When the bill arrived I was very surprised how reasonable it was. My most memorable evening in Elounda - thank you x

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DD17DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BACK AGAIN”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been visiting crete for twelve years each time we visit mams, great value, fantastic food,
and I would recommend the music nights on Wednesday's, but I recommend that you book.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mam's House Restaurant also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Mam's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing