We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything Wonderful”
Review of Poulis

Poulis
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything Wonderful”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Poulis continues to provide first class food, service and hospitality every year and we have been dining here every year since 2000, thank you Harris, Andreas and Kostas, see you next year all being well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank roymollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    102
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best crepes ever”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This place has fantastic views, although it is never overly full and there is no need to reserve. The food is reasonably priced and of good quality. The waiters are friendly and spoke every time we passed. On ordering dessert I had to disagree with the waiter when he said they do the best crepes in Elounda, I totally beg to differ that the choc-banana crepe is one of the best in the world. That's a bold statement but its true.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Good food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had lunch here, and chose this restaurant because of the wonderful view. It is at the end of a row of many restaurants, and has the best location by far. The owner was very helpful with our ordering, and we enjoyed all of his suggestions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DLG12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly service, food good (not great), excellent value”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We started our week long stay in Elounda with Poulis on our first night. We went there during the day and menu looked good. The host wasn't pushy at all, and he said we could sit at the water's edge if we booked. After looking at some of the others, we decided to wing it without TripAdvisor and try it.

We returned later in the evening, and indeed we were seated at the end on the edge of the water. Lovely seats, with the local duck pair meandering about (in the water - not the restaurant!). Bread and olive tapenade & herb butter were soon out, very nice. Drinks shortly after. Service was excellent. On the night we thought the bill came very slowly, but after a few nights it seems this is the norm in Crete.

For starters we had dakos (crusty toasted 'bread' with tomatoes & cheese: kinda like a bruschetta), and hummus. The dakos was interesting: if the tomato juices hadn't made it soggy, it might have been too hard, although I think that's how it's supposed to be. The hummus was OK, although we didn't get any pita bread (we had plenty of bread though).

Main courses were a mixed souvlaki (pieces of meat grilled on a skewer) and the swordfish. The swordfish was on the small side, and middle of the road. The kebab was good, with the usual chips and rice.

We decided to share a baklavas for dessert, which was hot. I wasn't expecting that (previous baklavas (Moroccan) I've had were smaller and not been heated). It was not bad. We got complimentary raki in the end, which (again) we now understand is the norm! I've grown to 'like' it; although my wife still is yet to be convinced.

All in all, it was a lovely night, food was nice, but we both came away thinking the same: it was 'standard procedure' for tourists. You could do much worse though, I'm sure. Very good value at €50 (without tip) for everything.

There are better restaurants in Elounda, but Poulis isn't a bad one at all. That said, we probably wouldn't go back, as others do have the edge on food quality (Ferryman, Lotus Eater, etc.).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeveloperDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best in Elounda”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you are in Elounda - go to Poulis! Harrie will make you very welcome and the food is wonderful. We've been going at least twice every year for about 8 years and we are now recognised as old friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poulis also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Poulis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing